We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay at Madurai”
Review of The Golden Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golden Park
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Kalpakkam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Stay at Madurai”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The room was neat and clean as were the toilets. As the room in which I stayed was on the opposite side of the road it was peaceful to have a good sleep. The rooms have centralised A/c with controls at the reception.With back up power supply available there was no interuption in the A/c. But the room lightings can be better. Hot water was available both in the evening and morning. The room service is costly, almost twice the outside rate. But as the hotel is situated nearby lot of good eateries one can opt to have food outside. But the complimentary breakfast spread at 7:30 a.m was really good with lot of varieties. Car parking is just a couple of shops away in an open area. For Rs 1800/- (including Breakfast and taxes) it was a good option.
Landmark: Just behind Hotel Supreme.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPRML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    28
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
12
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Only have very modest expectations, if u choose to stay in this hotel.

Positives - Location is a plus, as its located just adjacent to the Railway station on the busy W.Perumal Maistry street, and the Meenakshi temple is just a short walk away. Its got 24-hour power backup as well, and a 24-hour check in/check out option.

Negatives - Food quality is really pathetic. Some tems were under cooked. Would suggest to opt for the continental option(corn flakes/ toast and butter) in the breakfast spread rather than dip into the Idlis and dosas.

Given a choice i would keep this hotel as a alterative option only if i have to travel to madurai again.

Note - If u are using google maps to locate the place, kindly note that the hotel pointer is mistakenly shown in the adjacent street. Watch out for that.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Veepy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajkot, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

During checking charges and discounts was discussed and commited by the hotel and while checkout charged more than the commited.On questioning spoke in a rude language and tried to man handle.Unparlamentry language used ny the hotel staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MVVS R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madurai hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

charged excess money,AC not working,worst staff.bed bugs in the room.worst service...indecent deheviour.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ravilalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPetersbourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

+++
1. Nice looking rooms
2. Clean (even if they exagerate with insecticide)
3. 1 km from the Temple
- - -
1. You book at a price 1200 Rs, you are charged 1800 Rs (tariff changed, taxes changed etc)
2. Hot water 6-8 pm (best time to all other activities)
3. Noise outside (street, trains) and inside (TV-s, guest's picnics)
4. Stuff - not caring at all, bad (or selective) knowlege of English
5.No facilities in the room, even not toilet paper, 1 towel for double room

Bad value for money

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at this place after looking at a few other hotels in the tourist area. It is across the road from the Hotel Chentoor. Be warned if you use google maps to look up the address of this place it will come up in the wrong place, it shows it as east masi st, not west masi st. That's why we didn't see it till we stumbled on to it. That aside it is in the tourist area, not far from the train station. We arrived by bus so that is outside of town a couple of kms.

The rooms are basic but clean enough for India. They have the standard wet room bathroom (like most Indian hotels) with shower wetting everything but it's still fair size bathroom from memory. Our room was on the backside of the hotel, not the road side. It was very quiet, from our window we could see the temple. There was also a massive vacant lot behind the hotel so I think that helped by not blocking the view.

They have a nice rooftop restaurant with pretty tasty food and great view of the temples. The best part was a buffet breakfast is included in the price. We had only a fan (no AC) as it was storming at the time and cool enough with the window open during the day and fan at night. The hotel staff are very friendly, family run business I think. The room was very reasonable for Madurai with most hotels charging a hefty luxury tax. We payed 850rs/night.

I would definately recommend this hotel for Madurai.

Room Tip: Try to get room away from roadside so you can get temple view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We found that Tamil Nadu hotels generally seem to be a bit below par so we paid more than we usually would to stay here & had no regrets. It's in a good location & our room was very clean & comfortable. Comfy beds, lovely bathroom & great hot shower. The reception staff don't speak much English & we usually had to ask more than once each day before our room was cleaned but their English was a whole lot better than my Tamil & the room always got cleaned eventually. The rooftop restaurant's got a great view but it was always deserted so we never ate there. It was a good clean comfortable hotel & we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joebloggs12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#22 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Northgate
Hotel Northgate
#13 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#34 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nambi
Hotel Nambi
#26 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Park

Property: The Golden Park
Address: 28 West Perumal Maistry Street, Madurai 625001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Madurai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Golden Park 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Golden Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Park Hotel Madurai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing