We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to relax and enjoy the city”
Review of Hotel Sangam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sangam
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed 10 June 2009

In Madurai the temple city I find that the hotels close to the temple are very conjusted. Sangam though is around 20 mins by car to the Temple is a good place to stay and enjoy the city. It is located in Alagar koil road and very quiet and peaceful. The staff are very friendly. The swimmming pool is good. The restaurant is also very nice with vegetarian and Non Veg options.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KK7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2009

Restaurant service very slow but the food from A la carte wasn't too bad and reasonably priced.
No tea/coffee facilities in the room and after returning from a 12 hour sightseeing tour we found our rooms had not been cleaned. Lack of staff was the feeble excuse. The staff didn't appear to have much pride in their work or for the hotel and everything appeared to be too much trouble. It took twenty minutes to change a travellers cheque as the poor receptionist had a thousand and one jobs to cope with.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garethannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

I stayed for one night during a tour of southern India. The hotel is reasonably situated but the food is pretty average and I would not like to see the kitchens if our room was anything to go by.
A tap by the lavatory was leaking and as a result, the bathroom floor was flooded. I pointed this out at reception and they said that they would attend to it. They never even came to the room.
The plaster was peeling on the bathroom ceiling and metal work was corroded. The bath was filthy and as a result obviously had not been used for some time, but it still had some very personal hairs in it !
Generally I spoke to others at the hotel and no one would voluntarily chose it .

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank londonpensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Set in the city of Maduria it has banks ATMs and shops just outside the gates. Its a medium class with a decent pool area and is alll over quite clean. Food is lacking in quality and the service was slow. As usual alcohol is expensive in the hotel but cheap at the "wine shops".

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank petepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2006

We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It offers a very comfortable accommodation with spacious rooms and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sameston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Évitez tout bonnement cet établissement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerisdanver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sangam_Trichy, General Manager at Hotel Sangam, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
3.3 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#3 of 54 in Madurai
1,362 reviews
3.2 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
0.5 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#2 of 54 in Madurai
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#5 of 54 in Madurai
359 reviews
1.8 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
737 reviews
1.3 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sangam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sangam

Address: | Alagarkoil Road, Madurai 625002, India (Formerly Madurai Ashok ITDC Hotel)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: £82 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sangam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story hotel located near town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sangam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangam Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing