We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great find”
Review of Heritage Madurai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Madurai
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This property is situated in large well maintained grounds, with an onsite stunning pool, gym, spa, cultural village full of local birds, onsite temple and the effect is simply beautiful. The rooms are extremely well sized and very comfortable. The restaurant serves very good food and the bar does great cocktails. There is free wifi in the reception.Madurai itself is very interesting ..particularly recommend the Meenakshi temple at night, the palace, Gandhi museum and walking along its crowded charming streets. I one thing that was lacking was Indian music/dance which was present in a similar resort I stayed in years ago called the Sterling Swamimalai near Kumbakonam. This would have made this place perfect. I will visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sankes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2011

Pluses

Quiet location-- a nice break from the noise and congestion of Madurai.
Close to everything
Comfortable bed
Good food in restaurant
Staff are helpful

Minues

Lots of mosquitos at night. The staff are trying hard to fight them but it's a tough battle.

Open air bathrooms. You have to walk outside the bedroom to use the toilet. Lots of mosquitos in the bath area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This hotel is luxury for india.
Beautiful rooms, attentive service, great pool and good food.
There's not a great deal more in Madurai than the temples, so we has a luxurious restful three days at the heritage.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeneralDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I must congratulate the management and staff of Heritage Madurai for a memorable time I had at the hotel. I have been touring India for some time and I am yet to come across a hotel in India with such character and superb service. I was spellbound with the spacious room and my very own private pool, which is undoubtedly fit for a queen. The selection of food both in quantity and quality surpassed all my expectations and would rate it the best I have had. I wish you all the very best and looking forward to visit the hotel in the near future

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellydavid89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed here a few nights to have a break from backpacking. It was a real delight!

The rooms are really nights and the beds outstandingly comfy. The architecture of this boutique hotel is really nice and we enjoyed a few relaxing hours at the pool and in the gym. They offer a nice breakfast buffet with tasty western and indian options.

Hot shower and Wifi worked very well.

It is a nice spot to flee from the bustle of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a-million-miles-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

It really wants to be great but doesn't quite make it. We arrived on the 24th of december and were upgrated to a suite. Our suite was very big, but with lots of empty space, the furniture didn't fill the place. The bed was nice and comfortable. We had a terrace, looking towards a water tank and earth. It lacks the taste.
I definitely recommend to eat in the town, the food is much nicer and much cheaper. The christmas dinner was 2500 Rs per person and a huge disappointment! You do need a car or cap to go to the temple, but that is almost everywhere in India!
In any case is a good hotel for a couple of nights and Madurai is amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvestrito48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Heritage Madurai!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and also you pleased with facilities & ambiance.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Hospitably Yours,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

A pleasant and hotel in a relaxing location. Temple tank pool is the highlight. Rooms are comfortable but lack a bath. South Indian breakfast is excellent and staff are generally well-meaning. Major problem is the terrible racket starting at 4.00 a.m. each morning. Apparently this emanates from a temple next door and may be limited to the month of December. Probably a good ideea to steer clear during this month.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank pushkarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHeritage, General Manager at Heritage Madurai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings of the day!!!

While we thank you for taking out your time to voice your concerns, we are extremely sorry for all the inconveniences caused to you during your stay at our hotel.

It is really unfortunate that that we have not come up to your expectations and we are very much concerned about your stay and experience with us. We have taken up your issues with the concerned department heads for taking necessary steps for rectifying them.

We sincerely invite you to visit to our hotel again to experience the real Heritage Hospitality that is being cherished by most of our esteemed customers.

Thanks & Regards,

Gopalakrishnan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
3.5 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#1 of 57 in Madurai
644 reviews
2.2 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 57 in Madurai
431 reviews
1.9 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 57 in Madurai
239 reviews
2.2 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#7 of 57 in Madurai
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Madurai

Address: 11 Melakkal Main Road, Madurai 625016, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madurai
#3 Business Hotel in Madurai
#3 Spa Hotel in Madurai
Price Range: £57 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Madurai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Heritage, Welcome to Madurai.A resort, one hundred years in the making, in the heart of a city that grew from drops of nectar that flowed from the locks of Shiva, as legend would have us believe.Enter the gates of the 17-acre resort, and experience the Madurai of distant past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Madurai Hotel Madurai
Heritance Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing