We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHERLOCK IS BACK”
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I checked in on 5th of Nov for 3 nights and just did not want to leave the place. The ambience is most awsome. The view breathtaking away from the pollution and crowd of ooty. The food - I've not had a better steak (lamb) (chicken) till date. The Iddlis steaming hot for b.fast. The firewood lit inside and the heaters to keep one warm. The manager who still rides a classic Yezdi 250 cc and is on time at 7am at the reception was in all a most memorable experience. I stayed with my 2 kids age 4 and 6 and my wife and mom and it was home. We were at no point lost or out of place and it was just what we were seeking for being from the crowded city Mumbai . It was heaven on earth with a view of Ooty below. My highest recommendations to anyone who stays here - you will not regret it right from the time you meet the Manager and till your dinner is served - hot and in style. Cheers to Sherlock Hotel !!!! - Edgar

Room Tip: Cottages are the best rooms to check into. Its view and ambience is just awsome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdgarBombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

This is probably the 4th or 5th time we've stayed at Sherlock and as usual our stay was excellent! The ambience was warm and homey. The staff was amazingly courteous and genuinely caring. Everything on the menu was mouth watering and wonderfully delicious! Warm cozy fires lit up our evenings while the view right outside was breath-taking!
We couldn't have asked for a better resort to stay at!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dipika I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Highly recommend staying here. The staff are very attentive and even guided us on a mountain hike. . we encountered some wildlife (bison!)

The gardens are beautiful and the food is top notch. To fight the chill, the staff light a fire in your room each night and deliver hot water bottles..

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sk6aus6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I Stayed at Sherlock for 3 days. The overall experience was fantastic Starting from good receptionist. Well come drinks, Clean rooms, Great hospitality, Wonderful Garden with the view, with good dinner wow So far one of my best 5 star experiences. The best thing about the hotel is when you chick in at the time you can get all the details about Sherlock that’s I like very much, Of course the rooms r clean n very cozy the staff with their typical Tamil English Hindi Add to the overall experience. The staff r extremely well mannered in all a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

i stayed at Sherlock for one night with my wife and two kids. We had a great time. The hotel lies on a hilltop hence the cold and the clouds are complimentary. The food was excellent, staff very helpful. The hotel is a theme concepted on the stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyles favourite character - Sherlock Holmes. Our cottage was named 'the blue carbuncle'. Old colonial style setting with a small reading room, heating by log fire, even the restaurant is called ' Irene Adler Room'. Very well kept and managed. All in all an amazing experience

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vaxdrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

One of the best resorts i have ever seen. There are many reasons for which I will rate it the best one:-
1. Location of the resort- Its cut off from main stream, calm and quite environment above the foot steps of tea garden, marvelous. Only 1 km from main city. Secondly the scenic beauty from the resort is excellent.
2. Rooms and aura around- The theme Sherlock Homes impressed me the most..So the rooms are made like that only.
3. Food and other services- Food is delicious and the staff is very good.
4. Last but not the least, to stay in Sherlock is quite economical and I am very sure the next time I will visit Ooty I am going to stay in Sherlock only.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank asd32025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Good service. Great price. Stayed there for 3 days and had a great experience! The staffs always ask if we needed anything. Breakfast was very good. I enjoyed the services especially the front office lady as well as other services like delicious food, and very hygienic toiletry. Overall, they provided a comfortable home while I was in India.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fernandes93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#18 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
528 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#4 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
816 reviews
2.0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £42 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing