We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average property!”
Review of Deccan Park Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deccan Park Ooty
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as our booking was at the last moment and all star hotels were booked in ooty.
Its a nice property. With decent stay. Location is good. Away from the hussle bussle of city. Quite calm place.
But food is bad. No taste and no variety.

You can stay here if you like peaceful locations and have mid size budget.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank exploretheworld2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

After so many visits to Ooty, I wanted this vacation to be a relaxed one where I can just lay back and relax myself from the daily schedule. Search started to get a decent resort a little outside the city (was not interested in the normal tourist places like lake/gardens etc as I have seen them numerous times). Saw this resort and liked it. Since this was the peak season, rate was bit on the higher side but I decided to give it a shot. Go to this place if you are looking for calm and just laze around. This place has almost pin-drop silence and you can spend some nice quality time.


The resort is located towards Ooty lake side further up around 3-4 km, This place is ideal if you have your car/taxi otherwise transportation will be a problem. It’s a steep climb of 100-200 meters from the main road but can be easily done in 1st gear.

Now about the property and the amenities. Overall the cottages are very nice and clean with all facilities like room heater, LCD TV, mini fridge etc. All cottages have a connected balcony which overlooks a small valley below. They have all the amenities like basketball, TT, snooker, badminton, carom etc, children park, a small gym and sauna centre. Overall many activities to keep you occupied. They offer complementary buffet breakfast. The restaurant is pure vegetarian and I would say I got pretty decent north Indian food for lunch and dinner.

Things that can be improved:
1. They can do better landscaping and make the resort greener. May be I visited in May (which is normally a dry season); I found it less green as per my liking.

2. When you pay a premium price, you expect all the facilities, although bathrooms were neat and clean with all modern accessories; the hot water supply was only 1 bucket at a time. After that, you wait for another 30 min to get another bucket. When reported to management, they told that they have geysers which have only that much capacity. Not acceptable.

Room Tip: You can choose any of the cottages overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highway_Star_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Deccan Park Resort after OOTY lake and in terms of location it was a little difficult to reach the resort as their are no proper roads and also the road is very narrow.

Distance from main OOTY market is 4-5 KMS.

Buffet spread was good. Everything was tasty.

Check-in and Check-out was hassle free. Rooms were big and spacious.
Toilets were clean.

They have facility for drivers too.

They have GYM and kids play area.

Overall a good property and we did not face any problems during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very good stay option and lot of open space around and natural beauty. Ample parking. Excellent veg food. Restaurant is small and they recommend only buffet food. Very friendly reception staff. Slightly out of main city but that is its plus point.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Check-in and check-out was hassle free. The location of resort is quiet and is a bit away from the Ooty town. Adequate direction information for reaching the resort. Watch for a lot of pot holes en route the narrow roads leading to resort.
A good place if you are going with kids as there are lot of play areas. Rooms are maintained well except for obvious plastering touch up works which spoil the otherwise perfect ambiance.
Restaurant strictly serves vegetarian food (bit costly though). Complimentary breakfast has adequate varieties, though, I wouldn't call them excellent when compared to other resorts I have stayed with.

Pros:
1) Calm and neat place
2) Hotel staffs are very professional and behave well
3) Well maintained rooms and bathrooms

Cons:
1) Flies in spite of keeping the room doors shut. You can see flies everywhere (incl. restaurant).
2) For the price charged, free internet could have been provided
3) Roads approaching the resort are very bad in shape. Watch for pot holes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank pdydeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were looking for a hotel with good comfort and excellent food and found one - Deccan Park Resort. I suppose, the only resort offering its travellers a complete VEG experience. The hotel was nice and comfy. The staff equivalently good. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank u_kitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Pros.
1.Nice play area for kids is one main reason to choose this place as I have to make sure that my 2yr old son shouldn't get bored :)

2.Good vegetarian food. Enjoyed the complementary buffet breakfast

3.Away from city crowd, calm and quiet place


Cons.
1. Nothing too bad. For old people and family with small kids ask for rooms near restaurant. It is a bit exercise to walk the steep path way between parking lot and my rooms which was bit farther

2. The juice provided with breakfast was too diluted. Same story for all days during our stay!
My favorite masala dosa was also missing from the menu.
Didn't complained as other items were very nice

3. People doesn't have own vehicle, ensure arrangement for your transportation

Overall nice staying experience with helping staffs, good rooms and good food :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saif2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
3.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,071 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
640 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#19 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
816 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,236 reviews
2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deccan Park Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deccan Park Ooty

Address: Theetukal, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643 001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £35 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deccan Park Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Deccan Park Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deccan Park Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing