We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Silver Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Silver Oak
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent 6 days at this hotel. The room and the bathroom is a little cramped, but decent enough. Staff is good and the food is quite good. The only drawback is the lack of a lift, difficult for elderly guests to climb up and down the stairs. The restaurant serves quite a decent meal. Our room did not have any cupboard, hence we had to make use of the shelves provided, to keep our clothes.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the town have access to the sun and natural light but rooms at the back face a school a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RintuB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Good Hotel with decent food. Recommended for Family stay. In fact I had gone through the reviews before booking at this hotel. The travel facility is also reasonable. The location of this hotel is helpful to reach places like rose garden, boat house, botanical garden etc.,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank sashssk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Was there for 2 days and had a nice stay in the hotel. The room was clean and neat and also the bathrooms. The climate was cool and able to feel the same inside the rooms. Without the carpets the rooms will be too much chill. Also the service to the rooms were really good.
But when it comes to the restaurant the service is really poor and not upto the limit they charge.

Room Tip: Choose an Executive room since it will have the carpet in which you wont feel much of cold but it wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gk11partha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in Silver oak from 18th April to 20th April . The room was good. The room was upgraded from Deluxe to Executive. I booked thru' makemytrip.com. The check in was quick. The only thing missing was smiling faces of the reception staff we are not able to understand. The Sumukha's restaurant was good for Veg. Complimentary breakfast provided The hotel was located nearer to Rose garden and Botannical garden. The travel agency in the hotel arranged for cab. The trip was good.
The one disadvantage is there is no lift (my room was in the third floor) and the towels provided were not fresh on the second day. Also the bathroom cum toilet was bit cramped.
If you want to stay with family at a reasonable rate Silver oak is good.

Room Tip: Frontside Rooms in 1st and 2nd floor preferable as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sriram N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel is located on a hilly place. Rooms are small and just ok. The bed linen and towels are dirty. The bed spreads looked untidy and smelly. No fan/ AC in rooms (may be not needed for Ooty weather). There is an attached restaurant serving vegetarian cuisine, but the food is average. Considering that Ooty is an over crowded place which has lost its old charm, the view from the hotel is also not good.
I will not recommend this place for people who want a memorable holiday. May be for business travelers like me, its just about ok.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shreenivas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed in hotel for 3N and 4D for honeymoon. No disturbance on all days. Service is excellent and helping. Beside hotel restaurant food was tasty especially chinese and south dishes. Receptionist were very friendly and provided excellent service to visit nearby places.

Room Tip: You just need to look for nice wiew room, because all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajesh969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I was in Silver Oak for 2N and 3D with my family. It was awesome staying in the hotel. I was very surprised for a Non A/C room to be so chill. The ventilation in the room was Good. But as the room was very cold we could not open the windows.

Location of the hotel is a plus point. Very near to ooty bus stand and other places. Room service was excellent. Housekeeping was done every day. Hot water supply was good. The hotel's kitchen named "Sumukha's kitchen (Veg food only)" served excellent food. Food service (Dinner time) was very slow but the taste of the food was worth the delay. We loved the South Indian lunch served at the kitchen :)

The staff in the hotel were good. I would like to thank their manager "Mr. Ramakrishnan" for his support. He was very helpful.

The hotel has travel services which we took for going around Ooty and Coonoor. The driver was very helpful and drove well.

We also bought products from their shop "Silver Oak Nilgiri Products". The products were of good quality and decent price.

Overall I loved staying in this hotel and enjoyed Ooty a lot.

Room Tip: Rooms in Second floor will be suitable for all the people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haribabu104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
828 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#15 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
639 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#18 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#29 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ponmari Residencyy
Ponmari Residencyy
#28 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
319 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Oak

Address: Ettines Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £24 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Silver Oak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Silver Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silver Oak India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing