We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel - value for property” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prem Nivas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prem Nivas Hotel
Ranked #45 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
bangalore - india
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Budget hotel - value for property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

The hotel is located very close to the Railway Station and Meenakshi Temple. Although a very old property, they have managed to maintain it to some extent. Basically a budget hotel ! We were informed that the renovation is taking place from the 6th floor - downward with 5th floor completed. A new elevator is being added.

Service is quite bad as expressed by many reviewers. However, we were lucky to get a very good person for room service: Mr. Kamala Kannan. He was well behaved and provided good services. The Management of the Hotel should replace all those non-performing boys and ensure that the guests get prompt 'Room Service'.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room No.103 - Double AC - was OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sramvaidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
2
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
1,090 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,056 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Except locational advantage (near to railway station and meeankshi temple), there is nothing to speak about this hotel. service very poor. furniture is very old. room facilities are almost nil. and price is very high.

Room Tip: please book some other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RajnishPathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I booked the room on 13.1.2012 over the phone for 28.01.12
Later sent an email on 18.1.2012 for re-confirmation of room booked
Received confirmation through email on 20.1.12 for room booked.
Later when i dropped in madurai at 28.02.12 at 12 midnight at prem nivas
Hotel Receiptionist says neither any room has been booked in my name and nor rooms are available for current booking.
5 people were roaming in the street from one hotel to another looking for rooms from 12 midnght to 2 am. So please dont book the room in hotel prem nivas.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank speed_muralimohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madurai hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Santa Eulalia del Rio, Spain
Level Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Firstly the man who ran the front desk was so rude it was almost comic. The room we were given was filthy, cockroaches everywhere and no windows. The beds were pretty bad but slept fully clothed to stop bed bugs etc..I was very happy to leave the next day, sadly it put a really negative image on Madurai for me!

Room Tip: Just please don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AManInEivissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We booked a room based on good reports from one of the guide books. Our room was so filthy that when I leaned on a table my hand stuck. We didn't want to put our bags on the bed let alone lay on them. The bathroom was filthy & I stopped counting the cockroaches at 20. Needless to say we didn't stay. I don't mind simple & I don't mind basic but I don't like filth. Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank beeandthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

I paid only 380 Rupies which was value for money even it was not the cleanest room and had a "floor toilet" (french toilet). It was loud repectively you can hear everybody in his room. It is not a western tourism hotel; it is a Indian hotel. The location was in walking distance to other hotels as well as the famous temple.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InkaCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

Have booked this hotel at Madurai based on my friend's advise and arrived from Rameswaram as the second stop in our Pilgrimage. The hotel is located in one of the busiest streets in Madurai and hardly 1 KM from the railway station and the world-famous Perumal temple.

The hotel is neat and spacious and its price is a boon for the budget traveler in the commercial city..we have stayed 2 days in the hotel which was pleasent.

Clearly, the restaurant has got scope for a lot of improvement, otherwise the staff are courteous with a smile and I dint expect that they would give me a newspaper each day morning !!

Recommended for business travelers and families who would like to be there given that they venture out for good food (good restaurants nearby)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kuldeepch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boopathi
Hotel Boopathi
#47 of 55 in Madurai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#23 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#35 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rani Mangammal Recidencies
0.1 mi away
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#41 of 55 in Madurai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prem Nivas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prem Nivas Hotel

Property: Prem Nivas Hotel
Address: 102 West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Prem Nivas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing