We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aachi Chetinadu Lunch”

Vivanti by Taj - Connemara
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Aachi Chetinadu Lunch”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had lunch at Raintree along with family members and friends at Vivanta by Taj- Cannemara on two occasions on19 Jan14 and 02 Feb 14. We are impressed with the ambience, the tradition, the hospitality and above all the taste of the food. It was marvellous and tempted us ( me and my wife) to have more lunch and parties there. Typical south indian atmosphere surrounded by banana trees, bamboo tress, GREEN environment, VILLAGE ambience with GOD statues, small water pool with lotus.......... Above all the preparation of chetinadu both veg and non-veg was superb.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank col_asokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Happy”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice resort situated on 35 lush acres with a lagoon. The back of the property is on the Kerala backwaters. My room was spacious with elegant, tropical simplicity and a patio that overlooked the lagoon. As I sat out there in the morning, it was so peaceful. The large tree in the lagoon was filled with exotic birds making wonderful sounds and Fish were jumping. The breakfast buffet was excellent and dinner was very tasty, as well. The pool is very beautiful, and the fitness center is small but adequate enough to get a decent cardio exercise. The service was very attentive and outstanding. The grounds are beautiful and constantly being manicured. We rode on a private house boat that picked us up at the back of the property and it was an amazing experience that I would highly recommend. I really loved this place and would definitely stay here again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saustin111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Relax...in the old British Era”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Love the place, esp, the Distil Lounge. The lighting is mellow, the seating is comfy, the whole place has an old British charm about it. This is one of the better lounges in Chennai, quiet and the service is very good. Prices are not over the top, compared to Chipstead at the Taj Coromandel.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krishnan Iyer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hotel with old world Charm”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This is a hotel to go if your need is to be staying in tranquility once the days work is done.

Situated right in middle of town. The hotel has taken pains to keep its original ambiance while providing all modern amenities.

The rooms are well furnished and maintained as you would expect from a Taj property.

The raintree restaurant is a must visit if you are staying here.

Only restraint in giving an excellent rating is the sorroundings once u come out of the hotel. It is extremely crowded and dirty. Now that is not something hotel can do anything about or can they ?

It take some walking to get to some of the rooms from reception area. You may ask for a room nearer to lobby if you dislike walking a mile before you see ur room.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buthup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
295 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“What a Friday night party !!!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We went to Infusion with a bunch of friends and it was so much fun. The liquor was flowing, the DJ was at his best and the crowd was pretty well behaved. The bartender was a bit slow as he had too many guests to attend, but nobody was complaining.

The smoking zone is outside and importantly there are a lot of space and a corner to get and start a conversation. Will surely re visit again

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indradeep R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vivanti by Taj - Connemara also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Manali, Tamil Nadu
 
Tamil Nadu, India
 

Been to Vivanti by Taj - Connemara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing