We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic Place, but with some downers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Good:
- Place is set on a hill with a valley view. This is the by far the only reason why I may consider to choose this hotel again.
- Rooms are spacious and if you are looking for two rooms, the cottages will suit you better as they come with a hall area.
- A beer in front of the bon fire with family and friends can be a very relaxing experience.
- Breakfast has good variety and tastes decent. Allows you to fill your stomach in the morning before a day long program.
- Staff are service oriented

The Bad:
- Not a suitable place for old people, who have limited mobility or knee problems as the way to move around the place is via large number of steps. There are no lifts or wheelchairs at the hotel. We had to send back my grandmother to stay with our relatives as she could not climb down the steep way down to her room.
- Restaurant service is very slow and you need to keep reminding them about your order before it finally arrives.
- Many hotel booking sites say that this is a 4 star hotel. It is far from it. The rooms are decent but definitely not 4 star quality. The toilet accessories are very old. The shower in my room was broken.
- You need to switch on the geyser 30-40 mins before to get hot water and that too gets exhausted if you fill one bucket of water and then you need to wait again. Haven't seen this in other 4 star hotels ;).
- When you pay 6-7k for a room (per night), you come to expect a lot more other than just the view. The hotel is not bad, its fairly decent. But, the VFM proposition is quiet low.

Room Tip: Cottages are better if you have a large group.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AneeshRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was one of the best experiences i have had at Ooty. Especially after encountering crazy weekend traffic, Hill Country was like paradise. The rooms were very cosy, the premium room has a great view of the hills. The location is amazing and the property was very well maintained. Their south indian breakfast menu was really good as well. We loved the stay so much that we extended it by a day. The staff was very efficient and welcoming. Definitely recommended for people who want peace and quiet !

Room Tip: Take the premium room or the cottage to get a better view of the hills. They also have an extra bed...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DManey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Thank you Sir for the review, it is of immense value to us. We are overjoyed to know that you had the best holiday experience at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at Hill country Holiday Resort for 2 days during a family tour in March 2014. I had booked the rooms through RPC Holidays. The resort is very well maintained and 10 kms before the main Ooty city and has a splendid view of the valley and mountains. The hospitality and staff are very warm, courteous and make sure you have a comfortable stay. We stayed at premium suite that overlooks the valley. Food is good. Overall, thanks RPC Holidays for making our trip a memorable one. Recommended this resort to all friends who planning their tour to Ooty.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean with view of Valley
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepikapb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Thank you Sir for the review, it is of immense value to us. We are overjoyed to know that you had a memorable holiday experience at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Resort location itself is a plus point and is located on the Coonoor - Ooty road near Lovedale valley. The cottage rooms are big and spacious and it is a doubled bed room with hall and kitchen.
The surrounding atmosphere itself mesmerizes everyone, the view from the cottage rooms are excellent. They are maintaining a sports room and play area near the cottages. The staff are friendly and co operative.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krishna1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Thank you Sir for the review, it is of immense value to us. We are overjoyed to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our stay at hill country resort was just worth every bit. We were a group of 24 people and had thoroughly enjoyed our 2day stay at this resort. I would say no where in ooty youll find the kind of view it offer. More than the view the staff there were on their toes. What hospitality....too good! The food was above average i would say. They had Also arranged for bon fire which like a cherry on cake. I would rate 5/5 for the stay. Yes they can add a bit more variety in the food section and bit more of taste. All in all a pleasant stay at the hill country resort, lovedale.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khush1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Thank you Sir for the review, it is of immense value to us. We are overjoyed to know that you had a memorable holiday experience at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I had booked the room through expedia web site for a stay in ooty. Due to the urgency in my work, at the time of net entry i had mentioned only 2 adults are going to stay, i left out to mention my kids details. In the web site the concern room capacity (premium suit) was mentioned as four because I was not entering my kids details in the net entry. At the time of check in they asked regarding the number of members to stay, I replied 2adults+2kids, but immediately the receptionist asked me to pay additional amount 2038+1019=3057. Finally I paid the amount Rs 2038/ additionally without bill and without any additional amenities(extra bed). Totally I had paid 6096+2038=8134.for Rs 8134/ room is not worth to stay. I never recommend any body to stay at hill country ooty.

Room Tip: sagar holiday resort is very low price compare with hill country
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GUHARAJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Mr. Guhuraj

We are very surprised to read your review. Please be assured that we made full sure to get to the bottom of this issue, since it was pointing to the integrity of the management and staff. This is not something we will tolerate under any circumstance. Our guests and their holidays are very important to us. We have the bills to prove that we did not collect any amount from you at any time during your stay at our resort. We have even waived the Child Charge of Rs. 1289/-(which you were supposed to pay). You have mentioned an amount of 6096, 2038 & 1019??(clearly fabricated).

Total No. of pax : 2 Adults + 2 Children (1 Child :7 years & 1 Child : below 5year). Through Expedia you have made a payment of Rs.6596/- {Bill F3375 : Rs. 5995/- ; Bill No. 4459: Rs. 600/- } . THERE WAS NO EXTRA CHARGE COLLECTED FROM YOU AT THE RESORT. Further to which CCTV footage confirm that you did not pay neither did we collect any extra amount. We would be sending you both the bills & the CCTV footage for your clarification. If you still believe that you have paid an extra amount, our Corporate Office contact details are mentioned on our Tripadvisor page and we will be sending you our contact details along with our email to you.

Please not that you will soon get by email:

Scanned Copy of Bill No. F3375 (Room Bill)
Scanned Copy of Bill No. 4459 (Food Bill)
CCTV footage (Showing the entire transaction between you and our Front Office Manager.)

Please be assured that if you as our guest has been wrongly charged for anything, We as the management will take strict action against who ever has done so.



Regards
Hill Country Hotels & Resorts India Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The resort is a 10 km before the main ooty city and has a splendid view of the valley and mountains. The property is very well maintained. This also has indoor sports room and bonfire. Good homely food in restaurant.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Harpreetsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Thank you Sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
519 reviews
3.2 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,003 reviews
2.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
499 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
680 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale

Address: Valley View Granduff Road | Lovedale, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643003, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £52 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the slope of a gentle hill in the Nilgiri range, overlooking the breathtaking Ketti Valley, the resort provides the perfect escape from the demanding city life. A quiet undisturbed hamlet just a few kilometers short of Ooty, the setting is idyllic and the weather salubrious. For the romantics among you, there is no better place to reignite those sparks as you serenade your partner amidst the gentle hill slopes and wild blossoms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing