We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage Madurai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Madurai
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We just came back from two weeks trip in south India. All the hotels that we stayed in were very good but this one was the best.
The rooms are very comfortable, the service is perfect and the food is great. They even put mosquito repellent tubes in the room (I wish other hotels would do that).
The grounds are beautifully kept and it is a quiet retreat from the noise and pollution of the city.
We did not want to leave...

Room Tip: Ground rooms are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Nandagopal, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!!

We are delighted to know that you had Wonderful stay at Heritage Madurai. We are very happy to see superb review posted in Trip Advisor.

We, the entire team at Heritage Madurai get rejuvenated by your nice compliments and it is always our earnest endeavor to fulfill the requirements of our esteemed guests to the complete satisfaction.

Eagerly looking forward to your next visit soon,

With kind Regard,

Ravindranath Sattur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    437
    126
    43
    18
See reviews for
341
496
54
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is one of the best hotels. We stayed here only for a night but plan to go back for few more nights next time we are in the area. The hotel is in the city but the property is so big that you hardly hear the road noise.
The service was EXCEPTIONAL! Everyone we met was smiling and every request we made was met with pleasure.
The lunch and dinner was good but the best part was the breakfast.
Can't wait to go back.

We are family of 4 with 2 small kids.

Quick tip: Don't get confused with another hotel named Heritage Residency.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Nandagopal, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Our Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!!

We are happy to know that you had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay with your family at our hotel.

We would like to thank you for your nice comments about our Resort, Services and staffs in Trip Advisor.

It is our constant endeavor not only to get our customers satisfied in our standards but also to exceed the expectations of our valued guests by our dedicated and personalized services in all possible ways and means.

We would take this opportunity to request you to recommend our hotel to your friends and relatives for their stay in our property when they visit to Madurai.
Assuring of our best services at all times, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

With best regards,

Ravindranath Sattur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Lovely hotel spread over an area which is quiet though right in the busy town. Built originally for the managers at a local mill. The bedrooms are spacious and airy, the bathroom was huge and all made from granite and we had our own little swimming pool to cool off in though you need to be careful of the mosquitos. There was a restaurant and cafe, we only used the cafe which was fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Nandagopal, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!!

We are delighted to know that you had Peace and Quiet times in our hotel during your stay.

We are happy for a wonderful review posted in Trip Advisor.

We, the entire team at Heritage Madurai get rejuvenated by your nice compliments and it is always our earnest endeavor to fulfill the requirements of our esteemed guests to the complete satisfaction.

We would take this opportunity to request you to recommend our hotel to your friends and relatives for their stay in our property when they visit to Madurai.

Eagerly looking forward to your next visit soon,

With kind regards,

Ravindranath Sattur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a great place to stay on the edge of the old city of Madurai. The grounds are peaceful with lush trees and a calm atmosphere. The rooms are very nice and very clean, the staff are courteous, friendly and welcoming and the food is excellent. It's a lovely place to come back to after the hustle and bustle of the city - about a 20 minute taxi drive to the temple.

Room Tip: You may wish to be quite near to the lobby are with restaurant and pool for convenience and to use w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol_procter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Nandagopal, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Our Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!!

We are happy to know that you had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

We would like to thank you for your nice comments in Trip Advisor.

It is our constant endeavor not only to get our customers satisfied in our standards but also to exceed the expectations of our valued guests by our dedicated and personalized services in all possible ways and means.

Assuring of our best services at all times, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

With best regards,

Ravindranath Sattur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Mans, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

First of all I booked the reservation and airport pick up by email directly with the hotel. They were very efficient and answered me promptly. They even called the day before to confirm airport pick up and flight number!
Arriving at the hotel for lunch our rooms were already available. We stayed in the Villa with private pool. The rooms are very spacious and pleasant.
The restaurant is very good and offers mostly indian food. Lunch is A la Carte and in the evening a buffet is available. The staff is very kind and helpful.
A special mention for the Travel Desk at the hotel which provided us with a car and driver for 2 days. Our driver Saran was extremely knowledgeable about Madurai and the surroundings. He was a very good driver and such a nice person! We had a great time spending those 2 days with him. The first day he drove us around Madurai to visit the interesting areas of the city. The second day we drove to Chettinadu. Saran and the travel desk called ahead to book lunch for us, thus making our trip smooth and very well organized.
I also went to the spa at the hotel which provides great massages with very nice therapists.
In short a wonderful stay thanks to professional and nice people. A great place to discover Madurai and the region.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa or room far from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Cécile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Nandagopal, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Our Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!!

We are happy to know that you had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay with your family at our hotel.

It is our constant endeavor not only to get our customers satisfied in our standards but also to exceed the expectations of our valued guests by our dedicated and personalized services in all possible ways and means.

Assuring of our best services at all times, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

With best regards,

R. Sritharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel was the best we stayed in in the South of India. We stayed in a luxury suite which was amazing, clean, modern and the staff were very efficient and catered to our needs. I am very particular about cleanliness and I have to say the bathroom ticked all the boxes!
Having seen the ordinary double / twin rooms there was a big difference in standard than the suites so it seems a bit like pot luck.

The area that the hotel is in Madurai is not one I would recommend to stay in, it is if you would like to visit the Temple (very impressive) and Ghandi museum.

Room Tip: Luxury Suite all the way!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxury_traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Nandagopal, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Our Esteemed Guests,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!!

Sincerely grateful to you for having taken your valuable time in posting review about our hotel in the Trip Advisor.

We have taken a note of your comments; it is our constant endeavor not only to get our customers satisfied in our standards but also to exceed the expectations of our valued guests by our dedicated and personalized services in all possible ways and means.

Looking forward to welcoming you to our Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

R. Sritharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Resort looked old and rustic and the approach road was not well maintained. However, the service and Hospitality makes up for this. We stopped over for lunch on our road trip from Bangalore to Trivandrum and return. It was a pleasant surprise to to find a good resort for a quick break. The coffee shop staff was extremely courteous and Chef Srinivasan went out of his way to prepare a great lunch for us at short notice, though they were not open for lunch at that time. The food was excellent and comparable to the best five star restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MathewsCherian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Nandagopal, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!!

We are delighted to note that you had a peaceful and relaxing stay at Heritage Madurai.
We are thankful to you for your wonderful feedback sharing your experiences of peaceful, relaxing and pleasant stay you had here through Trip Advisor.

We are also grateful to you for having highly compliments of our restaurant staffs, food and specifically for Chef Seenivasan recommendation your comments have been shared with our team. While taking your positive comments on board, we truly value your feedback that will enable us to know how our services are evaluated and where attention and improvement are required to get our Valued Customers satisfied in accomplishing our commitment towards Customers Satisfaction. We will certainly try our best to improve on the aspects as suggested by you in your valuable review.

Assuring of our best services at all times, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

R. Sritharan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
2.2 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
1.9 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Kadambavanam Ethnic Resort
Kadambavanam Ethnic Resort
#14 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.2 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Madurai

Property: Heritage Madurai
Address: 11 Melakkal Main Road, Madurai 625016, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madurai
#2 Spa Hotel in Madurai
#3 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Madurai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Heritage, Welcome to Madurai.A resort, one hundred years in the making, in the heart of a city that grew from drops of nectar that flowed from the locks of Shiva, as legend would have us believe.Enter the gates of the 17-acre resort, and experience the Madurai of distant past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Madurai Hotel Madurai
Heritance Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing