We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good, experience can delivered better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Ranked #43 of 166 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed in Swaroop Vilas at Udaipur for 2 nights after being recommended as a good place by some one known at Jaipur.The location is awesome (over looking the swarop lake). The property is good heritage like in look and feel but contemporary by convenience and does give a great feeling on the value you derive.The Room (lake facing, Superior deluxe) was spacious. Bed linen was good, King size bed, study table, two seats and a coffee table make the room comfortable however for the attention of the discerning traveller please note, the bathroom doesn't have a health faucet ( I don't know why the hotel management has not thought of a Rs 700 convenience !) The hot water system is a tragedy. That was my experience. It does seem that the hotel depends on Solar heater and selectively turns on the electric heating system. I was disappointed and had to place my complaint multiple times and the best I could experience was a shade warmer than luke warm and in Jan that is unacceptable! The hotel has a nice pool (4 feet deep ). The restaurant overlooks the pool. There is terrace bar beside the pool over looking the lake. Overall looks are pretty! The food is decent for breakfast as well as for dinner. Please ask for tariff that includes Breakfast. For the wowing their visiting guests the hotel can consider offering cappuccino or atleast a filter coffee to enjoy in the cold Rajasthan winter!!!

Room Tip: Insist on the Hotel Promising "hot water" else you will end up spoiling your winter holida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

The place is unbeatable. It has amazing views of the lake. The hotel is beautiful and has authentic architecture. The rooms are huge and comfortable. The pool is also great. We had a great time swimming and playing in the pool. The hotel staff was very helpful and allowed us a late check out.

Room Tip: Lake Facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devdarshini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

hotel near lake fatehsagar ,good look, very beautifully maintain, large swimming pool, resturant taste delicious, terrece bar give u a good view of lake at evening,beautifull small garden with fountain n very near to lake pichola n city palace.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkresham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Actually this has been an overriding case with other hotels in Rajasthan too - the tendency for management to title themselves as Heritage or Heritage style, when they really mean budget.

There is a difference : genuine heritage hotels have so much to offer, history, tradition, and quaint, quirky rooms and style. The problem comes when savvy businessmen try to cash in on this and pass off any place as heritage when it is not. Heritage is heritage and budget is budget.

Swaroop falls into the category of hotels that is far more to the budget and of the scale. Don't get me wrong, the exterior is nice as are the courtyards and the facade. But the rooms are basic, most of the time there is no hot water, the wifi mostly does not work, there is no heating (problem in winter) and the reception manager is just plain rude. I am not alone in rating this guy as curt and off hand. Look at previous posts and many people comment on this. How many poor reviews does the guy have to get before management does something?

The breakfast buffet is terrible. 4 or 5 selections which look like they were cooked many days previous . We arrived in the breakfast room to find the waiters asleep under the tables. This was 30 minutes after the published opening time.

In summary : avoid.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Luxe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel has a great view of the lake in Udaipur and is has a very calm and peaceful atmosphere. The Hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. The architecture of the Hotel captures the appearance of historical Udaipur. The hotel has a good restaurant on the terrace overlooking the lake. Stayed here during Christmas and enjoy a little firework show.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuestGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Must be the coldest place in India, at least 10 degrees colder than the surrounding area without any air con on.
The pigeons enjoyed the pool but I didn't try.
Internet not functioning on arrival, but always promised in 5 minutes. It never appeared and the staff plus manager were ambivalent at best, detailed probing revealed that this had been unavailable for someone and would not reappear, however internet remained available to the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidP6207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed at Swaroop Vilas while attending a friend's wedding in Udaipur. The hotel is very well located, overlooking a small lake-Swaroop Sagar and is within 2-3 kms of most of the main attractions of the city like the City Palace and Pichola lake. The hotel interiors are well done in a style similar to a heritage hotel. The hotel even has a nice rooftop bar with a view of the lake which is quite romantic in the evenings. The hotel however does not live up to the potential offered by the location and the ambience, with the staff being inefficient and the receptionist being curt in responding to most queries. Overall, the hotel seemed overpriced for the value offered in terms of room, service and food. There are mutiple hotels in Udaipur which can provide a better staying experience (minus the lake side location) for a lesser price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akhil_puri2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
Rampratap Palace
Rampratap Palace
#37 of 166 in Udaipur
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#34 of 166 in Udaipur
227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 166 in Udaipur
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 166 in Udaipur
2,343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#63 of 166 in Udaipur
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 166 in Udaipur
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Swaroop Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swaroop Vilas

Address: 6, Ambavgarh, Opp. Lake Swaroop Sagar, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#17 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £48 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swaroop Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Swaroop Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swaroop Vilas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing