We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to stay… Feeling good…”
Review of Royal Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Madurai
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Royal court has nice surroundings, reliable and very safe. Staff members are polite, friendly manner and provide nice food and good services. It is value worth able for money. Overall I really enjoy that atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Abilash381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROYALCOURT_TEAM, Front Office Manager at Royal Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Abilash,

We are pleased that you have observed us and liked our Hospitality. We are always here to serve our Guests as they mean a lot to us. Once again I thank you for Enjoying your stay with us.

Warm Regards

Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked into the hotel comparing to GRT as it is a Muslim owned hotel and they adviced sahar food(morning breakfast for Muslim month) Will be abailable. We have to finish the food by 04 05 hrs. And we specifically informed that we want a wake up call+ food to be served at 0330 hrs. The food was than served only at 0435hrs without any wake up call. Thus I and my wife have to fast without ant liquid or solid food intake. So we slept in empty stomach. We didn't press any button which was available if we want room service or any other thing. But at 0930 hrs
they woke us up again knocking the door requesting for cleaning the room. I was like wth. Been to so many hotels but not like waking up the guest for cleaning request. We only checked in at 2100 hrs that evening for 1 day . When I complained to the hotel manager he gave excuse for 1st complain that only 1 person available in restaurant thus delay.for
2nd complaint he said it is their hotel routine to clean up rooms at 0900hrs despite the fact that a guest might be occupying or not. What is the use of the cleaning request button? He said unless do not disturb button is on than they won't disturb. I was requesting food so that wasn't switched on . But I never request any cleaning services. And my sleep was disturbed. Bottom line Price isn't worth for the service rendered.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location is near to Railway station as well as city bus transit terminal.Airport
is around 15 kms from here. The temple of Meenakshi is at walk able distance
through commercial shops.
Meeting halls with dining facility for a small group of around 50 to 60 persons
in roof top is available. The variety of food in buffet is a welcome feature.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BANDIVENKATASUBBARAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nice amenities, we booked our room online and they were holding it for us despite the demand for rooms. We stopped there on the way to Munnar. The food was average, I tried the complimentary breakfast. As I'm a frequent traveler to Madurai, I chose not to eat in royal court and had most of my meals outside. The room was spacious and well furnished. The quality of toiletries provided were very bad. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbvzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

me and my boyfriend were there for 1 day and arrived around noon to reserve our room and put down our stuff. we went to the temple and only came back at night time so when we arrived the restaurant was at its last 30min of opening time, which meant they were putting the things ready for breakfast.
apparently a dirty cup was "ok" to clean with spit and a cloth. also, the floor was absolutely filthy! though when a spoon or tissue falls on the filthy floor, they just put it on your table anyway, as if nothing had happened.
as we were eating i saw that in my sandwich there was something that didnt taste ok.. and since i wasnt that hungry i just didnt eat it (my boyfriend however was starving and wasnt satisfied with his food, so he ate mine too) non of the food i'd recommend a person to eat. my boyfriend spend the night in the bathroom that night and since i ate less, i "just" had a bad stomach ache and diarrhea.
we saw (and have pictures of all of this) how the squashed cockroaches that came running out of the kitchen (probably why they have a help desk there) we saw the people from the kitchen and how filthy their clothes were.
1 out of 2 cups was still dirty, with lipstick marks on them.
i dont understand how they still have people going there!

when we arrived in the room we expected it to be "over" since we paid more than enough and literally asked them if they -unlike others- dont have any cockroach problem, to which they laughed and said " 'mam we are a good hotel, we dont have that" -YEAH RIGHT-
in the first 5 minutes we just closed the curtains and saw 3, then we saw some on the floor, table, bed and bathroom, so we decided to catch a few, since they might claim we imagined them.. without any effort we managed to catch 5 in 1 glass (you know there have to be many to be able to do that!)
than we called to say that its really unacceptable and that for such a price we expected it to at least NOT have cockroaches! since we even asked for it at check in!
the guy told us to call again in the morning (like thats any good, we paid to sleep and that cant happen with bugs all over you all night long)
when after many many phone calls and a lot of insisting (by this time it was 1am already) they moved to another floor because apparently the floor we were on had that "problem" (which they all of a sudden acknowledged =/ )
when we got to the room 1 floor higher they had sprayed anti cockroach stuff there so there wouldnt be any alive in the room, so yea we didnt find any live ones..
but in the bathroom on the toilet (which had the nice "disinfected for your comfort" around it) dried urine spots on the seat and on the lid (seriously, if you're going to say its infected, at least make it seem clean when you read the paper!)
in bed bed were footsteps of feet and shoes all over and we found animal hair on the headboard of the bed.
my boyfriend is allergic to certain animals, so when we put our sleepingbags on the bed, he got a severe asthma attack, the kind where if it takes too long you need an injection into your heart.. that was great too.. with his mild food poisoning..
in the morning they claimed that that was not possible and refused to see any pictures of the proof.
this was by far THE worst hotel i have ever been to in ANY country and this was my 12th time in india.
i strongly advise people to not even eat there and if you really have to, bring your own cutlery and only eat the fried stuff.
there are hotels for 1/4th of the price that are much better right around the corner, i dont see any reason anyone would want to stay there.

Room Tip: the highest floor you can get and check the toilet and bed before they leave you in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROYALCOURT_TEAM, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Heleen,

Your comments, Made us disheartening, All grey areas that you have pinpointed will be set-right. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Bala.KN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms we're neat and tidy...good use of space...1.5km from the temple and friendly staff...worthy of being recommended to others...a little pricey but manageable considering the season...serves almost like a 3 star...good breakfast....

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Girish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROYALCOURT_TEAM, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent royal hospitality experience. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you were able to spend time in our city.

I am delighted that you found our breakfast offering to be plentiful and varied; it would certainly set you up for the big day. We take great pride in our service and I am glad that you received remarkable service throughout your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Royal Court in the future.

Regards,
Bala.KN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

It's near railway station, may be for that reason they have kept the price so high. Not worth the money. Food is costly and spread limited. If you are a vegetarian, there are ample better and cheap option available near by. Room and bathroom are good in size and clean but with no view.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KKDaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROYALCOURT_TEAM, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at Hotel Royal Court.

It gives me great pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. Thank you also for your feedback with regards to a few minor issues that you faced in our Restaurant menu . This is feedback which I have shared with our team.

We welcome all feedback, both positive and negative, as this can only assist with our aims to provide an unsurpassed experience here at Hotel Royal Court. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Royal Court in the future.

Kind regards,
Bala.KN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
2.2 mi away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#1 of 57 in Madurai
667 reviews
2 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#4 of 57 in Madurai
1,615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#6 of 57 in Madurai
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
0.2 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#7 of 57 in Madurai
773 reviews
4 mi away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#8 of 57 in Madurai
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Court Hotel

Address: No 4 West Veli Street | opposite to Railway Station, Madurai 625001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range: £43 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Madurai, Royal Court is convenient to Meenakshi Amman Temple and Thirumalai Nayak Palace. This hotel is within close proximity of Vandiyur Mariamman Teppakulam. Rooms: Make yourself at home in one of the 69 air-conditioned rooms featuring 24 hr room service. Rooms have private balconies. Wireless internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected, and satellite programming is available for your entertainment. Conveniences include direct-dial phones, as well as safes and ceiling fans. Enjoy dining at the end of the day a meal at a restaurant, or stay in and take advantage of the hotel's 24-hour room service. Business, other amenities: featured amenities include high-speed (wired) Internet access (surcharge), a business center, and audiovisual equipment, currency exchange and 24-hour front desk. Event facilities at this hotel consist of conference/meeting rooms and banquet facilities. Self parking is available onsite. A round trip airport shuttle is provided for a surcharge (available on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Court Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing