We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of better options in Udaipur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Ranked #38 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
139 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Plenty of better options in Udaipur”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I should have read the Trip reviews before booking here but got seduced by the nice photos on their website.
The reception staff didn't seem to speak much English so communication was limited and our welcome not very warm. Throughout the stay no one seemed interested in providing decent service nor did they care about our comfort. We had only really stayed in small family-run hotels up til then, where they realise how important customer service is, as their livelihood depends upon it.
The room we stayed in was lovely, though almost more International than Indian in style. It had a big, comfy bed. Be warned that 'Lake Facing' may not have a view of the Lake and even if it does there is a road in front of the hotel so no rooms directly overlook the Lake. The design and interior of the hotel is very nice with lots of white marble.

The dining room is really depressing and in need of modernizing especially the ancient tablecloths.
Breakfast was a rather desultory affair with limited choice. That said we had a very tasty lunch on arrival. They are missing a trick and should set up tables outside by the pool - it would make eating there a far more pleasant experience.

There are only 4 sun loungers by the pool which seems a bit mean but as the pool was rather murky, we didn't bother with it anyway.

It costs 50 - 100 Rs to get a rickshaw into town. The rickshaw drivers parked outside the hotel may try to overcharge. The hotel seems to cater for coach parties so perhaps the distance from town is less of a problem for them.

We left one night early and went to stay at Jagat Niwas Palace.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLondonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    187
    91
    38
    20
See reviews for
149
144
41
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The first room that we were given at this hotel didn't have any water when we turned on the taps in the bathroom. The second room didn't have any hot water. Eventually we were given the best room in the hotel because there were no other rooms available that met our booking requirement. The room that we were eventually given was very nice. However the standard rooms were just that - very ordinary. Breakfast was average. There are better hotels than this one in Udaipur.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fun2travelCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I travelled with my family in October. Trust me it was an amazing experience. Udaipur is a beautiful place to relax and the experience in this hotel was a cherry on the cake. Good food, good service and great people. Very well appointed rooms, maybe bathroom linen can be taken care off. Rest everything was awesome. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayer at the Swaroop Villas for 2 nights during a tour of India. The hotel was beautifully set by the lakes, and our room was gorgeous with big wooden framed beds with beautiful covers, a large cushioned seating area and clean bathroom. There is a lovely courtyard outside with beautiful Indian paintings leading to the rooms.
We stayed during Diwali and we met the hotel owner, his wife and children who treated us to a wonderful fireworks display. They shared their rituals with us and handed around traditional sweets. It was a really special event to be part of!
Make sure you go and visit Lucky in the internet shop who has many interesting stories to tell and is very friendly.. Lucky if you read this thank you for being such a special friend on the trip! Namaste x
I would highly recommend this beautiful hotel, yes I see below some people have said it took a while to get things but this is the same all over India, it is very relaxed and its not the end of the world if you have to ask twice!
Perfect!

Room Tip: They are all good, but if you can get a room overlooking the lake even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Me and my wife stayed at the Hotel Swaroop Vilas for 2 days. It is located in front of the lake and from outside it looks beautiful. The reception area was good and was given Rajasthani look. There was no lift but it did not mattered as our room was in 2nd floor only. The room was not modern but was given a old Rajasthani look. Our room was lake facing and view was wonderful. The room service was slow. The menu at buffet breakfast was limited but food was good. Overall the ambiance of the hotel seems pleasant. The location of the hotel was good as it was close to nearby market and Jagdish Temple.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agarwalprashant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianmemoirz, Manager at Hotel Swaroop Vilas, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thanks a lot looking forward to serve you again and again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I stayed with a big group at the Swaroop Vilas Hotel in Udaipur. Its a nice place relatively inexpensive with a lovely view of the Swaroop Sagar Lake. The terrace bar is a lovely place to be at in the evening. Has a nice pool. The rooms in the new wing are a world of a difference than the old wing. Food is good and its in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing on the 4th or 5th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantoMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

this is very good 3 star hotel, next to swaroop lake. actually it is walking distance from fateh sagar lake as well where you can visit nehru garden and boating. so it has got good location.
hotel is like small palace with good interiors and heritage look.
it has good swimming pool and restaurant next to pool. rooms are spacious but furniture is very basic. TV is very old and should be replaced with LCD TVs.
less variety for breakfast and quality is average.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukundvarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#48 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ram Pratap Palace
Ram Pratap Palace
#32 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#37 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#9 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hilltop Palace
Hotel Hilltop Palace
#65 of 153 in Udaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Swaroop Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swaroop Vilas

Property: Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Address: 6, Ambavgarh, Opp. Lake Swaroop Sagar, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#17 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swaroop Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Swaroop Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swaroop Vilas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing