We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value For Money Hotel in Madurai”
Review of Madurai Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Madurai Residency
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
138 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Value For Money Hotel in Madurai”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel is not in walking (for me atleast) distance to Meenakshi Temple

Breakfast is ordinary

Sleep Quality is good and Hotel is value for money

Travel Desk counter organised day trip to Kodaikanal, manager was not interested to talk after our return as I paid before we left for Kodaikanal, typical Indian mentality

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajit_from_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    308
    174
    64
    52
See reviews for
290
178
44
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I have been a regular visitor to this hotel for more than 10 years.
They are known for their service and courtesy.
Now in many of their rooms they introduced lovely interiors which makes it more spacious and homely.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank krishnamurthi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManicshahD, General Manager at Madurai Residency, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
To,

Our Esteem Guest,

It’s a honour that you have using Madurai Residency Continuously for more than a decade we are really happy to have you as our privileged guest.

Your positive commands over room interior motivate us to do it again and again.

We are anxiously waiting to welcome you again at our door steps.

Hospitality Your’s

MANEKSHAW DAWOODKHAN,
General Manager,
The Madurai Residency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was my 2nd time to stay here, this time I booked a Royal Suite, the suite was very spacious, with an entrance hall area and a big bathroom, the beds were comfortable, lots of storage areas.

The main reason to stay here was that it's location was so central that you can literally walk to all the major tourist locations on foot and there were a lot of local restaurants nearby.

Staff at reception were helpful, I would rate as better service level than last visit. The breakfast was still held in the dim and cold restaurant on the G/F, I would like it to be held on the rooftop and not to be stuck in an AC cold room in the morning. Food was average.

The tourist desk on G/F was efficient to arrange for car hire.

Cleaning staff was a little bit slack, needed to chase to get the cleaner to clean the room and eventually escalated to a manager and then was dispatched to our room immediately.

AC in room was comfortable and not noisy.

Room Tip: I definitely will go for the Royal Suite for it's space, the other smaller rooms that I had trie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunmansyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManicshahD, General Manager at Madurai Residency, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
To,

Our Esteem Guest,

Thanks for Choosing Madurai Residency and staying regularly.

All your positive feedback enlightens our spirits and boost up the total team.

Here came a good news for all our Corporate and tourist that we are coming up with one more New Restaurant with a five star facilities on the 6th Floor hope that will fulfill your expectations and demands anyway we thank you for your time and your feedback.

Hospitality Your’s

MANEKSHAW DAWOODKHAN,
General Manager,
Tha Madurai Residency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on our trip through India.

The good points of the hotel:
A/C
Clean Rooms
Spacious rooms
Good shower
Rooftop restaurant
Free wifi throughout hotel
Good service

We ate at the restaurant and the food was ok. Also we ordered from the "starter" menu and the "main" menu. We then waited a long time - despite it being very quiet, only to realise the reason it took so long - all the food came at once! Which meant we didn't eat that much of the starter.

Also, if you're on a budget (like we were) be careful with the price. We paid Rs 2500 for the deluxe room. HOWEVER, once they had added city tax, "luxury tax" (still none the wiser as to what this was) and service charge we ended up paying Rs 3500!!

So we were a little miffed by this.

Ok hotel but exactly as you would expect for the price.



Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManicshahD, General Manager at Madurai Residency, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
To,

Our Esteem Guest,


Its nice to have you as our privileged guest and we are really happy that you have valued so many points of our Property.

As far as the good points is concerned. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Meantime we've also noticed that you've faced some inconvenience and we have taken all necessary steps to enroute the same.

Anyway thanks you and we are looking to have you as our guest again.

Hospitality your’s

MANEKSHAW DAWOODKHAN,
General Manager,
The Madurai Residency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We booked two rooms here in May,2012 through Azlan tours & travels.
It was a great experience staying at madurai residency.
The buffet breakfast was very delicious.
They served fresh juices that were amazing.
The room service was quick & responsive.
The hotel staff was polite and helpful.
The hotel is located very near to the great Minakshi Mata temple.
The roof top restaurant was also gud.
In a nutshell a great experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Adityaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaduraiResidency, General Manager at Madurai Residency, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
To,
Our Esteem Guest,

Greetings from Madurai's Premium Hotel !!!

Thanks, It's good to have a positive feedback from you & it's a great tonic for the total team to got Boot up & to deliver the Excellent Service to the Up-coming Guest.

Once again thanking you for your time & your Great Commend.


with warm regards

MANEKSHAW DAWOODKHAN,
General Manager,
The Madurai Residency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is located near to madurai meenakshi temple and also very near to madurai railway station.The rooms are great.I have booked a royal suite room.The room cost is lesser for a very good ambience and quatity.

Room Tip: Suite rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOPI2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vellore, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days. Classic type rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was very tasty with a lot of items to choose from.
The hotel has a roof top restaurant at 7th floor. It has a nice view of the city and good food.
Travel arranged by the hotel is very expensive. So go for a call taxi rather than arranging travel through hotel travel desk.

Room Tip: Go for the 'Classic' type rooms. Travel arranged by the hotel is very expensive. So go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pragha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.4 mi away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 55 in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Court
Royal Court
#6 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#23 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madurai Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madurai Residency

Property: Madurai Residency
Address: 14 - 15 Madurai Residency S Marret Street, Madurai 625001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Madurai Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MADURAI RESIDENCYHaving won the hearts of many Indian and International guests, The Madurai Residency has earned a reputation providing the finest Quality of Hospitality in this region. Established in 1997, The Madurai Residency (formerly known as Classic Residency) attracts regular business class customers, pilgrims to the Meenakshi Amman Temple and International Tourists. The property is owned and managed by Hotel Agasthiya P Ltd., Madurai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madurai Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madurai Residency Hotel Madurai
Residency Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing