We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great honeymoon stay.”
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great honeymoon stay.”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Excellent location, good service (Thanx to gud responses from Mr. Shiva, Mr. Vinodh and other service staff) altogether made r experience worth remembering. Location is breathtaking indeed.. Clean n cozy place to stay...only con is bit expensive food on menu...bt sharing wid ones sweetheart , money gets a back kick.. Overall worth giving a try.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    189
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
230
180
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

One thing is for sure. Whenever, I head to Ooty, I will stay at Sherlock. This trip of ours was planned just 1 day ahead of the journey. Sherlock was recommended by a colleague of mine, and I called them up. There was 1 luxury room available, and I booked it instantly. I received an email confirmation within minutes. Myself, my wife & and my little daughter headed towards Mysore (from Bangalore) in the evening, took a break in the night at a hotel, and reached Ooty the next day at 11AM. The USP of Sherlock is its location and ambience. It is great to have your own vehicle (I drove my own Santro) if you decide to stay here. Just 500 meters after you cross the Charring cross junction towards Coonoor, you will notice Hotel Ooty Gate on your right. Bang opposite to that, there is a small road which detours uphill from the main road. There is a small board of Sherlock here. You continue driving the steep uphill and winding road for about 3-4 minutes, and you reach Sherlock. Take care not to miss the Sherlock gate on the left. You enter this tiny road, take one circle, and you are in front of the reception. The heritage property is pure delight. The architecture, the lawns, the reception, and of course the spectacular view that one gets from the lawn, is every worth the penny. Very English in the overall ambience, the property oozes oodles of old world charm. We stayed at the luxury room. There are 5 of them, all facing the lawn and the valley. These rooms are highly recommended. The deluxe rooms do not face the lawn, and open into the eating area. The rooms are spotlessly clean, furnitures and fireplace right out of Conan Doyle. In fact all the rooms are named after stories and characters of Sherlock Homes series. The staff is extremely well behaved and courteous. The food, albeit a little pricey, is excellent. You have option of having open air dinner (weather permitting) in the sprawling lawns. The lawn, overlooking the beautiful valley, is the place one should spend time. It is a real stress buster, specially for people like me who slog it out in Bangalore day in and out. There is also a typically English sit out area inside the main building, which has fire place and quite a few books to read.

Overall, it has been a memorable weekend break. Since there are hardly 10-12 rooms, you don't have the cacophony. If you are heading towards Ooty, stay at Sherlock. It worth it.

Room Tip: The luxury rooms are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dipanjan_chakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed for a day in Sherlock and found it great. Awesome location, food was good. Early morning view was wow and chilled weather at evening made our vacation a true vacation with friends enjoying the place and bonfire

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DineshMalhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Small, cosy and a typically heritage property. The staff was courteous and accommodating. We got our own private fireplace. Dinner in the drawing room next to the fireplace, it was awesome. The road to the place looks a bit gloomy, but when u get there its awe inspiring. The best view possible.
Most recommended and way better than its brother kings Cliff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saurabhpach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivandrum, Kerala, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had our honeymoon trip to ooty in Feb. Had a 3 days 3 night stay at the Sherlock Hotel in tiger hills. It was an amazing experience for me and my wife. The stay at the hotel was just superb. We had booked for delux room but for some reason we had to reschedule our trip and adjust the dates. Due to this we were told that we will get delux rooms for 2 days and will have to shift to the luxury room on the last day at an extra cost. But on reaching there they informed us that only semi-delux room was available on that day. But as this was a minor error on their part the manager Mr.Shiva assured that they would shift us to the delux room the next day and to the luxury room on the last at no extra cost. That was a very nice way of satisfying a customer.

The location of the hotel is the most amazing thing.Situated atop a hill, the view from the hotel is just Awesome. Rooms are very neat and with fire place in every room. Fortunately as we went in the peak winter time there was no extra cost for the logs.(Usually they charge for extra firewood) All the staff are extremely courteous and helpful..anytime of the night you call them for lighting the fire they willingly do it without any hesitation.

The Semi-delux and Delux rooms are very nice But the Luxury room is Amazing with large wooden floorings and a nice sit-out facing the garden in front....

Our sincere appreciation to Mr.Shiva the manager of this property.He was so helpful and also guides us to plan our trips. Also Mr.Peter, Mr.Vinod, and two other young fellows(dont remember their names) were exceptionally good in their service.We give a 100/100 for all the staff there for their service.

And the complimentary breakfast they arrange is also very good with a variety of choices. the food they serve is very tasty, thanks to the cooks.

We would definitely recommend this place to others because its worth every Rupee we spent, though the food is a bit costly. The only thing we found negative is that reaching the hotel from the town will be a bit difficult without a car or a cab.

Room Tip: the delux and semi-delux room opens directly into the dining area. OPt for the luxury ones You will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drpjvarier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Pros

Beautiful location
Very good service
Good food

Cons
Transportation is a problem if u dont have a vehicle here.
Food is expensive
Everything is charged and no discount is given.

Overall, a good place to relax away from the city..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GauravDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

at the top of a small cliff overlooking the valleys, the evenings and morning spent sipping tea in their beautiful garden itself makes up for many things. I spent quite a few moments every day with my infant son showing him around the beau Victorian style garden. Evenings are meant for the great dinners that their cook creates. I tried 3 different dishes on 3 nights and each one turned out great. Likewise for the soups. Post dinner, we spent a nice time in our room in front of the fireplace. Their staff was kind enough to supply extra wood at NO cost. All in all, a must for someone looking to have a nice stay with a difference in their lodging and food.

Room Tip: rooms on the outer side offer a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShantanuJamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 82 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Property: Sherlock Hotel
Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing