We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and grounds”
Review of Heritage Madurai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heritage Madurai
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this hotel and were very pleased with it. We had deluxe suites which came with a small private plunge pool. The room itself was beautiful as was the bathroom. Food was okay but is agree with the other reviewer who said staff in the restaurant are a bit slow on the ball. Nothing major, just takes a bit to get drink.

The only real negative was being pressed by the housekeeping staff to write a letter for them just as I was checking out. Both the pool attendant and room cleaner came up to me as I was having my luggage collected and went so far as to give me some paper to write down that I was pleased with how the room was cleaned and then followed me to try to get me to include their names.

Otherwise, a great hotel. I would recommend it for anyone visiting Madurai

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank RJDemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Nandagopal, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!!

We are delighted to know that, you had wonderful and enjoyable stay in our hotel.

It is unfortunate that you were unhappy about some elements of your stay and we apologies for any gaps that happened from our side.we truly value our customers’ feedback that will help us to improvise on our services as well as to enhance the product quality by bestowing a little more attention to detail in our ultimate aim of achieving the Customer’s Satisfaction in this competitive field of hospitality.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards,

Ravindranath Sattur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel has great potential but unfortunately needs money spending on it to bring it up to standard.Wonderful size rooms with bathrooms and Lovley plunge pool but in need of complete refurbishment and a lot of TLC! The staff are in need of proper training.Their attitude in a lot of cases is not suited to the western traveller.They look scruffy and their uniforms are soiled.The staff on reception seem to have no idea about greeting you and have a real don't care attitude.Our room attendant was Sami and I must say he was great.He did everything I asked of him.The common ares are run down, the dining area needs new tables and chairs, all of the table ate are stained and it is not pleasant.The gardens all need attention, .We had a villa with a plunge pool but only 1sun lounger, a bit daft when it is a room for two.This seems to be in keeping with the whole of Southern India which is such a pity as it is wonderful and could be amazing.

Room Tip: We had 2304 very near to reception and dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b80bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Nandagopal, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!!!

Thanks for sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor

We always believe our team (Staff - Mr. Sami) is our primary strength.

We have noted on your comments and we will address the areas need improvement .We always open to suggestions As a customer you have every right to expect the best standard of service from our Hotel we shall ensure that we sincerely strive hard to our best to get our customers satisfied in our services.

Looking forward to welcoming you to our Hotel again in the near future and with kind regards

Ravindranath Sattur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Having decided to fly to Madurai to see the famous creation of Rajah Rajah I the choice was between this and the Taj group place on the hill. Both were former enclaves of the British Raj. Having decided on this we were not disappointed as our room was in a block reached through lovely grounds and was very large with all facilities. The staff were great and communications by email to organise the booking direct went efficiently. It seems that they can organise most things ! The restaurant staff were a little shall we say dreamy and not always "on the ball" even when few people were in the dining room. However we enjoyed the buffet breakfast ...eventually.. and one evening enjoyed a meal with an Indian wedding reception following. All very glam and fun with musicians and dancers sent down from Rajasthan. The pool was used and the attendant was almost bending over backwards to help with extra towels or moving loungers. Obtaining a beer did take some time but was in no hurry. One nice touch..in the room was a tube of anti Mozzie cream which was used although did not seem totally necessary however sure they do get around. WiFi in room worked and after our leaving we went up to see the Gateway TAJ hotel which is on top of a hill overlooking the city and which housed as I said Raj types in comfort. Having arrived at reception we asked if could take a look around and were given garlands and asked if we could sit in the main lounge which presumably used be a sort of club room and bar. thinking that someone was going to come and help we waited and after several minutes decided just to wander around the grounds and after 15 minutes left. Nobody was in view and perhaps the staff went back to sleep. Of the 2 places to stay in Madurai I would certainly choose Heritage again although I am a Taj Inner Circle member.

Room Tip: all rooms are different and ours was in a block formerly made into housing for the British village...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Nandagopal, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!!

We are delighted to know that you had wonderful and enjoyable stay in our hotel.

We are indeed grateful to you for your excellent review posted in Trip Advisor. We, the entire team at Heritage Madurai get rejuvenated by your nice compliments and it is always our earnest endeavor to fulfill the requirements of our esteemed guests to their complete satisfaction.

We would also take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks again to you for having recommended to other travelers for their stay in our resort when they visit to Madurai.

Eagerly looking forward to your next visit soon,

Kind Regards,

Ravindranath Sattur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent two nights here in February 2014, and it was the best hotel we stayed in during our two week trip across southern India.

We had a "standard" room which was attached to the main building - it was huge with a big double bed and plenty of space to spread out. The bathroom was also big with a walk in shower and designer sink area. The only downside for the room was that it was a bit dark, but having said that we spent most of the day in town so not really an issue. Made extensive use of the free wifi, which worked well both in the room and in the restaurant area.

We didn't have any evening meals here but breakfast was OK (buffet style). The pool was great - it is a nice peaceful area to relax in and the pool is just about large enough to swim in. Staff seemed friendly enough and service was good - as you would expect in this level of hotel.

The location is a bit far out of town (a 15 minute tuktuk ride) and is on a busy road, but once inside the hotel area it feels very quiet and calm.

Had difficulty booking a room initially as the hotel said they were full, but ended up getting a room with no problem via Booking.com.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Bogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Nandagopal, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Heritage Madurai!!!

We are pleased to see your lovely review about our hotel in the Trip Advisor.

We sincerely thank you for having appreciated our hotel, pool, food and staff which gives us more strength and energy in our endeavor to achieve the customers satisfaction from one and all.

Looking forward to welcoming and meeting you at Heritage Madurai again.


With warm regards.

Ravindranath Sattur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

good Location and huge rooms. An oasis in the Vibrant City of Madurai. As stated in other Reviews.. plounge pool was full of leaves.. but difficult cuze of the garden etc.

Food and Service is very good. Friendly Staff and def. will go back when in Madurai.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarnentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Nandagopal, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!!!

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

Assuring of our best services at all times, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Ravindranath Sattur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We spent one night at the Heritage in January 2014 as part of a 30 day tour of South India. The room was of a very high standard: spacious, well-equipped and befitted from its own private plunge-pool. Service and food in the restaurant were equally good. Free WiFi was available in the room but the bandwidth was limited. Lighting in the room was very subdued and better lighting is needed. Additionally, there were many mosquitoes in the room and bathroom and although spray was provided on request it would have been better to equip all rooms with spray. Nonetheless,this is a good hotel and would recommend. Room tip: avoid rooms located close to the busy main road.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms located close to the busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Nandagopal, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!!

At the outset we would like to greatly appreciate you for your instant review of our property.

We earnestly consider our customer’s feedback is a pointer in raising the bar of standards to the ultimate world class hospitality in our services. While taking your valuable feedback on board, we would always try our best to keep up our commitment towards our esteemed customers to give individually the degree of BEHE- Best Ever Heritage Experience.

Thank you so much for your recommendation, looking forward to welcome you to our hotel again in your next visit.

Thank you,

Ravindranath Sattur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed in a bungalow styled room , they have great service and a beautiful property. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are the best designed I've seen in a long time. Lovelly showers. The plunge pools however do get a lot of leaves in them and it would be nice it they had a better filtration system.

But they stay was great the service was excellent and the general atmosphere of the Heritage is awesome. I would definitely recommend this place

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the premises as the closer the room is to the gate they noisier t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dthmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Nandagopal, Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!!!

On behalf of the Heritage team, we would like to thank you for posting your moments of stay during your recent stay with us.

We are delighted and grateful of having you as one of our valuable guest and very much looking forward to welcome you back in the very near future.

Please feel free to contact us for future requirements and we will be more than happy to assist you.

Warm Regards,

Ravindranath Sattur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
3.5 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#1 of 57 in Madurai
645 reviews
2.2 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 57 in Madurai
432 reviews
1.9 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 57 in Madurai
239 reviews
2.2 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#7 of 57 in Madurai
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Madurai

Address: 11 Melakkal Main Road, Madurai 625016, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madurai
#3 Spa Hotel in Madurai
#3 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price Range: £57 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Madurai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Heritage, Welcome to Madurai.A resort, one hundred years in the making, in the heart of a city that grew from drops of nectar that flowed from the locks of Shiva, as legend would have us believe.Enter the gates of the 17-acre resort, and experience the Madurai of distant past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heritage Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Madurai Hotel Madurai
Heritance Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing