We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel M R International
Ranked #10 of 44 Madurai B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Proximity to temple. Walkable. Bed n towels not up to mark. People are courteous.
Food restaurant is available till 10 pm. I recommend for budget conscious. Madurai is a most congested city. Many streets are not car navigable. Better to take auto rickshaw.

Don't miss perumal temple near bus stand very big n beautiful next to meenakshi temple

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank supersubra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    21
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

location was good, it was near to Meenakshi temple, but there is no view from hotel, it is very old style hotel, didn't like the hotel, yes it is a budget hotel, but I'll not recommend this to anyone.
rooms were dark, even in the day time, need to switch on the light, and even crockery served in the rooms were also not up to the mark, only I like the restaurant of the hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in standard room, not recommendable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuty_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Good rooms,nice people and very helpful.The food quality should improve.The location is very good and be careful when u take your car,some tricky maneuvering you should do before landing to the hotel.Narrow approach road.

Room Tip: can select any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ravichandrangillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice for an overnight stay during 4 days. The rooms we got (non a/c) on both the occasions were having poor ventilation and soon turned uncomfortably warm and stuffy. The rooms though are quite spacious and hotel is just a strolling distance from the famous Meenakshi temple. Staff is friendly. One can not get warm water for bath except only in the morning. The room service telephone on our floor kept ringing almost all through the night and made it difficult to get good sleep. However, if one is on a short stay especially on pilgrimage to the Goddess Meenakshi's temple then this hotel would be a good choice despite the above mentioned drawbacks.

Room Tip: For comfort get an A/C room only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel.
The room and toilet are spacious , clean and well maintained.
Walkable distance from Sri Meenakshi Temple.
The employees are very courteous.
We will recommend to any one.
Karthikeyan V.D

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karthikeyan_vd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamshedpur, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

i reached hotel at night 2 o clock. i had only one room booked and i need one more i am thankful to hotel administration that they gave me one more room at very short notice...the best part of this hotel is ...its very near to the great Minakshi Temple just five mints waking distance. it was my first visit to Madurai and i reached so late but i was haapy to know that auto drivers knows its location i felt no problem being there so late.....hotel is clean and rooms are big also i booked two non ac double bed room. overall it is a good hotel to stay in madurai...

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikhil848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The hotel is bang on Dhanappa mudali st in Madurai.It is very near Meenakshi temple and other shopping locations.It has an average restaurant downstairs.
We booked 2 deluxe A/C rooms.and one non A/C room for 8 persons.
The rooms are cozy,spacious and clean.It is noisy sometimes.Our adjacent room had a whole bunch of party people who made the stay unplesant with their cigarette smoking and drinking.we had to complain to the management.They vacated the next day.
The staff was extremely courteous and ever helpful.The road opp the hotel is very narrow.impossible for vehicles to cross one another.
would recommend it for the location alone ! nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shankar_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.3 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#36 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#26 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#23 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel M R International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel M R International

Property: Hotel M R International
Address: 61-62 Dhanappa Mudali Street, Madurai 625 001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel M R International 1*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel M R International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing