We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but go for the view at sunset” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme)

Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme)
Ranked #10 of 225 Restaurants in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are located in Hotel Supreme. 1. The 1st open-air Roof-Top Restaurant in the city, located on the 7th floor. 2. A/C Restaurant located on the ground floor. 3. The 1st and still the only premium veg. Restaurants in the city. 4. Multi-Cuisine 5. Breathtaking view of the world famous Sri Meenakshi Temple. 6. We serve Jain food also.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Good food but go for the view at sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

You could go just for a drink (they do serve beer which you don't find much) but the Indian food was very good so no reason not to stay for dinner as well.

Looking around other hotels also have roof top restaurants as well now.

Helpful?
Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our property.

We are pleased that you had a good time at our outlet and enjoyed the food.

Well, now there are other roof-top restaurants around too but our restaurant is the first roof-top restaurant in Madurai and we have recently completed 25 years of our existence! Wonderful reviews from customers like you have helped us to retain the top position in this segment since all these years and we expect to better ourselves in the future too, with the continued support of our patrons!

Looking forward to receiving you time and again, in the future!

Thanks and best regards,
Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    70
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We ate here for 3 nights and the food and service were consistent and excellent. The restaurant was busy with a couple of very large groups but the staff were still efficient and very pleasant. The food was tasty and fresh. Keep up the good work Surya's.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jtfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our property.

We are elated that you had a good time at our outlet and enjoyed the food. Your appreciation has been passed on to our concerned staff, who are always on their toes to give their best! We sincerely appreciate your opinion and are pleased with your response to our service. Looking forward to receiving you again in the future!

Thanks and best regards,
Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madurai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great veg food and good view of the city & Temple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I think Hotel Supreme's Surya Veg roof top restaurant is the first roof top restaurant in Madurai. due to its location, its very popular among tourists and travelers. The restaurant sitting on the 6th floor offers a fantastic view of the temple and the city in general. The quality of veg food here is good. As the hotel also has a bar in the basement, they serve beer at the roof top restaurant. Though the usual Dosa and Idli's are the localities favourite dishes, the cheese naan, jeera rice and their stuffed range of kulcha's are one of the best!

A nice place for a breezy family dinner or to meet a friend or spend some quality time overlooking the city & Temple. I have taken several of my guests here and all of them were more than happy about the food and view this place offers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saravanaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our property.

You are absolutely right that our restaurant is the first roof-top restaurant in Madurai and we have recently completed 25 years of our existence! We are pleased that you had a good time at our outlet and enjoyed the food. Your appreciation has been passed on to our concerned staff! Looking forward to receiving you/your guests time and again for many more years to come!

Thanks and best regards,
Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good view but not the food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Restaurant has a very good night especially at night , but the food wasn't great , mushrooms we ordered tasted weird ,so I advise to avoid it... Staff is polite .

Helpful?
Thank Karan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your review! Regret that your experience at our Restaurant was not upto expectations. We have taken note of your complaint and will take suitable action on it. Do visit us again to give us an update on the food quality and taste. Looking forward to your next response!

Thanks and best regards,

Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Thoroughly impressed by this place. We had our dinner here and the food was really good, could have been a little spicier but tasted fantastic. The service was some of the best we've had in India. Friendly staff who seemed genuinely interested to stop and have a chat. The view is also a big factor with a good vantage over the whole of Madurai. Really good experience, would certainly go again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hapin, Owner at Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme), responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our property. We are pleased that you had a good time at our outlet and enjoyed the food. Your appreciation has been passed on to our concerned staff! Looking forward to receiving you again.

Thanks and best regards,
Hapin Lalan
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme) also viewed

 

Been to Surya Veg Restaurants (Hotel Supreme)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing