We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and nice property but no service at all!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palve Sugavasam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palve Sugavasam
Ranked #53 of 178 Speciality Lodging in Ooty
traveler
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location and nice property but no service at all!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We liked the room (Emrald) . It is pretty big with common balcony and individual small balcony attached to it. This is the only room in this hotel which has good view and better sunlight.
We liked the room, location and quality of the property.
There is lot of improvement area in service.
This hotel does not have good service staff and manager keeps on running attending all the guests.
Tea, coffee order requires 45-50 minutes and meals at least 1 hour.
They do not have 24 * 7 kitchen and this could be big problem for families with kids or elder people.
They do not even take morning tea order before 7.30 am and actual order is served in 45 mins.
So think twice what is your priority - good location + good room OR prompt service.
And take wise decision.

Room Tip: Emrald rooms are the only good rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler123456_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    43
    21
    14
    21
See reviews for
67
35
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel Staff is worst. they dont treat you as a guest. they think that we have no choice but to wait for their mercy. checked in 1.5 hours late due to their negligence. surprise is the room is too small and have cracks on the walls. bedsheets are dirty.TV is not working. for this they charged 3000 Rupees. for that kind of money i could have got a excellent room in a decent hotel. these guys dont even serve coffe. i had to wait 1 hour to have coffee.

bottom line:- never think of this hotel. you will end up regretting. dont go blindly by the internet photographs . it is not as you see....

Room Tip: Never think of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chandupala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ooty hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had stayed here for for two nights. The food was good. The rooms are spacious. Very nice view of the mountains and tea gardens. The was college group that had come during the same time and they setup bonfire on both the nights with rocking music.
The approach road to the hotel is slightly tricky (steep climb) and could be an issue with small kids.
We would recommend it for families who would like ot stay at the hotel and enjoy near by peace and serenity.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YahanKaunHaiMera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palvesugavasam, Guest Relations Manager at Palve Sugavasam, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you for choosing Palve Sugavasam. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us

Palve Sugavasam has something to entice you with every season. We hope to see you and your family again.

Thanks & Regards,
Ananth
Guest Relationship Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for a Family Trip last couple of days.

Booking :
To Begin with Check in Reservations / Confirmation every thing done via mail and phone. Aravindhan was very helpful and polite in responding to mail and calls.

Check-In:
We had to wait 1/2 hour for check in as they had to clean the room as the previous guests had checked out late and also lack of staffs. But we were provided an alternate room for refreshing.
But things were fine after the Check in we had a comfortable stay. Room was Clean and Bed sheets were clean as well.

Restaurant:
They have a restaurant but not a wide variety of Menu.,Breakfast had a nice spread though, dinner had limited options like Chapathi and Pulkhas with a couple of Veg and Non-Veg Gravies. They take atleast 15 minutes (which was ok for our family) to deliver to your room. But No Coffee / Tea Orders were taken after 7 which was quite a disappointment.. Since you stay on a top floor the room tends to become very cold and you would always like to sip a cup of coffee. Also Early Morning Tea / Coffee orders were available only after 8 AM.. this should be taken care in a place like ooty.

Staff-Behaviour: The Kitchen and Service staffs were really good. But the Manager in Duty has to learn some basic etiquettes. He doesn't seem to know how to speak to guests. One example. When we enquired about dinner he said sir you could order it will take 15 minutes but if you come and eat in restaurant it will be bit quick and also it will be like exercise for you (This is very stupid answer, the guests wont expect this kind of answer and what if they have elderly people)

Check-Out: Check out was very smooth. Bill was ready in 10 minutes once the check out was informed.

Note to Management: Such an Awesome place to stay, you will attract more customers if you can take care of improving your service (at-least provide the manager with some basic training on customer relations) I felt support staffs were rather good in behavior than this manager who claimed he had done in MBA and have applied for M.Phil. Also try to provide coffee / Tea round the clock if not at least from 5AM - 10 PM

Note To Guest:
1) Best if you have your own vehicle as you wont find any shops around.
2) You need to inform and give the key to reception when you move out to site seeing if your room wants to be cleaned else it will be untouched in the way you left.
3) Awesome location to spend your stay. Nice locations around.

Definitely will visit again if the management takes care of the above Cons. I would 100% recommend but taking a step back as i had managed as i knew the local language not all people will be able to.

Room Tip: * Make sure you dont have a connecting room. It can give rise to noise from the other room * If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KrisHnA184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palvesugavasam, Guest Relations Manager at Palve Sugavasam, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Mr. KrishNa,

Thank you for choosing Palve Sugavasam. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and regarding service guest relation we have hired couple of experienced captains and Guest Relations Manager to fill the gap. We have improved tremendously and request you to please visit us once again to feel the difference.

Palve Sugavasam has something to entice you with every season. We hope to see you and your family again.

Thanks & Regards,
Ananth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I along with my family planned a visit to Ooty during mid April 2014. I had booked in advance the Diamond room for 3 days. We drove down from Bangalore and reached the hotel by evening. The staff at the reception were very good and kind. The formalities at the reception were done quickly and the room was given to us without having to wait for long. The room service too was fine. The entire place was surrounded by greenary with tea estate on one side. The place was quite safe to stay with family and we enjoyed the stay over there. There was ample space for car parking. The food at the restaurant was good and we had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant.
The prices were reasonable and the staff were very good.
An excellant place to stay.

Room Tip: Spacious rooms with good view of tea estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj0072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palvesugavasam, Guest Relations Manager at Palve Sugavasam, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you for choosing Palve Sugavasam. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Palve Sugavasam has something to entice you with every season. We hope to see you and your family again.

Thanks & Regards,
Ananth
Guest Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I am bhel employe went on 10 may to 14 may. Hotel manager thambi raj do not know how to talk to a guest. He is completely mannerless. I don't know by which basis appointed a useless culprit on job. Before room allotted they are do not changed bed sheet and dirty blankets and dust bin. There no normal water and hot water facility of 24 hrs . bath room geyser not working. More time complain but even that time manager not response. The worst manager was threats me by he will check out me and he will through my luggage out side. Because he will get all money from bhel office. So I request all friends before booking that hotel we are think 100 times. Otherwise check the room after paid money. Compair then other hotel is bad.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sujit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed recently in this hotel. The service was very bad, which may be attributed to the very high rush of peak season. The hotel is relatively new I suppose, so it will take time to being fully professional. Location is very good, breakfast buffet is totally south indian style. One more problem is that they don't have a proper tours and travel desk, so they would call outside drivers who will charge you more on any of the connoor or pykara trips. The amount which the hotel charge per night which is 2700 rupees and upwards is not a great value for money. Rooms are big though will minimalist furniture. I think it would be better to stay in this hotel in the less peak season (after june), then it would be value for the amount you pay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kalyan-bhattacharjya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.8 mi away
Sabol Holiday Resorts
0.4 mi away
Bouganvilla
Bouganvilla
#4 of 178 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.9 mi away
Delightz Inn
Delightz Inn
#2 of 134 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Zostel Ooty
Zostel Ooty
#3 of 178 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Silver Oak
Hotel Silver Oak
#18 of 134 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairstay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palve Sugavasam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palve Sugavasam

Property: Palve Sugavasam
Address: Bishop Down Road, Ooty 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 178 Speciality Lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palve Sugavasam 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a calm and peaceful surroundings with a breathtaking views from the rooms and a well maintained garden, Palve Sugavasam is an ideal choice for honeymoon couples, small/large families eager to savor and cherish the charming and luxury cottage. By providing all the essential comforts, Palve Sugavasam is a hotel which functions like a home stay and run by a family since 2010, who till date strives to maintain the new world charm with a friendly service. The scenic splendor and the overwhelming serenity provide tourists the opportunity to relax lazily in the lap of nature and have a holiday of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Palve Sugavasam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palve Sugavasam India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing