We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of TM Lodge

TM Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madurai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TM Lodge
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Shellharbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed one night at TM Lodge. It's conveniently located between train station and the main attraction, the temple. It has good atmosphere, even though the room was a bit run down. But it was clean and I had a tiny balcony with a rooftop view. The constant noise from the street was very audible during the daytime, but quieted down for the night. For 500INR/night this was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElmoEnsio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    11
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
12
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We Stayed in this hotel for two days.Rooms were clean.Beds and Toilet also was clean.Even though flooring is old in the hotel room but was maintained neatly.Reception staff is helpful.This hotel has an advantage is that its adjacent to the Good vegetarian restuarant 'Sabareesh'.Hotel is nearer to railway station and Periyar busstand.Its walkable distance to Madurai Temple also.Overall our stay is pleasant within our budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjdsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Madurai is a quiet city in Tamil Nadu, less touched by the West's grey paint of industrialisation than most other parts of the country. You could only buy alcohol through small, barred, literal holes in the wall, and while most Australian's might find this near enforced sobriety an ordeal, I felt it gave credence to Madurai's passionate Hindu population. It also made it more exciting to pass a bottle of port, the only labelled and convincingly sealed alcohol available, around our group of four. Widely considered one of India's most beautiful temples, Meenakshi Amman towered more than 50 metres above the city, the thousands of intricately, rainbow painted deities composing the structure lit up by bright spotlights all throughout the night. It was midnight, and my legs dangled off the rooftop as I watched a cow sleep in the centre of the highway below.

The TM lodge was not the nicest hotel in Madurai; but it was certainly the cheapest. A five person bedroom cost less than $7AUD a night. Blankets were provided but a necessary means of plugging the gaps between windows and doors, through which various creepers and crawlers would otherwise emerge. We were on the sixth floor of the hotel, and while we had to spend sweaty minutes of climbing each day; Ben, Stefan, Seb and I had the added bonus of our own personal rooftop. It was winter, and on the few occasions the sun came out we spread our bug shields on the roof in a ghetto picnic from which to watch the human, bovine and vehicle actors of the Madurai metropolis.

Restaurants were closed by eight and most streetlights were out in the hour following, so our small group of Australians were left to the confines of the roof-outhouse's roof. Management either never went upstairs or didn't care, because we spent at least a quarter of our time in Madurai there. You could swig cheap alcohol, sip chair or smoke as you hung your legs over the side of the building, kicking its sides with your heels. But you couldn't sleep there. The mosquitoes and rats made sure of that.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

we stayed at this hotel for two nights and it was quite ok for the price we paid.
It's located near the railway station and near the temples. It's not perfectly clean and the service is average, but for 2 nights we were satisfied with the stay.
Certainly you should avoid the laundry service which is way too expensive.
Budget hotel, with budget service

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mjoellnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karad
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Our stay at Tm lodge, Madurai was on 18 th May for 1 Night. This hotel is nice location. Just 5 minutes walking distance for famous Meenakshi Temple & shooping area.Rooms was average.Room service was poor.Hot water for bath not available.Our guests take bath with cold water. But as per room teriif, cost, hotel is OK. A plus point was just near the hotel there is a fine vegetarian restaurant. We enjoy Tea/Coffee,Breakfast,lunch & dinner there.We got tasty food . when you are looking for budget, economic rooms then TM lodge is OK.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MohanR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.2 mi away
Prem Nivas Hotel
Prem Nivas Hotel
#32 of 54 in Madurai
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#36 of 54 in Madurai
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boopathi
Hotel Boopathi
#49 of 54 in Madurai
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#24 of 54 in Madurai
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Court
Royal Court
#5 of 54 in Madurai
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#27 of 54 in Madurai
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TM Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TM Lodge

Property: TM Lodge
Address: 50 69'th West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Number of rooms: 57

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing