We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coimbatore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Misty Creek Homestay
Ranked #2 of 74 Coimbatore B&B and Inns
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good value for money place”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We went as a group of friends with families during long Ugadi weekend in March 2014.
The place is well within the town but away from all noise and hustle bustle of the small town Valparai.

We booked this place after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and not regretted our decision once we reached there. A friendly and smiling Benny welcomed us and allotted rooms to us. We booked three rooms, the rooms were clean and kept ready. Only one room had issues with the WC toilet which took a day to get fixed.

The place is on a narrow road, parking is tight, on the terrace that's the only pain. For kids there is no place to run around. The views are good from the balcony corridor and two rooms which are facing valley have great views. Please make sure to book valley facing rooms only.

Food is available in the main market, which is 5 mins walk away. Since we were in large group, Benny arranged one cook for us. The food was below average and even tea was OK. We were disappointed with the tea as when you are in Tamilnadu, every road side shop, village shop serves extraordinarily good tea.

One more thing, in the morning you will wake up in the midst of lovely music by birds. Specially on black colored one (Whistling thrush) entertained us right from the morning 5 till about 7-8 am. There are plenty of birds and their music combined with the sunrise behind the high hills/grasslands makes your holiday perfect.

Pros:
1. Ever smiling / helpful Benny
2. Excellent views of the valley
3. Ever helpful staff (one aged person as help but very enthusiastic)
4. Clean, well maintained rooms
5. Convenient location

Cons:
1. Not good catering / tea /food options
2. Tight parking on terrace
3. No open space for kids to run around
4. They must keep some literature to help tourists plan their trips around Valparai

Overall a good value for money option if you are visiting Valparai.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Book only Valley facing rooms, they have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himanshu200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    30
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pushkar
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It's absolutely a great experience this home-stay. Very clean, big rooms. Good mattress. Bathroom is very clean. Nice balcony with the most awesome view. It's a quiet and central location. The village of Valparai is also quiet and the locals ever so friendly. The owner is making every effort to feel you comfortable and he has a great knowledge of nature and wildlife. We definitely come back for a longer visit.
Good bike parking!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at Misty Creek Homestay last week and thoroughly recommend this place to travellers interested in Nature. The owner Benny is the local Snake Rescuer and Nature enthusiast. He is well connected with the local Forestry Staff so if you want to see snakes, elephants, gaur or birds he knows where to go. The place has great views over the Tea Plantations and early morning calls are courtesy of the Malabar Singing Thrush. Rooms are clean and tidy, a Reasonable price and good food. Benny provides good guiding around the local region. Benny is a great guy to know and next time we are Tamil Nadu, we would not want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking tea plantation are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

we stayed with family at this homestay, end december 2013. The owner benny is a nice enterprising guy who goes all out to make you comfortable. It is a home stay, which means do not expect a hotel. Yet, rooms are nicely done.
maybe you would like to pay more to stay in the room that has glass walls with a view of the tea gardens.

food is basic if you want to have it in the room. benny can arrange for different wild life trips- discuss with him before you arrive. try getting permission to visit tea factories. If you know people at Jayashree Tea or Tata Tea/ coffee, of course you can also explore staying in their beautiful bungalows. we did not !

note that road to valparai is pretty stiff so take precautions if you have issues with heights. try reaching by evening so that you can enjoy the view. definitely buy tea from factory gates. prices are 50% lesser than MRP ( Jayashree tea)

recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sr1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Me and hubby spent a couple of nights at Misty Creek this week. Initially had booked another place and since we didn't like that we came here. It was easier for me as I had been in touch with Frank and he was most willing to accommodate us. Taking up Misty Creek, we had nothing to repent for. Beautiful view of the estates from the property, clean rooms and clean bathroom (Which I specifically look out for), friendly owner, sound of water flowing in between the estates and the Whistling Thrush that sings so beautifully in the mornings, simple home food on order (Or you can walk down to the market area to have your food) what more to ask for on a holiday.

This is definitely not a place if you want luxury, however a place for nature lovers, who appreciate the pristine beauty that nature provides and who want to unwind themselves and are up for some wildlife adventure.

Frank is a very friendly person, always helpful and thoughtful, has great knowledge and the stories he has got to share can be listened to all the time.

Overall, a simple, nice, clean place to stay definitely worth the money spent.

Room Tip: Of course like all others have mentioned, the corner room offers best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radhika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Hi All .. Spent 3 nights from 13th Nov'13 to 16th Nov'13 at Misty Creek in Valparai.
Frank Benjamin is the owner. He is a Snake Rescuer and a Wildlife Enthusiast.
We took the room facing the Tea Estates and the view was amazing. The rooms were good and comfortable. the rooms are located away from the hustle bustle of the small town.
Food is available at walking distance from the rooms or there is a guy who would cater to our needs and brings it over to the room on prior intimation.
We travelled from Hyderabad to Coimbatore and Frank had arranged for a taxi to take us to Valparai - our Destination. On hind sight - hiring the taxi was the best part else it would have been a real pain travelling all the way to valparai as there is very little frequency or no frequency of buses from Coimbatore. In case we have to travel by bus we need to take a bus to Pollachi which is enroute to valparai and take a bus from there. the frequency of buses from Pollachi is good. But Nevertheless a TAXI should be the Option.
Advantage of being in Misty Creek would be having Frank around to help you with the place.
He is very helpful in nature and has good insights on what to see where in Valparai.
Suggest you to plan your stay in advance as there are only 4-5 rooms which are mostly booked / blocked in order to avoid disappointment.
The place has a lot to offer in regards to wildlife - birds, mammals, reptiles etc.
A week to ten days here and i am sure you will have a lot of memories to take back with you.
Misty Creek is a good place to be in with a good/best guide in Frank Benjamin.
You will be lucky if Frank has any Snake Rescue calls as you directly see him handle the snakes.
Valparai is definitely recommended to this with an adventure bent of mind. There is a lot on offer.

Room Tip: Couples can choose from the super deluxe rooms facing the tea estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlakshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

we stayed for 3 nights and 4 days.... rooms are well maintained... balcony offers nice view of tea plantations... In the tranquil of night, from the room we can hear the sound of stream flowing in between the hills... food provided was of average quality... you can try in outside restaurants since many options are available nearby....

Room Tip: corner rooms have french windows... but bit costlier... all rooms open in balcony that gives good gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sivathejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coimbatore
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saravana Grand
Hotel Saravana Grand
#1 of 2 in Valparai
30 reviews
21.0 mi away
Coco Lagoon by Great Mount Resort
18.0 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Briar Tea Bungalows - Valparai
5.7 mi away
Petra Family Guest House
Petra Family Guest House
#1 of 16 in Valparai
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Holiday Break
Hotel Holiday Break
#4 of 16 in Valparai
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Creek Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Creek Homestay

Property: Misty Creek Homestay
Address: 8/410 Cooperative Colony | Valparai, Coimbatore 642127, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore District > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Coimbatore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name implies, Misty Creek Homestay is an idyllic, pleasing and picturesque spot of natural simplicity and happiness. Here every room offers mesmerizing views. You can enjoy the mist rolling down in the warmth of luxuriously furnished rooms and it is literally a honeymooner's paradise. The property is far enough to shut out the hustle and bustle of Valparai town and close enough to reach it in 5 minutes by vehicle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing