We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, feels like home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Ranked #62 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, feels like home.”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

This hotel is a great midrange hotel stay.
Its only 11 rooms and its Family run. The location in Udaipur is perfect and you are close to everything.
All the rooms are hand painted by the owner and his pupils and some have a nice view over the lake. We took the cookingclas and it was great. They had even made a cake for my dad who was turning 60. That made us very happy.
Sorry about the English, I’m from Sweden

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kajsa_hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    111
    30
    14
    9
See reviews for
47
105
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Sushma's classes are fantastic, besides being a great cook she knows how to teach anyone. She can entertain everyone from people who never had contact with Indian cuisine to professional chefs in search of news. Always with good humor and with a smile she surprises us with her tips, knowledge and kindness.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelioribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We have stayed for one night at Krishna Niwas. It is central and the price is reasonable. It is a beautiful house and you have a side view to the lake. The staff at the reception is helpful but the rooms are not really clean. There is an acceptable breakfast on the rooftop but starts only at 8am.

They have organised a car to Jodhpur and it was really good price and our driver was excellent. So don't go to the travel agencies in Udaipur, they are asking twice as much for the same category.

If you like mid-range, nice hotels, I cannot recommend this one but it was ok for one night. While you are there, try the restaurant at Jagat Niwas nearby, it is fabulous.

Krishna Niwas needs certainly to improve their service as well as the cleanless of the rooms. They have really potential with their lovely house.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dralyv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Krishna Niwas is a delightful place to stay - the owners are really lovely and talented people - artists, chefs and musicians. The rooms are beautifully painted with love and the service was excellent. We felt at home here and even did a cooking class which was brilliant! I have no hesitation recommending this hotel - it's right beside the palace too!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nedraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Mu husband and I stayed at the Hotel Krishna Niwas for two nights.

After a misunderstanding with another hotel, we arrived in Udaipur without having any room booked. We called Hotel Krishna Niwas, and fortunately there were able to help us.

The hotel is located very close to Pichola lake, so you can walk to pretty much everything you want to see in Udaipur.

The rooms very quite big, clean, nicely decorated and our had a nice view over the lake.

On the rooftop of the hotel is a small restaurant (few tables but no-one to take your order) with the most beautiful wiew!! Unfortunately only breakfast is served, and the menu is very small. I would reccomend people to eat breakfast somewhere else, but do use the rooftop because of the view.

Having said all this, the best thing about the hotel is the staff and its owners. They are so accomodating, friendly, varm and helpfull. You feel so welcome at this place!

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone: great value for money!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balletski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2010

While in Udaipur recently, my husband and I wanted to take a cooking class. We came to Sushma's at Hotel Krishna Niwas, thinking we could just drop in...although not the norm (book ahead), Sushma saw how disappointed we were that we couldn't do it as we were leaving the next morning that she took pity and held a last-minute private class for us. In a word, amazing! The food was fantastic (it set the bar really high for the rest of our trip), and Sushma showed us how easy it is if you have all the right tools and ingredients. We can' wait to try the recipes at home. It costs more than some other classes, but it's worth paying for quality and expertise for sure. We didn't stay at the hotel, but Sushma and her husband were both really friendly and I can only assume it would have been a great place to stay.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skeezers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

The staff at Krishna niwas were lovely and very accommodating, even after we'd messed up our booking. The room we had was ok, with a small view of the lake from the window, but the sheets were dirty. It was quite noisy at night too. The restaurant only served breakfast and bottle water was room temperature. There was a nicer view from the roof top but as they didn't serve dinner it was fairly dark and deserted unfortunately. The building itself though was beautiful, the owners are artists and there are lovely paintings everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flower8347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.5 mi away
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
#46 of 157 in Udaipur
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 157 in Udaipur
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#66 of 157 in Udaipur
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#69 of 157 in Udaipur
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krishna Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krishna Niwas

Property: Hotel Krishna Niwas
Address: 34 and35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Krishna Niwas 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Krishna Niwas Udaipur welcomes you to City of Lakes. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Krishna Niwas is a 11 Room family-run small hotel which is beautifully decorated & hand painted by international artist Jairaj Soni.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible only by stairs.We have 6 lake view a/c rooms & 5 superior non lake view a/c room with basic amenities .Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, Televisions, free wi-fi and attached bathrooms with 24 hours running hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,Bagore ki haveli ( rajasthani folk dance centre ),City palace ,Jagdish temple,many ghats ,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake. The Hotel Krishna Niwas is owned and run by a family of artists: Jairaj Soni, his wife Sushma Soni & brothers Nirbhayraj, Giriraj & Rakesh Soni, and is situated in the Old City, close to the famous Pichola Lake and is within convenient walking distance of shops, restaurants and many of the top tourist attractions. The Krishna Niwas is tastefully decorated in the traditional haveli style of Rajasthan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Krishna Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krishna Niwas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing