We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alankar Grande

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Alankar Grande
Ranked #30 of 91 Hotels in Coimbatore
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hotel Alankar Grande in Ramnagar, Coimbatore offers a very tempting midnight buffet at Rs.261 net, including of taxes. For children of 5 to 10 years, it is Rs.104 net. The timings are 11 pm to 3 am every night.

I and my wife got tempted and went one night. We found that the buffet was a mix of good and bad. The menu comprised of veg sandwich, plain rice, sambhar, sambhar rice, non-veg khuska, idli, dosa, 2 chutneys, chicken gravy, fish gravy, curd rice, assorted fruits and vanilla ice-cream.

The fruits and the veg sandwich were nice. The chicken too was soft and nicely done. The idly and the chutney were nice.

The fish was some small variety, the size of our middle finger. The full fish was put in the gravy without cleaning the insides. And it was full of tiny bones, which made it very difficult to eat. There were no rotis. Instead they had a variety of dosas. The keema dosa had just one tea spoon of keema in the centre. The so-called egg dosa had only a sprinkling of beaten egg. Not only was the egg not visible, we could not also taste the egg. The non-veg biriyani (Khuska) did not have a single piece of non-veg. The captain said that it was plain biriyani. So why put up the board of NON-VEG Khuska ? The only dessert was vanilla ice-cream which was bland. How many scoops of plain vanilla ice-cream can one have ? There was no starter drink.

There were 2 waiters, who were busy attending to guests. The vacated tables were lying uncleaned, with all the vessels still on the table, all through the full 1 hour that we were there. How can cleaning up be ignored ?

As the menu suggests, there is nothing much for vegetarians.

Another aspect is that, at this time of the night, it is mostly groups of boisterous gents who come there for dinner after finishing their drinks. So the atmosphere is not suited for the family.

Agreed that Rs.261 is probably the lowest fare in town for a non-veg unlimited buffet in a star hotel. But what is point of spending even Rs.261 if you don't enjoy the food ?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ameet12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    55
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
8
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Over the last few years I have been booked into Alankar Grande, Coimbatore, four or five times.
Except for the fish in the small tank near the restaurant nothing much has changed.
The decor - including the scale-model vintage cars to the two real ones at the patio everything remains the same.
Clean and green outdoors and the well maintained interiors.
I strongly recommend Alankar Grande for any business traveler.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Harish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
185 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here for 9 nights on my business visit. During my long stay at Alankar Grande there was not a single instance or chance for me to complain. Found Alankar Grande to be a very good hotel to stay. The reception has a decently nice ambiance with helpful staff. the standard room in which I stayed was small but not congested. In fact the centrally air conditioned small standard room was quite cosy and comfortable and had all basic amenities like 51" LCD TV, tea-coffee maker and electronic safe. The only thing that was missing was a set top box for the TV and consequently there were some important Hindi and English channels missing although two English news channels and about 5 English movie channels were available. This was slight disappointing. The hotel should provide for set top box. Toilet was clean with all basic toiletries which were replaced everyday. Room service was reasonably good. The food served in the room and in the coffee shop "Tiffany " was of good taste and quality. Breakfast had reasonably good verity . However I found the breakfast having almost the same dishes every day. This was also little disappointing. Menu and dishes should change. The hotel provides complimentary wi-fi and also has a business center. The hotel has a bar/ lounge which is decent. the only other thing I found missing was a gym / health club. Hotel management should consider having a small gym on is premises. Over all a good hotel. Recommended for stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haresh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Peaceful ambience and very friendly staff with variety of things to eat!!! Stayed here for 4 days and was very much satisfied with the service received...worth each penny!!! A must recommended hotel if especially if you are on a budget trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

This property is quite an Average one.. Expensive to start with. Rooms are extremely small. Food is decent and is quite centrally located. Its clean and neat, but the size of the room puts u off. The staff are helpful

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srikanth_Iyer1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannur, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stay in this hotel regularly since it is situated near the markets which I need to visit. This hotel has undergone a major renovation. Rooms though small are clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinod69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

this time i stayed in this hotel where I stayed some 5 years back. I loved this hotel for its fine ambience, and very good restaurant.
Ideally located nearby market enabling easy access with the outside world.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbsm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbatore hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#21 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince Gardens Hotel Coimbatore
0.5 mi away
Hotel CAG Pride
Hotel CAG Pride
#2 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Grand
Hotel Le Grand
#20 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Castle Inn
Hotel Royal Castle Inn
#9 of 91 in Coimbatore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Residency Towers, Coimbatore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alankar Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alankar Grande

Property: Hotel Alankar Grande
Address: No. 10, Sivasamy Road, Coimbatore 641009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 91 Hotels in Coimbatore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alankar Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alankar Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alankar Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing