We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Experience on 23rd March”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of TTDC Tamil Nadu II

TTDC Tamil Nadu II
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madurai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TTDC Tamil Nadu II
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Thane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bad Experience on 23rd March”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Overall Large property and courteous staff
Restaurant was not operational , could not get tea in hotel.
I had to walk 1 km for dinner.
Sleep was exremely uncomfortable.
Had to request 4 times to get confirmation on cab booking

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMITGUPTA70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    13
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
3
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed in this Hotel in the month of Feb 2013. Horel is just walking distance from the Railway station and very near to Meeankshi Temple . There is lot of problem of Electricity ,generator is there but starts quiet after some time . A small restaurant is there with scanty service. Rooms are well maintained .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chaitanyaEindohven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed in this Hotel in 1st week of Feb'13 for 2 nights. Rooms are clean and specious. Location of Hotel is very good.
However for Breakfast or lunch or dinner better go out to some Hotel new Sri Sabareesh (not old one which is also near) or Hotel Maroogan Idle. All are at walkable distance.
.....Mohan

Room Tip: Very good Hotel at excellent location. In spite of Govt. Hotel staff is supportive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Contactlele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
480 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 939 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

i stayed here in the month of December for 2 nights, big rooms..clean with very basic amenities like tv cupboards, writing table etc...washrooms are clean..clean linens and bedding. Value for money..food is okay type with less items in menu..extra active staff and service....hotel is located in the city.. 5 kms from bus stand and railway station as well as 16 kms from airport..meenakshi temple is almost 4 kms..auto will charge 60 rs. This hotel is near to kappalur industrial area , almost 20 kms..good for those who wants to visit there. i will recommend this hotel for single travelers specially for business trip.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms are good but with little noise of vehicles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalbahadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had a one-night stay here. The room was ready and clean when we arrived. The room is very spacious. The bathroom was clean and well maintained. Hot water availability was good. The service staff is courteous. They cater to basic requests promptly, like extra towels, mosquito coil at night. I would like to note one incident, that he came with mosquito coil without the stand and when kept on the ground, the coil extinguishes. So I went downstairs and requested them to give me a stand. Maybe they didn't have a stand to give, so the reception person gave me the coil stand that he was using at the reception. I appreciate this hospitality towards guests. There is ample parking space around the property. There is a brand new elevator. The restaurant downstairs serves a decent south indian meal for very less price, but for some reason, I hardly saw any guests there (Maybe there's too much better choice for food in Madurai).

On the morning of checkout, our cab driver for further-south-trip (that I had remotely booked over the phone 3 weeks prior) cancelled at the last moment citing illness. The lady receptionist was able to arrange a cab promptly within half an hour at almost the same price (with some premium of course). This helped lessen the inconvenience caused by last-minute cancellation of our cab driver.

I wish to note one thing that this hotel is located 4 to 5 kms from the Meenakshi temple/Railway station area. Auto charges 100 bucks one way to the temple. There are ambassador taxi drivers who offer 1-way drop to the temple for 150 bucks, and keep soliciting you when you step out of the hotel. I think the receptionist has their number too.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. This was my first stay at a TTDC hotel and I am impressed.

Tip: If you have a senior citizen travelling with you, try to book the room in his/her name, as TTDC gives 20% senior citizen discount. (I was not aware of that when I booked the hotel)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ftp1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siliguri, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

A surprise to see a govt property of this standard. Extremely good ambience, very supporting staff, good hospitality. Rooms very neat and clean, large and cosy. Toilets very well maintained. Comparable to any 3 star hotels. I booked it online and was surprised to get a very warm welcome. Meenakshi temple is not very far away. I suggest people to try this hotel instead of flocking to the high rated ones. You get your moneys worth.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kantajassu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

we stayed in this hotel in third week of october,2012. Accommodation in Madurai-II is very good. It is very neat and clean. Ambience is good. Reception is very helpful. I have booked this hotel online from their website. I have gone to see temples and planned to reach the hotel at 12.00 Noon. I have taken permission from the reception to check out at 12.00 noon even though check out time of hotel is 10 AM. But I could reach the hotel at 1.45 PM. ie. 3.45 hours extra time. Madam in the reception has accepted to provided that much grace time.
Before going to TTDC hotels, I had a doubt in my mind ie. whether they maintain NON AC rooms neat or not. My observation after going to TTDC hotels of Madurai and Kanyakumari is that NON AC rooms are also good. One need not spend money unnecessarily for AC rooms in winter season.

Food in the TTDC-II, Madurai is very bad. If one wants to stay in this hotel, he has to find an alternative for food. Your purse will become empty in spite of having the tasteless food. Options for food items are also few in this hotel.
Hotel is not near to railway station or bus stand.
Suggest to stay in this hotel. But for food, you should find an alternative.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AdvocateVBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#22 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Boopathi
Hotel Boopathi
#49 of 55 in Madurai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#35 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MMR Gardens
MMR Gardens
#16 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#24 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rani Mangammal Recidencies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TTDC Tamil Nadu II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TTDC Tamil Nadu II

Property: TTDC Tamil Nadu II
Address: Alagar Koil Road, Madurai 625002, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing