We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strictly Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Ranked #38 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Delhi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Strictly Stay Away”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We unfortunately stayed there for 3 nights and it was a disaster!! It was an end of our wonderful trip (jaisalmer, jodhpur, udaipur) and Swaroop Vilas totally destroyed it

Worst hotel in my entire trip. We booked a suite and it was so outdated and located in old wing. Then we made a humble request for a change of room and after repeated requested they shifted to new room in new wing, but refuse to refund us back the differential amount (as we were shifted froma suite to room). Though the room was fine, service was pathetic. Believe me, its just PATHETIC. Hot water is a big issue and one needs to wait atleast 45 minutes, as they have some useless Solar system installed which takes a lot of time to heat up the water.

Worst part - Tea cups/mugs in the room are never cleaned in kitchen with soap. Everytime you call up room service to change the used cups, they would send a person who washes the cups in your bathroom with plain water and keeps in the room. We asked and confirmed everytime and the answer we got is that they have never cleaned the cup with soap, they always clean with water in bathroom!!!!!

So please DO NOT STAY in this pathetic hotel in the beautiful city. Lot many better choices in Udaipur

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankurcfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    187
    91
    38
    20
See reviews for
149
144
41
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This is a good place to stay if you are ready to compromise with the services. The room we got was nice clean with private bath and fresh towels. but, it takes ages for the staff to bring in what you order and sometimes they bring what you have not even ordered, This could be because of the very limited knowledge of English language which is quite common in most of the Hotels.
The staff is good and dedicated and tries to make you happy in every possible way , the only barrier is the language.
They gave us late check-out without any extra charges , which was very nice of them.
We also hired a private car from the hotel to take for the city sight seeing . It was a good city tour specially because of the driver who was highly knowledgeable and knew the city very well and also went out of the way to show us some sights which actually does not come in their normal routine.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crackingthenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajmer
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

we stayed in hotel swaroop vilas from 9apr to 11apr we were two couples , the hotel is very good rooms are nice especially super delux one the swimming pool was good . we enjoyed the breakfast very much especially our children liked it very much a great holiday and a great stay i had selected for this hotel after a long long search over net for every hotel in udaipur and my last decision was for swaroop vilas a great stay with excelent comfort its worth staying here go for it dont think twice

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vineetajmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights during our 2 week holiday in Rajasthan - by this time, we know that the hotels in India are never going to be 100% spotless with snow white linens. Swaroop Vilas is no exception, though this is going to be a positive review.

The room we had was spacious, nicely decorated, modern looking and clean. It had a nice window cushioned enclave overlooking the pool. The bed linen was fine and clean, I'm sure if I inspected it closely I will find traces of the last occupant, but hey if I insisted on 100% pristine, unstained snow white linens, India would have been a wrong choice for me.

Toilet didn't have the nicest finishing, but was alright. It didn't look dirty. Certainly can be improved.

Hot water was fine for us, shower jet wasn't so strong, girls with long hair might find it a bit tiresome to wash their hair. No wifi.

The hotel is a 20 min brisk walk from the bazaar, it's not exactly at your doorstep, but it's not horribly far either.

Downside - we could hear a loud disco going on, though at some time we either stopped paying attention to it or it ended.

All in all, we felt this was one of our favourite hotels during our two weeks.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuttyCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Udaipur was one of the 3 cities we were visiting on our holiday. The staff at Swaroop were incredibly helpful, friendly and attentive which made it the best part of our trip. The made great suggestions and really helped my friend and I optimize our short trip within the city. They offered great advice on resturants, what part of the city to be at certain times and recommended a fantastic driver (Manpuri Goswami) who couldn't be more helpful!

The room we stayed in was clean and traditionally decortated but still had all the modern facilities you would want. The staff at the resturant were very friendly as well! The location in my opinion was great because you were right inbetween two sides of the city, therefore not being far from any location of interest.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KavitaDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2011

The staff were friendly and helpful, and they organised all our travelling requirements while we were in Jodphur. The hotel is beautiful, clean and the food is great. Our driver at the hotel was funny, informative and very happy to assist us where he could. His name was Shamsu.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afzalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Very nice rooms bathroom was a little bit primitive...
Night service was bad - staff didnt speak English

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamiNeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#9 of 156 in Udaipur
760 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 156 in Udaipur
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#35 of 156 in Udaipur
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#46 of 156 in Udaipur
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 156 in Udaipur
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Swaroop Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swaroop Vilas

Property: Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Address: 6, Ambavgarh, Opp. Lake Swaroop Sagar, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#17 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swaroop Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Swaroop Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swaroop Vilas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing