We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is Small but convenient”
Review of Hotel Kaveri Mahal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madurai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kaveri Mahal
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We landed up at this hotel more by chance than design. In fact we were a bit lost finding another one and interestingly a bicycle mounted guide spotted us very quickly (which seems to be part of the business ) and guided us here. The approach roads are very narrow and congested as can be expected and it took me some effort to follow my guide and finally get to the hotel in the 8 PM traffic. Could be a bit of a stretch after a long drive especially in peak traffic...
The overall appearance of the hotel is neat and tidy but everything is small about this hotel; the reception, the corridors, the rooms , the parking... everything..
For a quick stay with an intent to visit the temple (10 minutes walk) and other nearby places, this is not bad. If you are driving in, there is no option but to leave the car keys at the hotel reception so that they can juggle around the vehicles in the small and busy annex parking lot, that's of course a risk.. No restaurant to my knowledge within the hotel but the staff is helpful and can get you some good food from a nearby hotel with a 30 minute notice..
If you plan to visit the Madurai Meenakshi temple, unlike early days, its more disciplined, regulated , secure, with an entry fee and a long wait most times...With a premium ticket we took close to 2 hours early morning...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krixs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Its a budget hotel, with pretty decent accommodation. The double a/c room we booked were a little too small, but clean overall and a big bathroom. The parking will be in their annexe with a few slots available. And as it is the roads near temple and the hotel are very narrow and crowded with cleanliness not really the buzzword :)

Inside the hotel its very clean and the staffs are very helpful, in terms of fulfilling any requests. Recommend this hotel for any budget stay near meenakshi temple.
OUr only grouse has been about the mattress quality - Very rugged and has hard edges that literally pokes & hurts your body. It also doesn't offer any decent back support.

Room Tip: Double a/c room , its value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ren0578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights last April. Although our double room was not huge, it had air conditioning and a clean ensuite shower room with a nice powerful shower. There was also a good sized TV on the wall with plenty of channels, including a few which showed news in English or showed English language films during the evening. The hotel felt very safe and secure with a man on the door (certainly during daylight hours) and, the reception was always manned. The price per night was approximately 1500 rupees per night and included a complimentary cup of tea in the morning. There was wifi though we found that we could only get online if we were sitting near the lift. However, there was a comfortable settee on our floor situated in the lobby around the lift. The hotel is well placed for visiting the Meenakshi Temple and for walking around the centre of Madurai where there are plenty of places to eat. Although we didn't know it when we first arrived, one advantage of the Kaveri Mahal was that you are entitled to stay for 24 hours rather than having to check out by 11am or 12 noon. As we checked in at 3pm, we didn't have to leave until 3pm on our day of departure which was a perfect time for catching our train at 4.15pm from Madurai station.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KChristou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

room and bathroom both are very clean....but not very spacious. Hotel is about 5 min walk from temple and railway station...and 10 min from bus stand. A double occupancy room will cost 1300+ tax (260) ...and you will also get complimentary bed tea / coffee ..with all necessary amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sanjana851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Kaveri Mahal Madurai is a budget hotel in Madurai. Its near to the Meenakshi temple. So Kaveri Mahal is a good option for a stopover in Madurai to visit the temple. Its located on a narrow street, so you won’t notice it from the main road while searching for a hotel. I met a local guide near the Hotel Tamil Nadu and he took me to this place. Its relatively new, so neat and clean. Car parking available in the next building and there will be security throughout. Road is narrow (it’s the same with almost all streets in Madurai).
Rooms are small. It has a LCD TV (and mostly Tamil channels). They have AC and Non-Ac option. There is no attached restaurant, but the room service will provide team and snacks. There is a good veg restaurant at walkable distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelAdvisor_AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed here with my partner for 1 night in July. The en suite room came with A/C and a TV and cost 990R (no reservation required). If you are in Madurai to see the Temple then the location is good as it is a five minute walk down the road. The room was nice and came with toothbrush etc but the bed was extremely hard.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Константин Р
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#26 of 54 in Madurai
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#38 of 54 in Madurai
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rani Mangammal Recidencies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#36 of 54 in Madurai
41 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Saratha Rajans
Hotel Saratha Rajans
#42 of 54 in Madurai
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#47 of 54 in Madurai
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaveri Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaveri Mahal

Address: 15 Perumal Teppakulum | Town Hall Road, South Circle, Madurai 625110, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: £12 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing