We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”
Review of Maneck Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maneck Residency
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed there in December during high season. First we tried Hotel Maneck and the guy there was very helpful and got us a room at the Residency. Price was okay but staff there hardly spoke any English. The room was big enough and gave a clean impression. We gave them our laundry and from first promising to get it back 6p.m it moved up to 10p.m., then to 9a.m. when we got it still wet. They dried it again but it stank afterwards more than before. We stayed right at the first floor were it was very loud as the window was shared with the neighboring room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

The place is good with good service.I have been there twice and liked the hotel stay

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Atul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Been here twice-Once by fate, once by choice
Decided to pack off to ooty with my family on one extended weekend two years back.-Very bad decision-Ooty was packed-We couldn't find any hotel-with crowds waiting outside. Luckily we came across this hotel and they had just got one room vacated.I got a deluxe double room with an additional sofa bed for Rs. 2500/night. Seemed expensive but the room was ok. The location is within the city and close to market and railway station. Since it's within the city, there is no view from any room.The double bed was comfortable and they had an LCD TV. Bathrooms were ok. They had also put up a english style cap and umbrella in the rooms-we took photos wearing that one. However this hotel has no food service and pathetic room service. At night we came in around 9PM and these people informed they can't serve any food. we had to do with bread and biscuits as we were too tired to go out. We had requested additional bedsheets and blankets which came after nearly two hours of constant reminding and were not so clean.Also all attendants seem to vanish at night. Thankfully we got hot water in morning. Just stayed there for a day.

Next visit- 7 months back. Visited ooty with some of my relatives on weekdays. Since i had stayed here before, i decided to check this out. Same room available at Rs 1000, after some bargaining, the manager gave us two room at 900 each. The rooms were similar though the cap and umbrella were gone. They still do not offer proper kitchen-they get food from some other hotel and that takes a long time and you have to order in advance. The room service has gone worse. The rooms were not so clean and they still take hours to send anybody and they seem to be perennially short of blankets and bedsheets. But given the price we got, i guess we can't ask much.

Room Tip: all rooms similar. If you are with kids try to get one with additional sofa bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandeepknp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Please if u are in a mood to spend ur good time in a heaven like OOTY then don't even think to go in this HOTEL called thing.The hotel manager was the worst person I have ever seen in my entire life.Charges were like that if I was being provided the luxurious hotel in the town.Condition of room was like hell when I checked-in,things were smelling like we were on the shore of garbage.When I asked for room freshner,I had been told to wait for a while but spray did come after meals means after 5 hours.I was not able to change that hotel b'coz I paid the entire amount in the advance at make-my-trip after seeing the picture of that hotel.The funniest thing was that the hotel I had been shown earlier,was not the same hotel,that was hotel "THE MANECK" not the " MANECK RESIDENCY" that is the other hotel at the other part of the road but of the same owner.This is the strategy they have made so that the hotel whatever a person usually see on the internet,he can never see the hotel like that after reaching there.A person suffering with the same issue was there when I was checking-out.Hotel manager was an egoist not a buisnessman,he was an absolute money minded person.I had been given hotel 'THE MANECK" in place of 'maneck residency",immediately after reaching there when I asked there that this is not the same room I had been shown earlier on internet,he was not ready to listen to that.I got shifted from there after taking the difference amount of Rs. 1200/- for two nights.It was ridiculous for me b'coz I was facing such issue first time in my life.My friend was staying in some other hotel in the same time,I can't tell u that what the environment he had been provided in that hotel & at just half rate.I told many of my friends to stay away from this hotel who were planning to come to OOTY in near future.This is my humble request as a human to not to visit this place b'coz this place is really not for humans.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank raj2172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

I booked the 3 rooms in the hotel by seeing the reviews about it. Confirmed the booking over phone also. While starting the journey, I informed the Manager Mr. Ranjeet of the Hotel. When I reached there, I found that only 2 rooms are booked and one room is not booked in my name. I argued and finally got the room.

The Manager is not professional and very rude person. The rooms are not clean. Bath rooms are unbearable. Toileteries are not provided. Towers are not wahed. The hotel has no restaurant.

The tariff is very very high. Good hotels with all excellent amenities are offering rooms with less tariff compared with this Maneck hotel.

It is a nightmare in that hotel. Our total trip was spoiled because of that hotel. Please Please don't go to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saidaHyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

had to ask for the bed sheets to be changed on arrival as they were dirty, modern room but damp.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murraymint48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

I booked the hotel after finding its telephone no. over the net. It was a nice stay. Though they charged a little extra. But hotel was good with aminities except a gyser in house. You had to wait for hot water.

Staff was very nice and friendly behaviour.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Saurabh j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Blue Bird
Hotel Blue Bird
#62 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
45 reviews
0 mi away
OYO 8731 Bell flower
OYO 8731 Bell flower
#37 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanjay Hotel
Sanjay Hotel
#41 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sapphire Garden View
Hotel Sapphire Garden View
#71 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nilgiris Inn
Nilgiris Inn
#44 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
#55 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maneck Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maneck Residency

Address: Lower Bazaar Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 94 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £14 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maneck Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maneck Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maneck Residency India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing