We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location, Worth the stay....”
Review of Destiny Farmstay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Destiny Farmstay
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, Worth the stay....”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed there for 3 days, location of the resort is excellent. You get a picturesque view from the room. Resort has activities like fishing, horse riding, indoor games, picnic near the lake..The staff are friendly and courteous. Reception staff Sanjay was very helpful. Food was good. Spa experience was very relaxing. Best resort to stay if you want to have a relaxed stay amidst the nature... Definitely recommend to visit once...Thank You Destiny..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrashanthDixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    182
    59
    8
    8
See reviews for
336
117
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

After visiting Ooty for little less than half a dozen of times, it is hard to find any place that would charm you enough to visit the place again. But we did stumble upon this magnificent resort tucked in the lush green forests of Red Hills. 30KM from Ooty town this place is a nature lovers paradise. We had taken the bus till Ooty. Destiny Farm Stay had arranged for a cab for pickup from the Ooty Bus stop, at an extra charge of Rs 1000. Charles, the driver a very friendly person drove us down to the parking lot of the resort.
From here we were picked up by jeep to the resort. Depending on the group size the resort arranges for either a jeep or an army truck. he car parking in Destiny is about 2km away from the actual farm stay, and the road beyond that does not permit normal sedans or hatchbacks to get to the actual farm stay as its very slushy, extremely bumpy and risky in terms of damage to the vehicles. As we reached Destiny Farm Stay we were dumbstruck at the beauty of the place. Perched on a hill with magnificent views of the lakes and valleys in the front and the hill as the backdrop, this is a fantastic place.
The rooms themselves are nestled neatly along a row overlooking a valley created by more than few mountain slopes. This is the valley where sloped farming is done. The rooms were large with two single beds put back to back.The farming itself consisted of many different type of flowers, cabbages, carrots and the likes being cultivated there.In addition to this they had a horse stable with at least 3-4 horses who would take you for a ride at a specified time in the mornings with supervision on a high ground area.
In addition to this were a large amount of cows, and some sheep.
There were also ducks which were near the pond down the valley. You can also enjoy fishing by the pond during the morning hours. You can take a short morning trek to another resort owned by the Little Earth Group which is tucked into the dense forest. At night a bonfire is lit in the garden area and you could order from a list if barbecue that are on offer. There are quite a few complementary activities that one can enjoy throughout the day and also a few paid activities that are there on offer.

Please be advised that there are NO medical facilities anywhere nearby at least for a good 20+ KM, so you have to take all medical supplies that you might need. And the medicine supply that is there in house is not adequate.

The restaurant is quite adequate and there are quite a few options of food that one could chose from.
The avalanche lake is not far from the resort and you could cross the electric fence and take a trek down to the lake. The lake is a truly pristine lake with crystal clean water.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank prynkray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed at the place for two days. Excellent location, well maintained property, lots of activities to keep our two active children engaged and best of all, there was no TV in the room. Children were forced to be outside and they did enjoy!!! We had a view of most of the property from the balcony, so we could keep an eye on the children.The activity room is a bit away. Food was tasty, but we had mild stomach discomfort on second day. Staff, though not well trained, are extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent place for families with active children.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank subashjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel in May 2014 ( 24 and 25 ) for 2 nights. The Drive ( 22 kms) from Ooty to the hotel is very scenic, but the drive ( 2 km) from the parking lot to the Hotel breaks your back. Once inside the hotel its a beautiful place with large view of the valley from each room.
Kids had great fun doing Horse Riding, Fishing, Farming, Bonfire, Photography. The food was good. They can add more fun to bonfire/ Barbecue with some items that can be sold to customers like Butta ( Corn) etc so that the kids/family can enjoy doing barbecue by themselves.
Had good sleep for these 2 nights as there was no TV and Mobile service to disturb you.
The team ( Mahalakshmi, SK and all others) take good care of you when you reach there.
Must stay place for family if you are tired of the busy ooty town which was crowded.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandru_M1139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lets me and try and analyse the experience over various parameters

Accomodation - Definitely pricey! We stayed in the basic "Comfort" room which was kind of okay but definitely if you pay so much, you would expect more. The bathroom for instance, was extremely spartan, though clean.

Food - Definitely yummy! I believe the veggies used are all from their own farm and trust me, food at Destiny farm was easily one of the better experiences I have had in a resort in the last few year

Activities - They are classified into the complimentary and the paid for activities. The latter, in my view, was extremely more highly priced than normal. However, the killer was the complimentary activities. Where else would you find horse ride as a free activity and that twice a day! Others like Fishing, basic indoor/outdoor games, evening karaoke singing, Fishing, bonfire etc were also time well spent.

What worked the best for me - The food, the excellent location of the Farm and most importantly the people working. Always the extra smile and effort to make the guest's stay comfortable. Mahalakshmi, Shantha Kumar were two names I could easily think of. But there were also the team in the restaurant who were not far behind.

What did not work - Definitely, no TV, no newspaper and no mobile connectivity. Whatever we may say and prepare ourselves for, not having these was very difficult to manage.

Will I recommend - Oh yes. Surely. But my view is that kids would enjoy it more than the adults. And for the adults to enjoy, it would help to come in a group of 3 to 4 families/friends!

Room Tip: Choose Block B - It is away from the Block A and means the kitchen sound wont disturb you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Balaji_Rajagopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have stayed in this hotel in May 2013 for 2 days with family (2 kids), had a great experience.
The location is awesome with great food & outdoor activities. The employees are very customer friendly with 24/7 room service. The only drawback is the cost of the food & we don't have any option to go out & eat since it is located a little far from the city. Since this place is out of the city, its not possible to visit the tourists spots, this place is for those who want to spend a relaxed day in the farmstay itself.

Kids really enjoyed this place seeing the animals, horse-ride, fishing & games.

Overall, a great place to stay & enjoy ooty.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subramani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I always wanted to spend a few days on a farm. The daughter wanted to learn horse riding, the wife wanted fresh air, the elder daughter wanted to laze. All this, and more! excellent food, riding lessons, clean comfortable rooms, WW II landrover to ferry you, plenty of activities, Karaoke, no disturbance from TV, MOBILE, EMAIL OR EVEN NEWSPAPER! enjoyed 3 dry days!

Room Tip: chose the ground floor ones if you dont tolerate the cold. the top floor ones are super spacious. ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raj_benedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
11.1 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
9.0 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
987 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
508 reviews
9.5 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
376 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#7 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destiny Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Farmstay

Property: Destiny Farmstay
Address: Muligoor Village, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Destiny Farmstay 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Destiny Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Farmstay India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing