We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sherlock’S End - Ooty (Cozy and comfortable)”
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Sherlock’s End is a colonial house converted into a themed hotel. The
place is not very big and has a very “cottagy” feel to it. All the
rooms are decorated on Sherlock Holmes’s cases theme. The rooms are
very comfortable, clean and cozy. The lawn area of the hotel overlooks
the hills and since it’s not situated in the main town the place is
ideal for a quite getaway. The best part of the place is the food and
the service. Sherlock’s serves Indian, continental and Chinese and its
awesome……the breakfast is a buffet with live kitchen to whip up your
choice of eggs. The staff is very friendly and willing to go that
extra mile for your comfort. Overall it’s definitely one of the best
accommodation options in Ooty, if you prefer staying away from the
crowded main town.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank WanderingDove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

we where amazed to see the sherlcok theme on the top of the hills..it was an excellent time to spend there with family and friends.
excellent garden and very nice staff. View from garden is hilarious. even it is away from the town it make sense to be there with its sensible feel of hill station,

Any time i visit ootty sure i will pre book a room in sherlock .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Afzal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for taking time to give your positive comments on the garden and staff of the hotel. We sincerely look forward to the privilege of serving you again.
Warm Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have a very fond association with this place and stay there every year, the view from the place and the beautifully maintained gardens are very welcoming. The Front office receives you so very well and the nicely appointed rooms are cozy.

The staff are more than willing and bend backwards to do anything you need to make the stay comfortable. I and my friends know every staff member by name, such is their commitment and pleasant disposition. They are well led by Shiva who knows our personal preferences and attends to every guest in a very pleasing manner.

The quality of food is the best in town only competitor being Kings Cliff ;)

Overall the stay and hospitality make our holiday even more enjoyable

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandisdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

it was awesome stay in Sherlok, Sherlock is theme based.n the view from Hotel is beautiful.I enjoyed the food.The staff was very friendly and available all the time.The room was beautiful and with well ventilation.Sherlok is located at an awesome place overlooking a valley

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jthom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for taking time to give your positive comments on the ambience and food of the hotel. We sincerely look forward to the privilege of serving you again.
Warm Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I had stayed at Sherlock with my spouse in Dec 2012....It has truly been an amazing place with excellent service. The hotel staff took good care of us and I must state that the food & hospitality was excellent. It is difficult to find such fine quality of food in nearby locality although I consider the menu a tad bit overpriced. The view from Hotel Sherlock is awesome and the interiors are cool...Sherlock theme based...I experienced difficulty in locating the hotel, hence want the management to put up some signs/advertisement which shall make it easier for the guests to find the same.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ca_joykumardeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our services/facilities and give complimentary comments on the same. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit in the near future.
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Honestly, when we drove into Sherlock, it just took my breath away. A cozy, quaint cottage-kind hotel with an old school charm. Loved it. And there's where it all stopped!

My room was great but the moment I went to shower, I got BURNT, thanks to the irregular temperature of the thermostat. This, despite balancing the knobs. Desperately, when I tried to turn the cold water on (and switched off the hot), all I got was piping hot water! I had to run outside the bath and search for a bottle of normal-temperature water to cool my skin. A complaint to the manager later, the thing was fixed. At night, when the temperature dipped, they came in to light the wood (for the fire place). They put loads of diesel on it to burn it, which resulted in my friend's wheezing problem to aggravate. The wood was not dry and we pointed this out to them, to only witness an action replay the other night.

Oh, there was trouble with the flushes too and it was an absolute pain to use it.
The icing on the cake was the over-prized food. For a small bowl of sauteed veggies, Rs. 300! Whoa...! And the pricing followed to each dish. To top it, the Biriyani we ate was of a portion size that could fill just one stomach. And priced at Rs. 400. We reminded them that at this prize, even Taj gives double!

The room service was OK, but my friend had to constantly remind them to clean up.
Also, we had a tough time with the manager Shiva. He is good with his words but when it comes to owning up... don't trust him! I had to haggle a lot with him before I got a (teeny weeny) compensation for the "mishaps". The other manager is lousier!

If you want to stay there, make sure you be clear with the terms and hell, don't eat there! It will burn a mega hole in your pocket!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback following your stay at Sherlock

We are sorry to note that there were some aspects of your stay that you did not enjoy and that we were not able to meet your expectations in some of the hotel services.

Guest feedback is of vital importance to us to improve on the services and facilities that we provide to our guests and your comments have already been taken up with the relevant department heads for corrective measures. In addition, your feedback will also be addressed during our staff training exercises.

Thank you.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had opted for honeymoon package and allotted us a nice one which was separate from the other rooms. The amazing valley views brought the nature beauty, supported with chirping birds. The room was beautiful and with well ventilation. The wooden floor may feel awkward when you walk, you are on a temporary stage which makes sound a lot.
In the evening they decorated bed (it was awesome) and put homemade chocolates & a cake, all were mentioned in the package. But we could eat the black forest cake only half as we felt it difficult due to old stock.
Also, breakfast was fine except the bread, but overall we had a very good dishes.
In the last when checking out we were disappointed . They showed some bills and figures(even though the amount was small) and asked us to pay some extra amount, said it was out of package. They did not give us a clear cut information on what basis we are charged extra.

So overall our experience was fantastic and my wife enjoyed well. I highly recommend this for those who love nature and its beauty but make sure you are well aware of packages you opt.

Room Tip: Opt for Gloria's Scott, which has a nice view to valley and nature beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VarunMarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your honeymoon at Sherlock. We thank you for taking time to give your positive comments on the ambience , room and food .
Regarding the matter of the extra amount I would just like to mention the hotels policy about the same
Your honeymoon package included a complimentary candle lit dinner of Rs 1500.This unfortunately cannot be adjusted towards other meals and services provided at the hotel and we were not able to adjust the amount of Rs 285 that you did not use in the candle lit dinner.
We hope we have the privilege of serving you again shortly
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,096 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,057 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#8 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,259 reviews
2 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £36 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IBC Hospitality, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing