We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Madurai and stay at Heritage Madurai Resort”
Review of Heritage Madurai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Madurai
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trip to Madurai and stay at Heritage Madurai Resort”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The trip was excellent. The resort Heritage Madurai offered an excellent stay for two days. I rate it valued for money. This can be recommended for decent stay in a small city like Madurai and quality of food is also excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank S S S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor.

Its is our pleasure to have such a positive feedback.We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay and pleased with service.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
91 97900 27792
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    444
    131
    43
    19
See reviews for
348
502
56
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on January 3, 2014 night. We arrived traveling on road from Rameswaram and front-desk staff was very courteous as well as efficient in processing the paper work and also offered a wlecome drink! The cottage-style room was very spacious with trendy amenities. The bathroom was slightly above average but nothing special to note. The ambiance and walking around the property was highly relaxing and pleasing. The dinner buffet at the restaurant was somewhat dissapointing. There was a noisy 'birthday party'/celebration going on by a large group and food at the buffet line was irregularly filled/served. Some pots were empty for long and we had to request staff to provide us replenishment. The staff was efficient and chef himself came over, apologizing for missing dishes and broght freshly prepared hot items for us; one of them was 'chicken 65' which was delicious. However, it is possible that we may have arrived late for dinner and 'popular' dishes were on short supply at that time. I have no major qualms about it. Next morning's breakfast was excellent and numerous varieties were offered. Overall, we were satisfied with the services and ambiance of the hotel and certainly recommend others to try staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
91 97900 27792
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

First a clarification - we did not stay in this hotel, just visited the restaurant. On our way to Kodaikanal, we were looking for a decent place that was not a conventional South Indian "meals hotel". Stumbled upon this place by accident. The restaurant is set in a nice property, and has an excellent ambiance. The menu offers a large number of choices - ready to meet all kinds of demands. Surprisingly, every item is well made and is served with care. Therefore, I have no specific recommendation on what to choose.

It takes a small detour to reach this place, opposite the Passport Office, if one is traveling from the Madurai airport to Kodaikanal. If your cab driver makes a fuss, placate him with some extra money - because this place is really worth the trouble.

PS: We liked it so much that we stopped on our way back too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aalochak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I booked this hoted based on the reviews in Trip Advisor. I was not disappointed. The check-in was easy with some refreshing drink. The architecture was nice. Resort had a magnificient space. It is spread across 17 acres of land. It was pleasant to hear birds chirping as I don't hear them nowadays in Chennai.Fresh breath of air.

The room was spacious and comfortable. Special mention to the staffs who were very kind and courteous. My kids had a great time especially at the pool. Gym was good.

The breakfast was excellent with lot of choices. My only complaint was the coffee as it didn't meet my expectation.

Overall, I had a relaxing break from my busy routine. I would definitely recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamil Nadu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We visited this place during the month of June 2014 and really enjoyed our stay. The swimming pool is a blessing for the Madurai Heat. The staff were very friendly and courteous.

The only drawback is that the vehicles are not allowed to go right up to the rooms however they do have battery cars to transport guests.

Overall was very happy with the Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose close to the Reception and Restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaybros123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days and have only wonderful things to share. Quaint cottages with an old-worldly charm, wonderful set of staff, eye-pleasing greenery, outstanding spa services and the best complimentary breakfast we've ever had, and oh before I forget the cute buggy which transports you around..all of it is awesome!! This is your place to go if you are looking for a relaxed retreat from the hustle bustle of city life! Our family has lived away from India for so many years now, that we were pleasantly surprised to see such courteous staff ..kudos to the management!

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe club rooms which were really good..but maybe we will try the luxury villas n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpthambi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karur, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed there with my kids for 2 days..It was a very good break for me after a long year..My son enjoyed the plunge pool to the max..As we had a small baby they provided the room near the reception..pool has to be cleaned atleast twice a day due to all dry leaves.There was no bath towels n floor mats as we checked in. Too much mosquitos in the location..Overall it was a good stay..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VishnuPriya_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
2.2 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
1.9 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Kadambavanam Ethnic Resort
Kadambavanam Ethnic Resort
#16 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.2 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Madurai

Property: Heritage Madurai
Address: 11 Melakkal Main Road, Madurai 625016, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madurai
#2 Spa Hotel in Madurai
#3 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Madurai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Heritage, Welcome to Madurai.A resort, one hundred years in the making, in the heart of a city that grew from drops of nectar that flowed from the locks of Shiva, as legend would have us believe.Enter the gates of the 17-acre resort, and experience the Madurai of distant past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Madurai Hotel Madurai
Heritance Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing