We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE "RESORT"”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Doddabetta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doddabetta Resort
Ranked #91 of 134 Ooty B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE "RESORT"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Least said, the better it is about this property. It is a shame it is called a resort. No reception, no phone, no bath towels or soap provided, dirty linens, and to top it all - terrible service. It is an out and out "NO-NO."

Room Tip: Don't ever opt for this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank apu2985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    2
    4
    11
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puttur, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is not a Resort only a lodging. Rooms and Bath rooms are good, clean and spacious. But not painted properly. It has one spacious common living room for each two rooms block.

Staffs are not well trained. bath towels are not provided. Linens are average. If you have own vehicle, then it is ok, because 4 kms away from town. For food better to go to town. If you like silent village location and like a simple setup then only choose this.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamakrishnaSullia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ooty
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We booked this resort through EXPEDIA.COM as they said that it is a good resort to stay with.Hence we booked the same for 2 days i.e 23rd May and 24th may 2012 by paying full advance of Rs.5000/- for 2 days but as we reached there we found that it not a resort but it is a 3rd standard ordinay hotel,no phone is rooms,power sockets were borken,the entire room is working with one CFL lamp only.Only breakfast and dinner will be provided that too the order for the morning tea will be taken after 7.30am only.When we make compalaint about the same to Expedia they only expressed their sympathy also we told them that we dont want to stay there as there is no ROOM SERVICE,No House Keeping,No Phone to Call the Reception and we want refund for the 2nd day, they are unable to provide the same instead they provide us a case ID and told us that after we check out we have to inform the same to EXPEDIA which we did when we check out on 24 th morning at 7.40 AM but nothing happened all went in vain.
It is better to stay in a good hotel at Ooty city and visit Doddabeta from there only.

So dear all friend dont ever look for this propery it will be a 100% loss for your valuable money, time and mood.

Room Tip: Dont book this property for your stay at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dibbendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ooty hotels

Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Travelling to Ooty, everyone one of us have a lot of expectations, however when you check-in to a “so called resort” like DODDABETTA you are going to be utterly disappointed!! The location of the resort is wonderful, but that's not all one looks for!! After all you haven't travelled all the way to Ooty, just to witness the scenic beauty. It's a very small property to start off with, it has around 16 double room, which apparently have been again categorised under different classes (god knows how, they look the same from interior as well as exterior). Getting there is a pain if you don't have your personal vehicle, hiring a cab would cost you no less than 200 INR, where as an auto rickshaw would cost you around 150 INR, that too if you are a 'good negotiator'. Its 6 kms up-hill journey form the Ooty Bus stand or Railway station. Coming back to the city centre would cost you around 100 INR (without luggage) 150-200 INR (with luggage). In addition to that the local state road bus service is fairly regular, costs 5 INR for the same distance; however the buses will either be crowded or over crowded on most occasions. Resort looks okay from outside, the horror strikes once you get in! And you suddenly start feeling, is it worth the bucks I have spent, let me tell you it’s just the beginning. All hell is going to cut loose now:
* Rooms are not clean.
* Bed sheets-pillow covers are not changed daily.
* Hand or bath towels are not offered.
* No bathroom amenities like soap, shampoo, shower-cap, etc.
* The food quality is not acceptable n highly over-priced.
* Don’t offer you extra bed; instead they give extra mattress to sleep on the floor.

All in all you don't feel the actual vibe of a tourist destination like Ooty, except for the view the resort offers, courtesy its location.

So please look out other options, preferably in the city centre, unless otherwise you have fascination of staying on a hill top, when already at a hill station, if so there a few other options and a few new properties coming up.

The tourist peak season is just round the corner, don’t get disappointed, have a wonderful time with your friends and family!! Cheers....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank ishansp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Please dont go by the pictures they have posted. No proper maintainance, the hotel surrounding is full of garbage disposed and is smelling badly. the water supply in the rooms which was alloted as a suite to us were not there.On asking we were told that they are waiting for plumber. the towels which they supplied was very dirty and stained. Bed sheets were stained and dirty. For 4 people they gave 2 towels and water and glasses were provided after repeated asking. Food was very horrible. Its total Wastage of Money to land here

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Payel_Swarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Hi, This is one of the worst resort in my life. I had seen the review comment here but I did not believe that. Please avoid booking in this resort. Do not have room service, toilet horrible. no bed sheet and pillow.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jiten011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

One of the most horrible places to stay. Please dont go by the pictures, the place is not even close to anywhere near to what is shown. All i could do was to stay for one day and it was hell. The basic facilities like clean bathroom, working taps and clean water are not there in this place. For every thing u need to go to the reception where nobody will be there to assist you. They supply some smelly, dirty brown coloured water and say this i what they get to supply. Food...i dont think even animals will eat it. We ordered for vegatable fried rice, chappathi and dal. The fried rice had only salt .. no vegatables in it and dal had only turmeric. My whole trip got screwed bcoz of this stupid place and staff. I would strongly and highly recommend not to stay at this place. Its ok even u dont have a booking, but dont stay at this place

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly and negotiate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank satish_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.1 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 79 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kluney Manor
Kluney Manor
#33 of 79 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
4.6 mi away
Mount 'n' Mist
Mount 'n' Mist
#1 of 134 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doddabetta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doddabetta Resort

Property: Doddabetta Resort
Address: Near Dodabetta Junction,, Ooty 643002, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Doddabetta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Doddabetta Resort India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing