We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Welbeck Residency
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Hotel has a nice vintage car at the entrance, but we can't touch or hop into it. The rooms in the hotel were comfortable but had problems with hot water for cool climates. The service was average and the food was too sub standard. The rooms are good for a stay but please dont pick up the breakfast and the buffet deals. We in fact enjoyed food at Pankaj Bhojnalaya and a Pizza place which was a 10 minutes drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanket_medhekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    49
    26
    16
    17
See reviews for
75
54
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I visited my wife's family in January 20012 in India for my first time. They booked a trip to Ooty, Mysore and Bangalore to give me a taste of South India. The Wellbeck was my favorite hotel of the trip. The rooms were clean and decently large, the hotel was in good shape, and the food was a mixture of South Indian and Western dishes (so we were all happy). The staff was by far the best part of the package. We were traveling with my brother-in-law's 2 year old son and he and they became fast friends. They also gave good advice on where to eat, places to visit, and even which taxi to use. I did not book the room, so I have no comment on the value of it, but everyone else was happy with the hotel, so I know it was a good value to them.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamnagar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

we stayed for 3 days, and the hospitality and behavior of all the staff was very good. The breakfast offered was very nice above all the management desk has been very helpful and always eager to help out

Room Tip: very good hotel @ around 2k
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank amit j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Rooms very basic but very clean , inside the hotel decorated to a very high standard , food buffet only available so did not try the food , however breakfast was fine and selection of food was good for the price of the room , no drinks available at night but location of hotel for ooty was good .
The hotel was fine for One night stay if touring the area , staff very friendly which makes your stay a pleasure .

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Sonbou10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I will definitely prefer to stay here but there are few points to be noted:

I stayed there for couple of days. Found OK to stay in Ooty.

Pros:
1. Welcoming was good, nice reception, always helpful
2. Security, ambiance was good
3. Location was nicely reachable, reachable hotels, reachable market, medical shop, dhabas, 50-80 Rs. auto pay to reach anywhere like Boat club, Botanical Garden, Railway/Bus station in Ooty
4. Quality breakfast, Hindi/English speaking staff

Cons:
1. Cleaning/housekeeping was not done regularly
2. TV Cable was not regular
3. Hot water supply was discontinuous
4. Breakfast quality was good but service was not consistent. Took lot of time to get the buffet ready.
5. Scenery from room window was not pleasant.


  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
6 Thank Rohan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

our trip was good interms of clean rooms,very nice and hospitable staff.Very good breakfast buffet.They went out of their way helped us since our bus was at night.The travel desk helped in getting a car for sightseeing.The car was in horrible condition,more the driver who forced us to buy tea from a shop which did not look authentic.Took us to a restaurant which charged hugely but served horrible food.More than that he promised us that he will drop us to the bus stop at night and took from us the whole money.And then at the nick of time he did not turn up saying that he cannot come and the travel desk will send another driver.When we spoke to the travel desk,said he knows ,he asked us to arrange for an auto and leave.The hotel was not able to help us on this.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front side are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Moumita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

A reasonably Good Hotel ,though 3 star rating seems high. However having seen others reviews , I do not agree that the staff were discourtious or unwilling to help.

It is centarlly located ,however parking is a problem ( Only 15 car park) Food was average ,but our stay was pleasant ,the weather was excellent .

Room Tip: Rooms on Ground floor are good option for Senior citizens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NairPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
792 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Willow Hill
The Willow Hill
#23 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
675 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#19 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ponmari Residencyy
Ponmari Residencyy
#24 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Welbeck Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Welbeck Residency

Property: Hotel Welbeck Residency
Address: Welbeck Circle, | Club Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Welbeck Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Welbeck Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Welbeck Residency India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing