We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a Day”
Review of Hotel Padmam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Padmam
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were in this hotel in the middle of summer, but, the ventilation was good and there was nice breeze blowing across the room. The room service is pretty bad,though. WI-Fi is given free but only in the lobby on the ground floor. So it doesn't make any sense having it for free. The place is close to the temple, but the streets overflow with filth. Overall this is a hotel good for a days stay. The complimentary breakfast is average with nil ambiance on rooftop.

Room Tip: Try getting a room in the first two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunku65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Pros
+ close to the temple (like most hotels in madurai)
+ Really good AC

Cons
- No wifi in the rooms. Only the lobby
- No hot water! Their heater is broken! They didnt told us when we booked, and when we complained they gave us a bucket of hot water.
- The staff is really pushy trying to sell you beer, every single person of the staff will try to do it. Many times.
- The staff tends to keep the change... not even asking
- The staff tends to use the stairs to chat, rest, eat, basically for everything.
- breakfast is not very good, and they serve it on the rooftop, where the heat is REALLY intense, all day long.
- Power outages are very normal, so you will have to use the stairs a lot.

Notes:
- I have posted the price list, but we bargained about 40% of the price
- Checkout is exactly 24hs after you made the check in

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I happened to Visit Madurai for 2 days on 24th and 25th of May of 2014.So I stayed @ Hotel Padmam.
They have a Modest rate of 1000/- per single occupancy for Non-A/C. including Tax and 1200/- for A/C. and also deluxe rooms are also available.(With Complimentary Breakfast) uptill 10:00 Am.
Non-A/C Rooms have a Geyser,Fan,TV and 2 beds and it was very comfortable.
Hotel Padmam is very close to the Madurai Meenakshi Amman temple.hardly 1/2 a Kilometer and Lots of Shops too.
Hotel Padmam has 5 floors.and they have a Lift too.
Restaurant is also avl within the Hotel and car parking too.
for a Budget Traveller like me it was Too Great to stay there. I enjoyed the Hotel Ambiance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bojan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramprabhu, General Manager at Hotel Padmam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings!!!

Thank you for your valuable time in providing a feedback to our hotel . We are extremely happy with your feedback provided. we are highly motivated and would like to serve the tourists in a best in class way.we would be really happy if we get more opportunities in serving you.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a relatively old hotel positioned near the Madurai Temple. We went there in our car; my god the parking space was very very narrow and I have to be "lucky" every time to park the car without hitting on some thing. Parking lot expects only "expert drivers". The hotel is very near the temple, so reaching the hotel during the business hours is not easy at all. Luckily, I was moving in and out during off business hours. The hotel advertised having a bath tub, it was there but dysfunctional. The hotel guys said they have stopped the tub facility after water shortage. Agreed, but why did they advertise tub as a facility? Shower was not there, we had to use the hand shower to take bath. We stayed in a Suite type room. The room was spacious and relatively clean. A/C was good. The bed was good, but the pillows were awful (clean but no shape and not comfortable at all). They still have ancient CRT TVs with very poor cable connection. The telephone in the room never worked. The complementary breakfast was served in the terrace, but no roof. They have used the green net as the roof and one has to squeeze into the space to have the breakfast. The food served was tasty and good, but the ambiance was poor. Their "lift" was so scary, it was like traveling on a bumpy road. We completely avoided lift as we thought it would breakaway and fall down anytime. Hot water was available only in the morning. Their staff are helping, but they were also meticulous in collecting the money for whatever help they offered. I paid over 6 people when I left the hotel, while 4 people came to me and asked for money. Overall, it was a bad experience in the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, if you are traveling in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radusdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel room was just okay and the service was average. The lift was very scary with sudden jerks. The bath rooms were clean though. The main advantage is it's proximity to the railway station and Meenakshi temple.

The complementary breakfast was okay, but the other items very expensive. There are a couple of good eateries nearby.

Room Tip: The front side rooms offer a good view of Meenakshi temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RajarameshR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel serves delicious food and has a great ambience. Very polite staff and helpful management. You can get good suggestions about things to do in madurai. Located near the best tourist attraction of the town, this is possibly the best place to stay for visitors.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Haresh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramprabhu, General Manager at Hotel Padmam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings!!!

Thank you for your valuable time in providing a feedback to our hotel . We are extremely happy with your feedback provided. we are highly motivated and would like to serve the tourists in a best in class way.we would be really happy if we get more opportunities in serving you.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The ambiance in the hotel was very good, the rooms ,beds are neat and clean. To credit the hotel in a unique way is the roof top restaurant, we get delicious food and a beautiful angle view of the town and the famous Madurai meenakshi amman temple.
To tell something about the place - Situated in the heart of the town,feasible access to the places near by.
Mmmm still searching some information about travel, then please contact the hotel's helpdesk they will sort it out for you ! ! !

Room Tip: I stay three time's and found all the rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prithivi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramprabhu, General Manager at Hotel Padmam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings!!!

Thank you for your valuable time in providing a feedback to our hotel . We are extremely happy with your feedback provided. we are highly motivated and would like to serve the tourists in a best in class way.we would be really happy if we get more opportunities in serving you.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#37 of 54 in Madurai
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boopathi
Hotel Boopathi
#50 of 54 in Madurai
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rani Mangammal Recidencies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sree Devi
Hotel Sree Devi
#17 of 54 in Madurai
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Golden Park
The Golden Park
#43 of 54 in Madurai
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#36 of 54 in Madurai
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Padmam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Padmam

Address: 1 Perumal Tank West Street | Town Hall Road, Madurai 625001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: £9 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Padmam 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city and very near to Meenakshi Amman Temple, Thirumalai Naicker palace,Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam, Gandhi museum. The Railway station and Bus station are within walking distance from the hotel. A All rooms and suites have direct dialing telephone facility, color television, attached bathrooms with western style toiletry and running hot and cold water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Padmam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing