We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome property with very hospitable staff and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
1 review
“Awesome property with very hospitable staff and great food”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were here from Nov 13 to Nov 15 to celebrate my niece's 2nd year birthday. As soon as we landed at the reception, we were greeted by Mr Muralidharan - GM and his staff. He and his other staff ensured our stay was wonderful all throughout. We were upgraded to the suites which were just mind-blowing.
The property is heritage, serene and at a very good location thus serving the purpose of coming out for a vacation. The suites make you feel like a King. If not the suites, I would suggest you to go for the Superior or Executive rooms.
Food is great in taste. Try out their continental cuisine followed by the Indian. They are just out of this world.
On the day of my niece's birthday, Mr Bala Murugan - F&B Manager, Mr. Richard - Restaurant Staff and the other members of the hotel went all out to make my niece's birthday bash a smashing event. We will never forget this warmth and sweet gesture from the hotel staff.
The hotel organizes some event everyday that will keep you entertained and has a great Ayurveda wellness center.
I would love to come here again and spend some more time thanks to all the positives mentioned above.
Thank you Mr. Muralidharan and the other staff members for making our stay a memorable one. Keep up the good work and Good luck !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitSrivastava22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Mr.Srivastava,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered by Balamurugan, Richard and the other staff members were shared with the team.

Mr.Srivastava, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    217
    38
    7
    5
See reviews for
307
186
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had a fantastic weekend stay at Gateway Coonoor recently. The rooms are large and spacious, renovated bathrooms were huge. One could comfortably live in the bathroom! The fireplace in the room looked inviting although the weather in Oct did not really call for a fire. The bar is very colonial and evenings spent there were great. The dining room serves great food. Do not miss out on the typical local fare which is cooked by the village ladies. It is unique, impossible to get anywhere else. The hotel staff is warmth personified. Always willing to go the extra mile to accommodate any requests. True assets of the Taj. Mr Murali the GM is very hospitable and being a local has great knowledge of things to do around including trails. We did a trail recommended by him which we thoroughly enjoyed. we look forward to returning there soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunalpatil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Mr.Patil,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the team.

Mr.Patil, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in late October and were extremely happy with the property, service and overall value.

Location:
The location is great - only about 1Km from the main Coonoor bus stand (17Km from Ooty) and even though we had a car, the road leading up to it is very walkable. There is also an excellent local market about 0.5Km further up the same road which is great for a nice walk in the evenings.

Property:
The property is a historical landmark (part of the complex built for the next door 160 year old church), and the old world charm is very well maintained. The rooms and other facilities are surrounded by lush green lawns throughout which are great place to spend couple of hours just enjoying the serene air.

Rooms:
The room was again a great mix of old world charm and modern convenience. It opened up to a patio style lawn where the hotel has kept tables and chairs for enjoying a cup of tea or even meals. We were troubled by a noisy family with kids next door who decided to spend their entire day sitting in the table right outside our door during an entire afternoon - but it wasn't enough to spoil our time. The bathroom had been modernized with a huge shower and other conveniences. We missed having a hot tub though. We had a huge cupboard, dressing table with mirror, flat screen TV and a nice quiet fan. The bed, as expected, was excellent! One more thing missing was any kind of a view of the mountains - not a fault of the hotel, since the property was designed in this way.

Food:
Our package included a breakfast buffet which was good value, but definitely way below the standards I have experienced with other TAJ properties. The dining hall was amazing - furnished entirely with wood in british raj style, we felt like being transported back to that era.

Service:
Excellent - house keeping and room service were prompt, courteous and accommodating, as expected and in line with the TAJ standards.

Value:
Excellent - the overall package was definitely worth it!

Would definitely be back again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vebwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Mr.Bansal,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. We have noted the feedback regarding the breakfast and will certainly address the same.

Mr.Bansal, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 days with my wife. Amazing property. Cottages were very spacious, with excellent bathrooms. Staff provide excellent service. Definitely one of the best place to stay in coonoor. Hotel also has a very good restaurant, I liked the food as well.

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaibhav293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Mr.Vaibhav,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the team.

Mr.Vaibhav, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a fantastic weekend stay at Gateway Coonoor recently. The rooms are large and spacious, renovated bathrooms were huge. One could comfortably live in the bathroom! The fireplace in the room looked inviting although the weather in Oct did not really call for a fire.

The bar is very colonial and evenings spent there were great. The dining room serves great food. Do not miss out on the typical local fare which is cooked by the village ladies. It is unique, impossible to get anywhere else.

The hotel staff is warmth personified. Always willing to go the extra mile to accommodate any requests. True assets of the Taj. Mr Murali the GM is very hospitable and being a local has great knowledge of things to do around including trails. We did a trail recommended by him which we thoroughly enjoyed.

we look forward to returning there soon.

Room Tip: The spa is very reasonably priced, a must try!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsw1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the team.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We went there with our 2.5 year old young son, and the service + patience of the staff was fantastic!

The property itself is heavenly, with extensive lawns and an excellent 160 year old church next door.

The rooms were comfortably, very cozy and excellently designed (we had taken the top end rooms.. I forgot what they're called right now). We loved every minute of our stay.

The food in the restaurant is amazing, though felt a bit expensive given the location + the quality of food (600 for a lunch buffet in Coonoor? Come on guys!). But the best part, they don't charge anything for the baby's food, no matter what you ask for (even if it's from the room service menu).

All in all, we had a fantastic stay. The only complaint? The room service is a bit slow (though they were VERY accomodating in terms of providing food for the baby even outside the times when their chef was in the hotel).

Excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemanshu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Mr.Narsana,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services. Your kind words of appreciation for the services rendered were shared with the entire team. We have noted your feedback regarding the pricing of the food in the restaurant and the delay in Room service. We will address the pricing during the next menu change. I regret the delay in the room service and ensure corrective measure are initiated immediately. Kindly accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Fantastic place with great value for money. We took the superior room facing the lawn and it was fantastic. Few glitches in service but can be overlooked. Fantastic food, good views, very good services, nice and cozy rooms and very relaxing holiday.

We did not feel going out of the hotel.

Don't hesitate.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arindam6781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuraliDharan, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Church Road, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Mr.Arindam,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Coonoor.

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during the recent visit to Coonoor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay. I have noted your feedback regarding the glitch in our service and will certainly take corrective measures.

Mr.Arindam, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of The Gateway Hotel Coonoor and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
Muralidharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
1.5 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
799 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
416 reviews
8.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,008 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Church Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Church Road

Property: The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Address: Church Road | Upper Coonoor, The Nilgris, Coonoor 643101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Church Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled In the heart of rolling mountains and drifting mists, guests at The Gateway Hotel find it easy to lose themselves in the beauty of soothing views and exotic surroundings. No two rooms are alike at this historic hotel with old world charm. An artful blend of colonial architecture and contemporary amenities ensures that guests will find their stay here to be a relaxing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Church Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Coonoor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing