We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beauty in eyes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Ooty
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beauty in eyes”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in A4. The rooms were big and well maintained ,with excellent garden and mayura sudarshan hotel is best, beautifull, cheap in ooty.... All staffs are well co operated. its run by KARNATAKA GOVT . Thanks to KSTDC .........

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Divdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    81
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
98
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here from 20th to 22nd October 2012. Booked online through karnatakaholidays.net. I lost my way to hotel on my to Ooty, however the manager helped me in getting into hotel quickly by giving the right directions and landmarks.

Reservation and Check In:
Very smooth reservation through karnatakaholidays.net and staff was very co-operative in helping us to check in. They allotted a room and as I had told my preference of having a room in the main building itself. He also told me that there is a buffet lunch available and I can have it before the crowd comes.

Food:
Though there is no main focus on the food, the staff was courteous enough and asked our preferences for the food and prepared the food. The lunch normally would be a buffet with Karnataka Tourism travelers joining in. The staff even told us to have the lunch before that so that we can comfortably have the lunch before the crowd. Infact, staff even got us some good hot bajji/pakoda on the day it was raining heavily.

Stay:
After reading reviews and room tips in Tripadvisor, I have specifically asked for a room in the main building itself. A cozy room though not with high luxury, but certainly, well maintained and very very spacious. The bathroom and toilets were very clean. It was raining heavily in Ooty during the period, even then staff had taken extra pains to maintain the cleanliness.

Amenities:
Hotel has a beautiful garden maintained by Karnataka Horticulture department. The space in front is too huge, even a movie shooting can be done there. Kids had a good time playing there and we had taken a lot of snaps in this place. Other amenities like newspaper at lobby was available.
Ample car parking space was also available.


Location:
Very close to Good shepherd school, though it’s a bit difficult to reach in case you don’t have your own transport. If you have a vehicle, accessibility to the lake, botanical garden and local market would be very easy.

Billing & Reservation:
Reservation was very smooth through the internet and also, the manager was very helpful in confirming the reservation and also guiding us to reach the hotel. Billing did not have much of a problem and staff had explained to us all the extra charges incurred.

Over all very satisfied with the stay. One tip is that select the rooms in the main building.

Room Tip: Select the rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank msvariar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very ideal hotel, if you prefer to be away from the crowd. But own/hire a vehicle for taking care of your food needs. The hotel is mostly meant for "Fly by night - package tours" from Karnataka tourism.

If you book through internet, you will be "forced" to book "so called" suit, as other
rooms are shown as "already booked". Better call the hotel reception and confirm. (0423 2443828 or 08970650052-Mr.Suresh / Mr.Shashil) Tariff Rs.2000 / 1400 /1200 + 20% tax)

Hotel staff are polite and courteous.

Stayed between 21st to 23rd Sep-2013 as family.

K.Srinivasan
mailksrinivasan@gmail.com

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We - two couples stayed 2 nights at this property in last week. This is a decent hotel in budget at Ooty. Rooms were big but simple - old fashioned furnitures was there in the room. A3 and A5 was absolutely garden facing room. The property is as big as the Botanical Garden of ooty - even the garden was much better decorated and maintained. Food options were limited but those are cheap and tasty. We found the non veg preparation was better than that of veg.

The Manager, Suresh is a very helpful chap - he helped us a lot for direction of different routes in the Ooty city and around.

Location wise - it was just 2km from Lake and 3Km from Bus-stand. 80% of this property is having open area and flower garden. There is a wonderful view of wide range of hills amidst fog.

Overall - it was an average experience in Mayura Sudarshan.

Room Tip: We stayed at A3 and A5. Those rooms were big and having one extra room inside as well as big toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amit_Kumar_Ghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel is situated in a nice place. As usual govt hotel, very less number of staff. The room and bathroom always stinks. Bed sheet and blankets are full of stains. If you ask to change they will just change with it some other room. Over all the hotel is not good to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 467Ashok123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel is owned by KSTDC. As with all government hotels, do not expect prompt service and cleanliness. Also the food lacked variety and was nothing special.
But once you have got rid of this baggage, this hotel is a nature lovers paradise. The garden attached to the hotel is owned by the Horticulture department. The lawns are well manicured. It stretches down right to the bottom of the valley. There are paved winding paths which take to you below to a small water tank. There is also a small tea garden. In short, the perfect place to take long idle strolls! You can also walk along the road outside, which will take you to the tea garden visible from the garden.
The hotel is located on Fern Hill. It would be helpful to have your own vehicle with you. If not, hotel will arrange for autos, which charge a minimum Rs 80-100 for rolling down a kilometer or two down the hill.
We went in the month of May. The weather was pleasant with light showers in the evening. Hotel Sudarshan provided a tranquil place to relax in an otherwise crowded town of Ooty.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saswata88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Visited in mid of July. Since it is rainy season not many guests in the hotel. We had option to select the room. We got a good room sitting area and nice view of the garden outside. The bed and room was decently clean when we entered. Bathroom was good with all modern fittings but washbasin was not cleaned properly. We informed them to clean the bathroom and basin when we were out for dinner but it was not cleaned. We did not use the wash basin throughout our stay.
We stayed there for 2 days. We expected them to do a round of cleaning on the second day of our stay, but they did not do it. On our second day, prover was not there due to some grid failure. They turned on the generator for only an hour in the night and an hour in the morning. because of power failure water heaters fitted in bathroom will not work. So they supplied hot water in buckets for bathing.
Even though it was offseason, we did not get any discount on prices. Charges 1200 + taxes = Rs. 1400/- per day. Food served is average quality with extra cost.

They hotel is located in the campus of Karnataka horticulture dept. So the space and garden around the hotel is very good.
Overall experience was not bad. If they improve the maintenance, it will be a very good hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Choose a on the front side in the main building. These rooms are more airy and you get good view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdarshBhadravati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#14 of 82 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Hills International
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#15 of 82 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.5 mi away
The Willow Hill
The Willow Hill
#18 of 82 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#19 of 82 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty

Property: Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Address: Fern Hill, Ooty 643004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 3-hour drive from Mysore, the picturesque hill-station of Ooty in Tamil Nadu is a popular destination for vacationers. Nestled in the Nilgiri Hills, Ooty is known for its beautiful lake and vast Botanical Garden. The hills around the town abound with evergreen forests, small streams, waterfalls and views of the verdant valleys. Karnataka Hotels Ooty is located in the beautiful green environs of Fern Hill, close to both the bus-stand and the railway station. The accommodation at the hotel consists of 2 suites, 2 deluxe rooms, 9 double bed rooms and 11 three bed rooms. An excellent restaurant provides a range of cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing