We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel; Little to complain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Coimbatore
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel; Little to complain”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our stay at the Taj Surya At Coimbatore was quite pleasant. No major issues.Good location. Spacious and modern. The restaurants are. The buffet has a good spread and the service standards are what you would expect at a Taj. Clean. Check in was painless. We had a suite and was good for family of four. Housekeeping was responsive. The Restaurant Manager Bhuvan Mudaliar was very helpful, friendly and professional. Impressed. Good views of the city from the upper floors

Room Tip: Upper floors better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndoCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    348
    59
    21
    8
See reviews for
200
73
35
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

A well located property. Clean rooms. Helpful staff. The chinese restaurant staff and chef are very helpful and of course the food is good. The latitude coffee shop food has been nothing less than a disappointment each time we visit. If not for the coffee shop food, this place is a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harshavardhini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

People makes all the difference when a brand invests in them.Vivanta by Taj in Coimbatore is an excellent hotel evenly poised from the city centre as well as from the airport.I checked in in the second floor which to my surprise has a terrace grass arena,swimming pool and a garden.Each room is accompanied by a private balcony which opens up in the Barbecue restaurant on the second floor.My 29 mt odd deluxe luxury room is very well planned with adequate space.

The reception desk is excellent and the travel desk guys are quick to response to queries.I am deeply touched by the food quality,hospitality and warmth of the staffs in all the restuarants.The Chinese restuarant has authentic cuisine and worth exploring.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe rooms in the 2nd floor.Real value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajamukherjee1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiruchirappalli, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly and courteous staff. Good selection of food. Security staff were very helpful to my driver.
We had the view of the racecourse.
I even manage to get a late check out without paying extra.
Front office staff was very accommodating.
Definitely will go back there.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sharmila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Travelled on the extended weekend of 15th Aug. The hotel is located close to the airport and is also in the center of the city. The room was well done and spacious for my family of 2 adults and 1 child. The best part of the stay was however the courteous staff and the great food. Mr.Prabhat at the travel desk was especially very helpful in planning the trip and also arranged to send one baggage we forgot at the hotel to the airport just right behind us at the time of leaving. The other staffs at the hotel were also very helpful, hospitable and offered all assistance possible. Overall a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms offer a good view of the city, so nothing in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girigarious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The rooms are large, bed is comfortable and the lounger/single sofa great for reading. The shower had good force and there were plentiful towels. Housekeeping was top notch. Of note is the staff, who is happy to assist. Breakfast was a real experience, again great food, wide selection and superb service, with live counters. The hotel is in a perfect location, nothing is far, and just across the hotel is the race course and its legendary walkers path. A block away from the hotel a choice of eateries. Check in and Check out was quick. Beautifully renovated hotel with a fine spirit to serve.

Room Tip: Large construction site rear of hotel. But no trouble except poor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vfmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW DELHI
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is such a bliss...
The weather was great...
The rooms : at first i was room but there was some odd smell in the room but the front desk was nice they immediately changed the room.

It has many amazing restaurants..
But my experience is at breakfast it is amazing All thanks to Mr. Basker he is very sweet and very respectful as a matter of fact everyone is very sweet ...

There swimming pool area is must try out ...

All in all maybe i was not expecting much out of the city and was taken away but the hospitality.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PUNEETN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbatore hotels
0.7 mi away
The Residency Towers, Coimbatore
7.9 mi away
Le Meridien Coimbatore
Le Meridien Coimbatore
#9 of 96 in Coimbatore
618 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Coimbatore
Radisson Blu Coimbatore
#6 of 96 in Coimbatore
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
#1 of 96 in Coimbatore
418 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aloft Coimbatore Singanallur
Aloft Coimbatore Singanallur
#10 of 96 in Coimbatore
638 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gokulam Park Coimbatore
Gokulam Park Coimbatore
#7 of 96 in Coimbatore
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Surya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Surya

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Address: 105, Race Course Road, Coimbatore 641018, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore District > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Coimbatore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Surya 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Surya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing