We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family tour to Tamilnadu”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Star Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Star Residency
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family tour to Tamilnadu”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Hotel Star Residency was very good place for stay. Good service, food and approachable. Entire staff team was very helpful and supportive. Front desk executives were able to understand and communicate well in English. As per my requirement, extra movable bed was provided. Normally hotels put the mattress on the floor when asked for extra bed.

I recommend the hotel.

Regards - Naveen Sharma (+91 9819279888)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USMU9449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    63
    45
    12
    9
See reviews for
64
31
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The stay was not comfortable. The room which we and my parents were allotted was stinking foul. The linen was stained and was requested to be changed. The property does not provide complimentary water bottle and when we asked for it,a jug full of RO water was supplied to us!When we said that the same hotel in Thanjavur provides the same complimentary,to which we were replied that its a company policy, hence cannot amend it!! To add further to the experience,when we switched the electric kettle on,the room's power turned off due to short circuiting.The floor manager tried numerous other kettles to prove that it was the issue with the kettle and not the electrical plug and wiring,but he failed miserably again n again!When we complained about the foul smell,he informed that the AC servicing has been done and hence we had to turn the AC off to avoid the smell.When we requested to change the change the room we were denied saying its full.Finally we had to call our tour operator for resolving the issues.After almost more than 2 hours of check in,we were finally provided a double room set which had comparatively less of smell and hence we could turn the AC on. And then complimentary water and tea were almost arranged for us!!The only thing which the hotel excels others is the food taste and the food services in the restaurant.Also,the staff atleast was courteous in talking,though they were slow in response.All in all,not a delightful stay and hence not recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aahuja29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

No much difference between Grand Executive rooms and Premium rooms. Room service need to be quicker. Courteous staff. Near to Temple, railway station, and bus stand. Overall, a pleasant stay. Great thanks to Hotel Staffs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Harish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel was a good value for money. It is little away from the railway station and main temple but that's why the surroundings are not as messy as in the town.

The breakfast was good and tasty. The rooms were clean and nicely done.

The manager was kind enough and promptly arranged for a vehicle for our 2 days trip to Rameshwaram with a very cheap deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Good place to stay with value for money. Everything was good but couldn't find the minibar as described during booking. Good food, clean toilets, rooms and surroundings, good breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Shiyamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Its a very nice hotel. Rooms, staff and food is very nice.
Location is a bit far away from Railway station but that fine.
I checked out early morning and they still gave me packed breakfast which was included in the package.
Overall very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhagesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in June'13. I booked through a travel website at the last minute and got a a very good discount.

The Premium room was way beyond my expectation - very clean, good interiors, decor, mini-fridge (but no tea/coffee maker), wardrobe, safe, big flat TV, writing desk, chair, sofa, centre table, double curtains, good light fittings, efficient a/c. Bed and linen were clean, sleep quality after a long day's sighseeing was peaceful.

Bathroom was very clean and hygienic with complimentary toiletries and kits. The fittings and fixtures were of very good quality both in the room and bathroom.

Complimentary b/f was the best we ever had in quite a while - huge variety and quite tasty too. Couldn't have enough of it :)

They have 24 hour checkin/checkout policy which was helpful. Front-office staff was quite polite and helpful and checkin/checkout was smooth.

Housekeeping service was quite efficient and prompt. They would come within a few minutes of calling.

They have an open roof-top restaurant where we had dinner - quite an experience that.

For the discounted price we paid, all this was just fantastic VFM!

The hotel is not within walking distance from the temple so you need to hire a auto for that. Autos are available aplenty outside the hotel.

The only pain point was that the housekeeping staff kept banging the door of the store room on our floor very frequently. Quite a racket! Someone needs to tell them to close the door softly without disturbing the guests.

Would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Madurai.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are preferable to get a good view and minimise the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhijit_roy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.3 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Northgate
Hotel Northgate
#14 of 55 in Madurai
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#7 of 55 in Madurai
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
The SPK Hotel
The SPK Hotel
#11 of 55 in Madurai
98 reviews
0.9 mi away
MMR Gardens
MMR Gardens
#16 of 55 in Madurai
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Residency

Property: Star Residency
Address: & 44 No 43 Star Residency Collector Office Road | near Anna bus stand, Aravind Eye Hospital, Madurai 625020, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing