We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay in Udaipur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Ranked #59 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely stay in Udaipur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

Krishna Niwas is a delightful place to stay - the owners are really lovely and talented people - artists, chefs and musicians. The rooms are beautifully painted with love and the service was excellent. We felt at home here and even did a cooking class which was brilliant! I have no hesitation recommending this hotel - it's right beside the palace too!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nedraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    110
    29
    14
    9
See reviews for
45
105
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Mu husband and I stayed at the Hotel Krishna Niwas for two nights.

After a misunderstanding with another hotel, we arrived in Udaipur without having any room booked. We called Hotel Krishna Niwas, and fortunately there were able to help us.

The hotel is located very close to Pichola lake, so you can walk to pretty much everything you want to see in Udaipur.

The rooms very quite big, clean, nicely decorated and our had a nice view over the lake.

On the rooftop of the hotel is a small restaurant (few tables but no-one to take your order) with the most beautiful wiew!! Unfortunately only breakfast is served, and the menu is very small. I would reccomend people to eat breakfast somewhere else, but do use the rooftop because of the view.

Having said all this, the best thing about the hotel is the staff and its owners. They are so accomodating, friendly, varm and helpfull. You feel so welcome at this place!

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone: great value for money!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balletski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

While in Udaipur recently, my husband and I wanted to take a cooking class. We came to Sushma's at Hotel Krishna Niwas, thinking we could just drop in...although not the norm (book ahead), Sushma saw how disappointed we were that we couldn't do it as we were leaving the next morning that she took pity and held a last-minute private class for us. In a word, amazing! The food was fantastic (it set the bar really high for the rest of our trip), and Sushma showed us how easy it is if you have all the right tools and ingredients. We can' wait to try the recipes at home. It costs more than some other classes, but it's worth paying for quality and expertise for sure. We didn't stay at the hotel, but Sushma and her husband were both really friendly and I can only assume it would have been a great place to stay.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skeezers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

The staff at Krishna niwas were lovely and very accommodating, even after we'd messed up our booking. The room we had was ok, with a small view of the lake from the window, but the sheets were dirty. It was quite noisy at night too. The restaurant only served breakfast and bottle water was room temperature. There was a nicer view from the roof top but as they didn't serve dinner it was fairly dark and deserted unfortunately. The building itself though was beautiful, the owners are artists and there are lovely paintings everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flower8347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Krishna Niwas for five days after doing some work in New Delhi. I found the staff incredibly helpful and friendly. The highlight was definitely taking a cooking lesson from Sushma. I have cooked Indian for family and friends since returning to Canada and it's made a big hit. I even have my daughter regularly eating whole wheat -- the easy to make chapatis were a real revelation. I really wish I could have taken more lessons. I also really enjoyed the art lesson we took with Nairaj's brother. My wife didn't believe I did the elephant painting myself. The hotel was very clean and I had a nice quiet room. The value was really quite incredible. I highly recommend it. Digvijay is a huge help and quite a delightful guy. It's an incredibly interesting place, very beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarkSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

This is a good hotel - nothing great but a good standard three star. The staff were very nice and caring. The room (and the hotel generally) were reasonably clean and had great views across the lake, which I really liked. The rooftop had great views too.

The breakfast they served was nice, nothing outstanding but quite good. They threw in a free pick up from the airport which was great.

They offer cooking classes which I didn't get the chance to try but the lady running them was very nice and friendly and the kitchen looked very clean.

The only negative thing was that I had two A/C units right outside my window which were very noisy at times when you are trying to sleep, but they didn't go all night, fortunately.

I thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

very nice people who are friendly, helpful and to be trusted. We had a wonderful stay where we had the opportunity to rest, refresh and relax. It's a bit more expensive for a budget traveler but definitely good value!
We took the cooking class and we saw with our own eyes that Indian food can be good and tastefully without getting sick! The hotel had also suggestions where to eat healthy in town.
Clean and good!
We had a great time. Udaipur is a great lovely place, and this hotel helps you to enjoy it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peetersfrancois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#63 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#42 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#95 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#60 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krishna Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krishna Niwas

Property: Hotel Krishna Niwas
Address: 34 and35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Krishna Niwas 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Krishna Niwas Udaipur welcomes you to City of Lakes. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Krishna Niwas is a 11 Room family-run small hotel which is beautifully decorated & hand painted by international artist Jairaj Soni.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible only by stairs.We have 6 lake view a/c rooms & 5 superior non lake view a/c room with basic amenities .Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, Televisions, free wi-fi and attached bathrooms with 24 hours running hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,Bagore ki haveli ( rajasthani folk dance centre ),City palace ,Jagdish temple,many ghats ,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake. The Hotel Krishna Niwas is owned and run by a family of artists: Jairaj Soni, his wife Sushma Soni & brothers Nirbhayraj, Giriraj & Rakesh Soni, and is situated in the Old City, close to the famous Pichola Lake and is within convenient walking distance of shops, restaurants and many of the top tourist attractions. The Krishna Niwas is tastefully decorated in the traditional haveli style of Rajasthan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Krishna Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krishna Niwas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing