We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Hotel Park Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Park Plaza
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A very comfortable stay. Value for money . I had taken the dinner package also. The roof top restaurant at night was lovely .But they could improve the ambience.Staff was very helpful, especially as I had senior citizens with me. They really liked the hot bed coffee in the morning.Breakfast also was sumcitious .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9Sujata9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    80
    41
    14
    7
See reviews for
55
29
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The two main reasons I chose to stay there: the hotel offers a non-vegetarian breakfast buffet that includes western breakfast items (including egg), and it has a fabulous view across to Meenakshi temple from its rooftop restaurant. I'm not keen on south Indian breakfasts at all, and decided on this hotel over another cheaper budget one in the same street because the reviews indicated it served a decent western breakfast (and the masala omelet was great!). The hotel is located around 10 minutes walk from the temple. Room service was prompt, staff were friendly and courteous, my room was clean and there was plenty of hot water. My mattress was a little too hard though and my corner facing room received a lot of traffic noise, which woke me up early every morning. Overall, I was really happy I stayed there and felt like I'd made the right choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kismet-and-karma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Room was clean and provided a happy enough stay but the bathroom was hard to keep dry after showering and failed to provide a single hot shower in three days.

Wifi did not work outside of the lobby and when we asked if we could upgrade to a room with access (as it was not busy) we were told none were available.

Staff we're very polite but had little clue what to do to assist guests and lingered for a tip.

Included breakfast was simple but substantial. Dinner buffet was excellent as was all the food we tried from the A la carte menu.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WillTravelsAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Hotel Park Plaza has a good location for business travelers - Close to the Madurai Junction and Periyar Bus Stand, Short distance from the Madurai Meenakshi Amman Temple.
Though it is in a narrow, congested street - West Perumal Maistry Street, once we enter into the hotel, everything changes. The southern end of this street is very congested. However, near Park Plaza, which is at the northern end of the street, it is relatively calm. There is a separate covered car parking area for the guests right across the hotel.
The reception area is clean and the staff are courteous.
I had booked my stay through Makemytrip.com, using the Flight and Hotel offer. Check-in was swift and I was whisked to the room 308 in the 3rd floor. Mine was a corner room. Room entry was through a Chip-enabled Access card.
The room was of decent size with a king size bed, 32" Sony LCD TV with predominantly Tamil channels and a work desk. The Central AC was efficient. The toilet had screened off bath area and a wash basin counter and a complete amenities kit, including Dental and Shaving Kit.
Bed Coffee and Breakfast are complimentary.
The restaurant in the ground floor was bright and cheerful. Buffet Breakfast was tasty and looked appetising.
For the convenience of location, the clean interiors and courteous staff, Park Plaza is well suited for business travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Very decently surprising hotel in madurai. Nice well maintained rooms to stay. Well mannered attendants. Both Breakfast and Dinner are complimentary. Right in the city of madurai. Special corporate discounts. Overall a good choice

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank johnkanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
162 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Have stayed in this property many times.The rooms are neat and clean fantastic atomsphere.The breakfast in out of the world.The restaurant and choices of food across the globe is superb.The best value for money.Cleanest property in Madurai

Room Tip: Best hotel in madurai
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srk800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have stayed in this hotel earlier in this month and found to be reasonably good for the charges. The breakfast buffet was good. The room was maintained good and has offered a good aura for our short stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonelytravellerdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.5 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
723 reviews
0.9 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 54 in Madurai
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Court
Royal Court
#6 of 54 in Madurai
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#22 of 54 in Madurai
122 reviews
2.7 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Plaza

Property: Hotel Park Plaza
Address: 114'th West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Park Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Madurai
Madurai Park Plaza
Park Plaza Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing