We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel at middle of nowhere”
Review of The Udai Bagh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Udai Bagh
Ranked #36 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2010

The approach road narrow.. it's a clay road .. muddy and got a feeling this visit is going to be a disaster..however atmosphere changed completely as I entered the Udai Bagh.. the resort is spacious with ample car perking facility.. rooms are nice and the traditional .. room service warm.. we were welcomed in traditional rajastani style with beats of drums and a red tikka across forehead.. food was good.. overall nice stay..calms and quiet evening at lawns with cool wind blowing across was a memorable experience

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samjo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for The Udai Bagh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2010

I would stay there again whenever I am there that is all I can say about my exp. The staff and hotel did all they could to make the trip enjoyable and fun

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmitGupta12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

The Udai Bagh Hotel is a new building however in Palace style. The rooms are surrounding a rather big inside garden.

The location is certainly not the best one, rather far from Udaipur and you have noise of close by trains and dogs.
The rooms are large with bath, shower, toilet, coffee, TV, pay-tv, radio, phone, air co, balcony and gardenview.

Staff is ok, but it seems that the hotel is not really ready with a full trained staff.

Beware of giving you laundry. One pant was not clean at all and on the contrary with more problems and the room number was written with a ball pen (!!) on the tissue! OK they credited 20 pct of the price.
Our group leader had a worse problem. Although she warned NOT to iron a light jacked, it seemed that the staff had not understood it…. As the jacket came back with a whole with the format of an iron in it!! Of course it was ready to be thrown away!

I have some mixed feelings of this hotel.

Stayed: March 2010
2  Thank jpver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Scorching heat and humidity of March in Mumbai working day and night without any break and just before “Holi” festival I landed in Udai bagh Palace and felt if there is heaven it is here…here…here.

Well Mumbai to Ahmedabad by Jet Airways and from Ahmedabad by Road in cars with the entire family and kids a palatial structure standing strong with amazing landscape gardens and a fantastic ritualistic welcome by local Rajasthani women putting “tikka” on our forehead with a traditional Indian Thali…. Wow……

You can visit 5stars or 7star hotels but a rare combination of western and Indian cultures was a pleasant surprise. So…we relaxed in the noon after lunch.

By evening when opened my eyes outside the rooms in the garden facing all the rooms, now this is a master piece of architecture….a folk music, folk dancers in typical Rajasthani attire freaking to entertain us. With in fraction of seconds I noticed all the guests left their balconies and varanda and were on the floor dancing…what a spectacular experience and what a memorable evening……

I was so ….so much relaxed that didn’t feel like drinking. Back in Mumbai you need to drink to unwind but this was unique and divine…so dinner and sound sleep.

Next day morning breakfast made to order and lovely lunch. Bit of shopping in the city.
Staff so innovative and friendly…

Height was the way hotel celebrated and lit Holi…the fire…

Just beautiful stress free memories. Longing to go back ASAP…

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We went to Udaipur over the weekend for celebrating our first anniversary of marriage. We had seen the Hotel's advertisement in the local paper and approached their local office in Ahmedabad. We were impressed by their idea and their presentation and we made the booking for the Hotel for a 2N 3D package. We also got a good package and it turned out to be great value for money.

The Hotel is a little bit far from the Udaipur city, as it is located on the outskirts of the town. But that makes is super peaceful and serene. It is located amongst the Aravalli ranges and it gives such a nice and earthy feeling. There is also a railway line passing nearby, which looks nice. It is good that the railway is as far away as not to cause any disturbance.

The rooms are quite big and spacious and the staff is unbelievably good. The rooms were also clean and airy. The service was excellent, although they need to improve on their running hot water service in bathrooms, which is a bit restrictive. The initial entrance to the Hotel is nice and huge, with ample parking space and the welcome they provided was also real nice and royal. They are going to still develop the Hotel further and I am sure they are going to add more and more facilities and also make the Hotel more beautiful.

The food at their Restaurant is excellent and it is incredibly economical. They also have a pool and a spa at the restaurant, but we didnt use it, so cant comment much on it. But the swimming pool looked clean and tempting, although it was a bit small.

They have daily cultural and folk program at the night in their big central garden. It is also a good experience to get the feel of the local culture.

The only downside is that the Hotel is far away from the city and so you need to specially go there and just cant wander around. But if you are looking for a place to chill out and relax, I think so Udai baug can offer a cheap yet beautiful option. There is a lot of scope for improvement, but at its present condition too, its a very nice option.

All in all we were pleasantly surprised after having a really nice experience at the Udai Baug. I think we will keep in mind this Hotel for any future trips to Udaipur and also recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianTraveller5980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Stayed at Udai bagh last weekend (Valentines Day). This resort being surrounded by hills, would be the best if you want to stay away from city havocs. Just 10 mins drive from the udaipur city. Lot of open space to move around in the lawns. Everything was excellent, spacious rooms, nice attitude of the staff, delicious food. I recommend it highly for the nature lovers.

The only hitch is the approach road to this hotel, which needs a makeover.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gurmeet_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We had such a wonderful stay here. The property is beautiful and outside from the city with all the noise and craziness. The staff was very friendly and attentive and the food was wonderful. We wanted for nothing. Our room was large, very clean and we had hot water everyday. The hotel is separated into different buildings on a large property. Each building has 4 rooms each with their own front lounge. We never even heard our neighbors.

I had a long and wonderful massage and we took a camel ride into the local village. The hotel manager welcomed us each morning and ended each night with a smile and goodnight. We were very surprised as to how beautiful the property was when we pulled up. It was by far the best hotel we stayed at with the best service. If we ever visit Udaipur again we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. We were treated with a great deal of kindness and respect. You will not go wrong staying at the Udai Bagh.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColeFishBowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
5.1 mi away
The Amargarh Udaipur
The Amargarh Udaipur
#22 of 163 in Udaipur
223 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 163 in Udaipur
356 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 163 in Udaipur
1,061 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bhairav Garh Palace
Bhairav Garh Palace
#50 of 163 in Udaipur
267 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rampratap Palace
Rampratap Palace
#37 of 163 in Udaipur
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Udai Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Udai Bagh

Address: Debari Cross Road | Debari, Udaipur 313024, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £46 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Udai Bagh 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Udai Bagh Hotel Udaipur is nothing else but a very luxurious haven and resort in Rajasthan, India. It is well preferred by top officials, tourists, and everyone desirous of excellent service treatment in the city. One night alone at the hotel will have you wanting to spend more days as all you get right from the beautiful scenery, customer support, exclusive facilities, cuisine delivery and VIP treatment is enough to say this is perfect home away from home. The hotel has all the beautiful elements of the 'past and present' to provide you with the ultimate professional look, romantic architecture, and with expansive elegant& luxurious rooms (42 to choose from) designed in the fusion of both contemporary and traditional heritage style. The rooms are so royal-like and expansively luxurious that you will feel just like a king staying within one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Udai Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Udai Bagh Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing