We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice heritage hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Ranked #38 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Nacka, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice heritage hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Swaroop Vilas to, during our trip to Udaipur. The ambiance and the décor of the hotel were lovely. It is a beautiful heritage hotel and is well managed. The room we stayed in was very spacious and the décor was amazing. The hotel staff was cordial and always enthusiastic to help. The services were perfect and prompt. Overall it was an amazing experience and we would love to stay here again the next time we are here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    188
    92
    39
    20
See reviews for
154
147
41
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed in this property for two days 12-14 Oct 2013. The location of the property is good in front of Swaroop Sagar Lake with quite surroundings all around . It is away from the crowd and small lanes of udaipur but close enough to visit important places of Udaipur.
The property is a good blend of Traditional stayle of Rajasthan and good modern facilities with adequate room sizes. A good central court yard welcomes you on arrival.
Toilets are good sized and neatly maintained. Staff of hotel is decent and well mannered.Pool is reasonably sized with spa facility as an option.
Only improvement needed is during buffet Breakfast, Very little option to eat and very slow service during breakfast makes it little irritating.
Otherwise Restaurant serves fresh and good food on order.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Pool from 401-406 are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here two nights at this lakeside hotel. We had a large room with a balcony facing the lake. The pool was fantastic and it was relaxing to have a drink out there later in the day. It was easy to get a tuk tuk into the city centre and not expensive. We pre-ordered dinner and it was very good. There were adverse reports of the front desk staff, but I didn't have any problems myself. There was free wifi with limitations on it, but it was adequate. The room was beautifully decorated and floors were marble. A very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneJanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I visited udaipur in Sep-13 as well as Oct -13.
Sep-13 i stayed at Raas Leela which was right on the bank of Lake Pichola and in Oct -13 i stayed for a night in Swaroop Villas which is just oppossite the Swaroop Sagar Lake which is infact very small and not the kind of lake you would wish to see when you are in udaipur. Fateh Sagar and Pichola are the treat to visit.

Swaroop Sagar is reasonably size hotel with small swimming pool and all the modern amenities. It was a decent experiance. Rooms are specious and gives a good view of small swaroop sagar lake and also the view of Udaipur City. Fateh Sagar lake is just a 10-15 mins walk from the hotel and i am sure it's worth going for a walk in the morning.

Food was excellent, i couldn't try LAL MAAS in my sep-13 visit . At Swaroop Villas we ordered Lal Maas and it was really good. It was one of the best Mutton dish i ever had at any hotel. As per the feedback of my friends which accompnied me and who had Lal Maas previously, it wasn't the LAAL Maas exactly but it was very close to it. It was delicious and a must try if you are found of a mutton dish.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becks_amit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Situated opposite Lake Swaroop Sagar this lovely hotel is in a prime position next to the Old Town. Marble floors and decorated walls abound with rooms large enough to swing an Indian tiger. A very comfortable four poster king size bed with a ceiling fan above each side of the bed and a quiet air conditioner situated on the opposite wall. A flat screen TV, two comfortable sitting chairs and a writing desk and chair, a safe and plenty of storage space were also provided. The ensuite was a good size and the lovely shower over a bath had good pressure. Very good cheap same day laundry is available at the front desk. We had dinner on the rooftop and the food we selected was excellent. We ate our breakfasts in the restaurant and discovered that their omelettes (on request) were one of the best I've tasted.
The WIFI reception was poor but it is free and is only for an hour at a time. The hotel also has a wonderful swimming pool.
The in house massage parlour provided a good variety of massages but gents be warned you have to bare all for the full body massage - this could be a bit confronting to some!!!
A clothing/ napery shop is also in the hotel and they sell excellent quality clothing at very reasonable prices - not as cheap as in the Old Town but far better quality.
The Old Town is a 100 Rupee ride away and is an exciting experience but be alert when walking to the traffic that whizzes by. We went to the one hour Indian Bhagore Ki Havelli dance show at night and thoroughly enjoyed it. On our second night we had dinner at the Ambrai Restaurant that is situated on the edge of one of the seven man made lakes in Udaipur. The food was excellent but the view was sensational overlooking the royal palace and the hotels built in the middle of the lake. It is worth going to this restaurant just for the view but be sure to book first AND don't forget your camera like I did!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed for only few nights in this hotel and I don't regret it. The location, the facilities make it a good place to stay. The room was spacious! A special mention to Lokesh at the internet facility and the shop who is a very welcome, nice person and very useful when you need informations about the country, the places to go...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 681gui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I visited the hotel in March and absolutely loved it. Nice and spacious rooms, with a beautiful garden and pool. The souvenir shop and money exchange run by Lokesh Sanadhya is run very professionally. You can check your mails there and get interesting information about music and Indian cinema.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muirean2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#11 of 161 in Udaipur
774 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
702 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#7 of 161 in Udaipur
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#14 of 161 in Udaipur
1,359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,056 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 161 in Udaipur
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Swaroop Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swaroop Vilas

Property: Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Address: 6, Ambavgarh, Opp. Lake Swaroop Sagar, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#17 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swaroop Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Swaroop Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swaroop Vilas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing