We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kathir Palace
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Hagen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Budget”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good place if travelling on a budget. Had a room wirhout daylight, but quite clean and with TV! The location is good, 5 minutes by foot to the west entrance of the temple.
Early checkin was no problem ... you can use the room for 24 hours then!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    28
    43
    14
    15
See reviews for
59
21
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rupnagar, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were on a 10 days long TN trip and landed on this hotel as our second destination. Horrible room (tiny as well), NO ventilation, super-small bathroom (could accommodate only 3/4th of a person). We both fell sick due to the dampness in the room. NEVER EVER recommend anyone to stay here. There are other nearby hotels which are better (e.g. MR International).

On a few positives: Near to Meenakshi Amman Temple (2-3 mins by walk), staffs were cooperative.

Room Tip: Worst hotel, DO NOT stay here at any cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anupamag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madurai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangalore, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 day just to visit the temple and its very close by. Rooms are very small and parking is very limited. only some two SUV's can fit in the hotel parking area and if that is full, you will have to park outside. Only advantage is its close to the temple. Rooms were just horrible, too very small. I wouldnt recommend unless your visit is purely to cover the temple and you wouldnt be staying longer. Breakfast served was ok and the food is not that great as they just opened the resaturant around that time i guess. Please read other reviews before booking.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank prash0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Let me start with Positive points followed by negative.
booking date :Between 7th June to 8th june 2014.
After checking out from a beautiful resort in munnar we checked into a hotel that is of a poor administration.

I was literally tired after driving from Munnar and when i reached the hotel please find the points that i have stated..Any body in my situation would have been irated and pistooffff.... but i did not open my mouth rather its better to post it in the Trip advisor so people after hearing the name Kathir Palace shouldnot think that its going to be a Royal treatment....
Positive : Near to Shopping bazaar (Town hall road) and walkable to Meenakshi Temple
Negative :Please donot prefer this hotel.They said they have car parking facility but in vain they have only cars for 3 max and that too basement car park with Bar. Car Parking >First preference they give to the regular bar customers and not to people who book the rooms with Kathir palace.They would ask you to park it in the road side in the dust and you will be able to park your vehicle only after 11:30 once they close the bar.Early morning around 6:30 am you will get a call from the reception asking to move the vehiicle to the roadside If you delay 15 minutes the room boy will ring the bell thrice in which my 1.6 months old son woke up and started crying.Very poor management. Food >> Complimentary breakfast sucks.Sad food .They don't have restaurant. A/C -Poor Ac .No proper maintainance

Room Tip: Please donot check in to this hotel if you are a family or couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sujoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Where to begin with this hotel?.. As soon as we arrived we booked a non AC room, went to it, and saw that there was no ventilation (check the windows photos, its a dungeon), so we wanted to change it for an AC room, it was the same, they just enabled it. As soon as we turned it on, A LOT of dust / dirt started coming out of it!
The room wasnt clean, the bathroom was awful (but had hot water). Internet was only for ONE device at a time and the signal was awful. Youtube and several other sites were blocked.
Then we wanted to have some lunch, but they told us that the restaurant was already closed. The next morning we went to have breakfast (included) and they told us to follow a BellBoy, which we did... they took us to an indian place (3 blocks away), where noone (not even the bellboy) spoke english, and they wanted us to have the breakfast there (forget about a western breakfast, or even knowing you were asking for! they didnt even have a menu).
I had breakfast, my GF didnt. When we returned to the hotel and asked for an explanation they told us that their restaurant was closed due to remodelations, and we were going to have breakfast there.
We ended up asking for a refund (to Agoda) and changing to another hotel. This was expensive compared to the other ones, and didnt offer anything.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff were helpful. Walking distance to meenakshi amman temple. Room was ok. Free wifi was good. Bathroom was clean. Didn't have breakfast as we had to leave early. 8am is late for breakfast. Locality is not that great.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RealBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Kathir Palace done everything we needed. Room was clean enough, shower half decent, TV and wifi in reception (but not in room). Checked in 6 hours early and didnt get charged. Bar next door is handy but really cold!!!! Very good location, about 150m from west gate of the temple. Stay here if only in Madurai for a night!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#24 of 54 in Madurai
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prem Nivas Hotel
Prem Nivas Hotel
#32 of 54 in Madurai
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boopathi
Hotel Boopathi
#49 of 54 in Madurai
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#27 of 54 in Madurai
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rani Mangammal Recidencies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kathir Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kathir Palace

Property: Hotel Kathir Palace
Address: 14 Hotel Kathir Palace Dhanappa Mudlai Street, Madurai 625001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kathir Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathir Palace, Madurai is a great budget option in the temple city. Offering uncompromising comfort and convenience, this hotel ensures that guests stay is hassle-free and pleasurable. Perfectly located close to the iconic Meenakshi Temple and railway station, this hotel is an ideal option for frequent travellers and pilgrims.Location: Kathir Palace is situated on Dhanappa Mudali Street. Places close to the hotel are Meenakshi Amman Temple (Approx. 0.5km) and Mariamman Temple (Approx. 4km). The beautiful Meenakshi Temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva and is an example of exemplary craftsmanship. This temple is thronged by many devotees during the annual festival in April-May. Other interesting places worth visiting are Alagar Kovil, Thenkarai Pond and Vandiyur Lake.Distance from Madurai International Airport: Approx. 12km Distance from Madurai Junction: Approx. 2kmHotel Features: Guests are offered convenience with room service, front desk, daily housekeeping, travel desk and 24-hour security. The conference hall and boardrooms are also offered to business travellers. The conference hall couples as a banquet hall as well which is an ideal venue for guests to arrange for social events. Its in-house restaurant is every foodie's delight. The restaurant serves Indian, Chinese, Continental, Tandoori and Mughlai cuisines. For enjoying a relaxing time amidst sophisticated ambience and sparkling cocktails, the bar is a great place.Rooms: Standard rooms, Premium rooms, Super Classic rooms, Classic rooms, Deluxe rooms Standard Non A/C are the multiple accommodation options offered at Kathir Palace. These air-conditioned rooms are simple in appeal and are ideal to experience home-like comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kathir Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing