We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hill Country Lovedale
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The resort is a 10 km before the main ooty city and has a splendid view of the valley and mountains. The property is very well maintained. This also has indoor sports room and bonfire. Good homely food in restaurant.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Harpreetsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Thank you Sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a relatively small resort with just about 16 rooms but the management and staff are very warm, courteous and make sure you have a comfortable stay. The resort is a few km before the main ooty city and has a splendid view of the valley and mountains. The property is very well maintained. The restaurant serves fresh home made style food and cater to all kinds of requirements to the maximum possible.

Overall a very comfortable stay. One of the best resorts in Ooty.

Room Tip: if traveling with family, go for the deluxe cottage - it has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a lobby, di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shrutibansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Thank you Madam for the review, it is of immense value to us. We are overjoyed to know that you had a memorable holiday experience at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The property is slightly above average in terms of location etc. However, we had booked a premium suite, but got only a standard room. The management told us they called a room a suite, and we paid 9,000+ per room. The room and facilities/ fittings are 2 star at max; however, the resort location is excellent. Would recommend other places including Taj, Fortune, Mahindra etc; they are lesser/ similarly priced to this resort with much better facilities.

Room Tip: ..Rooms need to have more facilities apt for a 4 star which they call themselves. The bathroom fitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gurpreet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We made our trip to Hill Country , Lovedale Valley 10 kms from Ooty in May 2013.We made online reservations and the resort was excellent. Value for money. The staff, rooms, food were just superb. They have maintained the hotel VERY WELL.Nestled in the hills of Ooty the place is situated so wonderfully that one can just chillax and enjoy the view from the resort itself. We experienced bonfire and dance party. there is a very well maintained indoor Sports room. The park area for children is also very well though t of. So if you are planing a trip to Ooty dont look beyond Hill cOUNTRY Lovedale!! You will be thoroughly satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASHOKBARJATYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Thank you Sir for the review, it is of immense value to us. We are overjoyed to know that you had a memorable holiday experience at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Reservation and Booking:
The reservation process was smooth and friendly.

Getting There:
Just a bit off Ooty on the Ooty-Coonor main road. Watch for 'Grand Duff Road' sign post on the right.

Rooms:
Rooms are big and spacious. The valley view was special.

Food:
Decent food. Have to order at least 30 minutes in advance. As a part of the 'breakfast included' package we were expecting a buffet breakfast, but found that we need to order breakfast of our choice from the menu instead. However there were no restrictions as such.

Hospitality:
Hospitality was good. Staff are friendly and well-behaved.

Things to do:
Quite a bit based on your preferences. We chose a half day sight seeing tour of Ooty which included botanical gardens, boating, Dodda betta, visit to a Tea factory. We also walked down to the Lovedale Railway station which is around 2Kms from the resort.

Overall, it was a relaxing time with a couple of friends and families.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank subbukv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Thank you Sir for the review, it is of greatly appreciated. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed at Hill country from May 12- May 14. Location of the resort is a big plus, though little away from city centre (~6 kms) but good place. However language is big problem, most of the staff in resort understand tamil and can barely speak \ understand english. Restaurant is very small and quantity and quality of food is not great. Most of the items served in breakfast were completely cold and taste wasn't upto the expectation. Hope you'll find this review helpful.

Room Tip: Choose valley view rooms, you'll get better view but may end up climbing lot of stairs if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is the worst of holidays I ever had.
There was loud banging of our room doors by someone at 1:30 in the night when we we were sleeping. The family that stayed in the opposite room too had the same experience of banging of doors at night. When we called the reception no one picked the phone. The room service took 10 minutes to reach our room. By then, the person switched off the power to our rooms and left. The previous night someone tried to unlock the door. When we called the reception, it took the security 10-15 minutes to come to the room. God only knows what the hell of a place this was. Both us and the family in the opposite room checked out the next morning. There is no security at all in this place. The location is good. The approach to the place is also not well lit. Be careful when you go there!

Room Tip: I would not recommend anyone to go here. The place is lonely. The security is terrible. Please visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank 76lsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

We sincerely regret the bad experience you had during your stay at the resort. We want to assure you that your issue was taken up with the staff at the resort and necessary actions have been implemented to prevent such happenings in the future. Actually on that night there were few other guests staying at the resort and one among them was so drunk that he was not able to locate his room and mistook your room as his. However, we apologize for the harrowing experience you went through.
The comfort, happiness and safety of our guests is of utmost importance to us. This a rarest of the rare incident that had occurred and we can assure our guests that such incidents will never occur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
591 reviews
2.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,099 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#14 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,057 reviews
1 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#8 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,261 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vinca West Downs Heritage Resort
Vinca West Downs Heritage Resort
#29 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Lovedale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Lovedale

Address: Grand Duff Road, Valley View | Lovedale, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643003, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £53 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill Country Lovedale 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the slope of a gentle hill in the Nilgiri range, overlooking the breathtaking Ketti Valley, the resort provides the perfect escape from the demanding city life. A quiet undisturbed hamlet just a few kilometers short of Ooty, the setting is idyllic and the weather salubrious. For the romantics among you, there is no better place to reignite those sparks as you serenade your partner amidst the gentle hill slopes and wild blossoms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hill Country Lovedale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Country Lovedale India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing