We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay”
Review of Star Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Star Residency
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Pune, India
1 review
“good place to stay”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The hotel is good, rooms are spacious. But the doors are old fashioned. On internet it said that the internet/wifi is free in room, but hotel charged me Rs. 100 per day for 3 days. They said, they had already informed cleartrip about it, but this is not changed in website.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Keshav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    65
    45
    13
    9
See reviews for
65
33
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here as part of a G Adventures tour. We were greeted with flowers and refreshments - a nice touch. The rooms were good. Comfortable but there was a Hindu festival occuring at a nearby temple which was really loud and apparently will go on for a month. The music from the festival starts at 5am! No fault of the hotel, of course but it did affect our stay. The restaurant food was just ok. Internet is chargeable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macinng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

One of the best hotel that I have stayed in India.Had a good stay in this hotel. Staffs were very helpful, and friendly. Very down to earth and always there to help.

My bag was lost during my journey from Madurai to Kanyakumari, had to call back this hotel to check with them. What surprised me was they went up to the level of cheeking their CCTV to clarify the issue. End of the day, my bag was misplaced by the hotel staff of Kanyakumari. Yet, the consideration that the had, really inspired me.

Located near to the bus stop and mid of the city. You can almost get everything from the place this hotel is being located, sundry shops, fruits stalls, road side stalls (mostly selling idly), restaurants (check out on Rajeswary Restaurant).

Food served in the restaurant were tasty and fast service as well. Variety of food provided during breakfast, should try their pomegranate juice.

Rooms are big, clean and comfortable. Necessary kit set are provided as well. A good place to stay with family and children.

Room Tip: Corner suites are a little noisy due to auto and bike horn sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurnimaJaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed in this hotel with family on a temple trip. Excellent service and cleanliness~ Extra bed was also provided on request. Room service and the bar was amazing and price worthy. Located in the mid of the city and easy to reach too. Highly recommended to stay with family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jovemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here- rooms are updated and air-conditioned. Beds are SO comfortable (some of the best so far in India we've experienced). Staff were so-so, lunch was delicious, and breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meryoungson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Hotel Star Residency was very good place for stay. Good service, food and approachable. Entire staff team was very helpful and supportive. Front desk executives were able to understand and communicate well in English. As per my requirement, extra movable bed was provided. Normally hotels put the mattress on the floor when asked for extra bed.

I recommend the hotel.

Regards - Naveen Sharma (+91 9819279888)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USMU9449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The stay was not comfortable. The room which we and my parents were allotted was stinking foul. The linen was stained and was requested to be changed. The property does not provide complimentary water bottle and when we asked for it,a jug full of RO water was supplied to us!When we said that the same hotel in Thanjavur provides the same complimentary,to which we were replied that its a company policy, hence cannot amend it!! To add further to the experience,when we switched the electric kettle on,the room's power turned off due to short circuiting.The floor manager tried numerous other kettles to prove that it was the issue with the kettle and not the electrical plug and wiring,but he failed miserably again n again!When we complained about the foul smell,he informed that the AC servicing has been done and hence we had to turn the AC off to avoid the smell.When we requested to change the change the room we were denied saying its full.Finally we had to call our tour operator for resolving the issues.After almost more than 2 hours of check in,we were finally provided a double room set which had comparatively less of smell and hence we could turn the AC on. And then complimentary water and tea were almost arranged for us!!The only thing which the hotel excels others is the food taste and the food services in the restaurant.Also,the staff atleast was courteous in talking,though they were slow in response.All in all,not a delightful stay and hence not recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aahuja29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#24 of 54 in Madurai
124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
180 reviews
1.9 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
199 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Sree Devi
Hotel Sree Devi
#17 of 54 in Madurai
8 reviews
1.5 mi away
Moskva Hotel
Moskva Hotel
#11 of 54 in Madurai
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Residency

Property: Star Residency
Address: 44 No 43 Star Residency Collector Office Road | near Anna bus stand, Aravind Eye Hospital, Madurai 625020, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Star Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing