We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rare Combination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Udai Bagh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Udai Bagh
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rare Combination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

Scorching heat and humidity of March in Mumbai working day and night without any break and just before “Holi” festival I landed in Udai bagh Palace and felt if there is heaven it is here…here…here.

Well Mumbai to Ahmedabad by Jet Airways and from Ahmedabad by Road in cars with the entire family and kids a palatial structure standing strong with amazing landscape gardens and a fantastic ritualistic welcome by local Rajasthani women putting “tikka” on our forehead with a traditional Indian Thali…. Wow……

You can visit 5stars or 7star hotels but a rare combination of western and Indian cultures was a pleasant surprise. So…we relaxed in the noon after lunch.

By evening when opened my eyes outside the rooms in the garden facing all the rooms, now this is a master piece of architecture….a folk music, folk dancers in typical Rajasthani attire freaking to entertain us. With in fraction of seconds I noticed all the guests left their balconies and varanda and were on the floor dancing…what a spectacular experience and what a memorable evening……

I was so ….so much relaxed that didn’t feel like drinking. Back in Mumbai you need to drink to unwind but this was unique and divine…so dinner and sound sleep.

Next day morning breakfast made to order and lovely lunch. Bit of shopping in the city.
Staff so innovative and friendly…

Height was the way hotel celebrated and lit Holi…the fire…

Just beautiful stress free memories. Longing to go back ASAP…

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    47
    21
    1
    12
See reviews for
93
40
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We went to Udaipur over the weekend for celebrating our first anniversary of marriage. We had seen the Hotel's advertisement in the local paper and approached their local office in Ahmedabad. We were impressed by their idea and their presentation and we made the booking for the Hotel for a 2N 3D package. We also got a good package and it turned out to be great value for money.

The Hotel is a little bit far from the Udaipur city, as it is located on the outskirts of the town. But that makes is super peaceful and serene. It is located amongst the Aravalli ranges and it gives such a nice and earthy feeling. There is also a railway line passing nearby, which looks nice. It is good that the railway is as far away as not to cause any disturbance.

The rooms are quite big and spacious and the staff is unbelievably good. The rooms were also clean and airy. The service was excellent, although they need to improve on their running hot water service in bathrooms, which is a bit restrictive. The initial entrance to the Hotel is nice and huge, with ample parking space and the welcome they provided was also real nice and royal. They are going to still develop the Hotel further and I am sure they are going to add more and more facilities and also make the Hotel more beautiful.

The food at their Restaurant is excellent and it is incredibly economical. They also have a pool and a spa at the restaurant, but we didnt use it, so cant comment much on it. But the swimming pool looked clean and tempting, although it was a bit small.

They have daily cultural and folk program at the night in their big central garden. It is also a good experience to get the feel of the local culture.

The only downside is that the Hotel is far away from the city and so you need to specially go there and just cant wander around. But if you are looking for a place to chill out and relax, I think so Udai baug can offer a cheap yet beautiful option. There is a lot of scope for improvement, but at its present condition too, its a very nice option.

All in all we were pleasantly surprised after having a really nice experience at the Udai Baug. I think we will keep in mind this Hotel for any future trips to Udaipur and also recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianTraveller5980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

Stayed at Udai bagh last weekend (Valentines Day). This resort being surrounded by hills, would be the best if you want to stay away from city havocs. Just 10 mins drive from the udaipur city. Lot of open space to move around in the lawns. Everything was excellent, spacious rooms, nice attitude of the staff, delicious food. I recommend it highly for the nature lovers.

The only hitch is the approach road to this hotel, which needs a makeover.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gurmeet_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

We had such a wonderful stay here. The property is beautiful and outside from the city with all the noise and craziness. The staff was very friendly and attentive and the food was wonderful. We wanted for nothing. Our room was large, very clean and we had hot water everyday. The hotel is separated into different buildings on a large property. Each building has 4 rooms each with their own front lounge. We never even heard our neighbors.

I had a long and wonderful massage and we took a camel ride into the local village. The hotel manager welcomed us each morning and ended each night with a smile and goodnight. We were very surprised as to how beautiful the property was when we pulled up. It was by far the best hotel we stayed at with the best service. If we ever visit Udaipur again we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. We were treated with a great deal of kindness and respect. You will not go wrong staying at the Udai Bagh.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColeFishBowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temporary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

Great central location. Easy access to taxi, food and tourist places. Great budget stay.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tempa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

If you want a few days R & R after hectic days of touring, traffic, pollution and noise, this is the place for it. Only 10 minutes from Udaipur, but a different world. The seven tents, each with its own small garden and seating area, are spacious, well-furnished, fully-tiled bathrooms (plenty of hot water), dish TV and tea/coffee making facilities.

Sit outside with your early morning cuppa, breath clean air while listening to the birds singing and gazing at the hills surrounding you (inc. a view of the Monsoon Palace).

Transport into town is laid on if you can drag yourself away from the tranquility, but lazing by the full-sized swimming pool is a better option.

I had a very relaxing stay in November and was well-looked after by the very helpful staff. As a senior citizen I didn't expect to be "camping" at my time of life, (never done it before!) but I'll be definitely going back for a repeat performance.

  • Liked — Location, accommodation and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolstclears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
5.1 mi away
The Amargarh Udaipur
The Amargarh Udaipur
#24 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#21 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#33 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bhairav Garh Palace
Bhairav Garh Palace
#48 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amantra Shilpi Resort
Amantra Shilpi Resort
#51 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Udai Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Udai Bagh

Property: The Udai Bagh
Address: Debari Cross Road | Debari, Udaipur 313024, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Udai Bagh 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Udai Bagh Hotel Udaipur is nothing else but a very luxurious haven and resort in Rajasthan, India. It is well preferred by top officials, tourists, and everyone desirous of excellent service treatment in the city. One night alone at the hotel will have you wanting to spend more days as all you get right from the beautiful scenery, customer support, exclusive facilities, cuisine delivery and VIP treatment is enough to say this is perfect home away from home. The hotel has all the beautiful elements of the 'past and present' to provide you with the ultimate professional look, romantic architecture, and with expansive elegant& luxurious rooms (42 to choose from) designed in the fusion of both contemporary and traditional heritage style. The rooms are so royal-like and expansively luxurious that you will feel just like a king staying within one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Udai Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Udai Bagh Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing