We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ambiance and a great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome ambiance and a great place to relax”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Magnificent view to Madurai city and Meenakshi temple. Very relaxing place with lots of trees, cottage style rooms, independent buildings & lots of peacocks. No stress like staying in a hotel room where there are only walls and few windows. Being top of the hill, lots of fresh air and less pollution compare to a street level hotels & resorts. This place is great for business travelers and pleasure hunters who want to relax in the middle of nowhere but in the middle of everything which you don't want to miss. Awesome people, awesome chef and great food. They make any food you like with great care. Great place for family with children.Very much safe and secure.Exciting to go back again with family.

Room Tip: Ask for city view rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Mr.Siby,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for your compliments.

We are happy to know that you were delighted with the natural beauty, quality of food and services of the hotel.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to your visit along with your family to Madurai sometime soon.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    334
    86
    21
    5
See reviews for
313
299
83
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Awesome place to stay - conveniently located close to all temples, Meenakshi temple, Thirupurakundram etc, but away from the noise and congestion of the city. The hotel is on the top of small hill, offering panoramic views with lots of friendly peacocks. We saw one dancing right outside our room. The staff were extremely friendly and helped my daughter even feed the peacocks and squirrels. The breakfast was fantastic - don't miss the appam with coconut milk/stew, and keerai vadai. We stayed for 3 nights, and what made the stay most special was the warmth and hospitality of the staff. My particular thanks to Mr. Vin for his effort to make our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srividya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset, we thank you for selecting Gateway Madurai as the destinations for your stay in Madurai. It is a pleasure to receive your great feedback for the hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and especially loved the panoramic view of the city from the hotel, friendliness of our staff and the breakfast spread.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Were warmly welcomed by the staff on arrival with a welcome drink.We were upgraded to a very spacious and clean executive room.This hotel is a little away from the hustle and bustle of the town on a small hill which overlooks the town .Gardens are well maintained with plenty of named trees and bushes.Can also see plenty of peacocks .Rooms are cottage type.Buffet breakfast and dinner were of a high standard and good value for money.Chef was very helpful and obliged us in cooking some extra dishes to our liking.Even the catering manager was at hand to oversee that the dinner was to the clients liking.An extremely satisfying stay.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diljituppal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Mr.Uppal,

We thank you very much for staying with us and for the feedback. Thank you for appreciating the cleanliness in our rooms, quality of food and our well maintained gardens.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My family appreciated the stay in this hotel set out on a hill with lot of greenery. It was a good change from staying in a highrise hotel. the staff were very good and attentive to our needs. My parents appreciated the service from the reception on arrival till the time we departed with a special souvenir presented. Food was excellent; especially the morning breakfast with a variety for the vegetarians like us. We will definitely recommend to our friends and relatives to look out for stay in this hotel with spacious rooms. Walking around the slopey roads of the hotel was healthy and a nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Srinivasan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Mr.Srinivasan,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai !

It is a pleasure to receive your great feedback for the hotel and the team. On behalf of the team, we thank you very much for staying with us. We are delighted to know that you especially loved our buffet spread for breakfast, spacious rooms and the attention from our associates at the reception.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Set in lovely gardens on the top of a hill, with literally dozens of peacocks wandering around. The rooms are rather spread out, so it is a good walk to get to the restaurant etc. Good pool area with adequate shade. Good rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team from The Gateway Hotel, Pasumalai, Madurai, we thank you very much for your compliments.

We are happy to know that you were delighted with the natural beauty and the rooms of the hotel.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to your visit as well to Madurai in the future.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I happened to stay here during my official trip. Reached there at night, and it was beautiful to see the twinkling city down...this hotel is on a small hill. The surroundings were all green & quiet...looking at the beautiful ambience, i decided to get up early and explore the hotel next day morning. In the morning, i saw one of the best sights...there are so many peacocks in the property that you can easily come across one on the inside lanes, near pool, on top of any of the building...it is just beautiful!
The rooms are nice, spacious & with all latest facilities...i stayed in one of the cottages...beautiful..lot of privacy!
Undoubtedly, this is the best place to stay in Madurai...and surely, a nice weekend getaway for Coimbatore guys!

Room Tip: Go for cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmtmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset, we thank you for selecting Gateway Madurai as the destinations for your stay in Madurai. It is a pleasure to receive your great feedback for the hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and especially loved the privacy in the hotel and our spacious rooms.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I was travelling to Madurai to visit Meenakshi Temple with my family. When we drove up to Taj and saw the exotic location on a small hillside overlooking Madurai town, with all the greenery and peacocks moving about in the vast estate, we knew we were in for a fantastic time. The rooms were spread over a huge area, the whole estate was immaculately maintained, and the rooms were in very good condition, large and tastefully furnished. The swimming pool was very clean, we had a great time. The staff was very courteous, went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We would wake up in the morning to the cooing sounds of the male peacocks, and were treated to a fabulous sight on the second day of our stay-the dance of a male peacock. Taj Gateway is situated quite close to the Meenakshi Temple, and yet far from the bustle and noise of the town. Great place to stay, at reasonable tariff, awesome experience!

Room Tip: The hotel is on different levels, so for people who cannot walk the stairs easily, ask for a room ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellove57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devraj S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai !

It is a pleasure to receive your great feedback for the hotel and the team. On behalf of the team, we thank you very much for staying with us. We are delighted to know that you especially loved our spacious room, cleanliness and swimming pool.

It is the feedback from valued guests like yourself that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We look forward to having you return to Madurai and staying with us in the future as well.

Best regards,

Devraj Singh
General Manager
Devraj.singh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.5 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
4.6 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 54 in Madurai
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 54 in Madurai
197 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kadambavanam Ethnic Resort
Kadambavanam Ethnic Resort
#16 of 54 in Madurai
65 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Court
Royal Court
#5 of 54 in Madurai
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai

Property: The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
Address: No 40 T P K Road | Pasumalai Hill, Madurai 625004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hundred year-old celebrated colonial property is perched atop the Pasumalai hill, amidst 63 acres of landscaped gardens, colonial buildings and natural bliss. The hotel offers a panoramic view of the famous MeenakshiTemple, Madurai City and the Kodai hills. It is a 15-minute drive from the famous Meenakshi temple and City center. Accessible by road, air (Madurai Airport – 15 km) and train (Madurai Jn - 5 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing