We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Living.”
Review of Sedgemore Wells

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sedgemore Wells
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We had a wonderful stay out here in Sedgemore Wells. The food was great, people were friendly (especially Prabhu, the cook and Mahadev, his help) and helpful (small things like a bed for the driver, etc.). More than anything it was quiet and away from the hustle bustle of Ooty, while at the same time maintaining the accessibility to the city within 10 minutes. The rooms were spacious, and tastefully decorated. Loved the walks with my family in the quiet bylanes. I would've loved to see a small bon fire, or a 'chula' for warmth to sit outside. Food, while it is great, is a slightly overpriced.

Room Tip: Take the room with the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshokNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a beautiful cottage. The interiors have been done very well. The bedrooms are spacious and toilets are equipped with all modern facilities. Living and dining spaces are good too.

The booking process is very simple and the owners Mr. Pradeep and Mr. Purnan do a wonderful job of hospitality throughout the process of booking, arrival, check-in, stay arrangements, sight seeing instructions and check-out.

Mr. Prabhu, the caretaker, is a very sweet man. He takes care of all your needs during stay like food, water and linen, etc.

The food is quite ok. The breakfast is simple but lunch and dinner can be ordered as per taste. You can even get into the kitchen to make your own tea/coffee (if you need it exactly as you want) and other small items like maggi.

Inform them of your arrival time at least a day before so they will make sure that hot water is available for you for a refreshing bath after you reach.

The only reason why I wouldn't give this a 5 star rating is because of it's location. Though it has a plus of being about 2 km away from the noisy city grounds, it is in a forest area which prohibits loud noises and bonfires. The first thing I wanted here was a bonfire, but we had to settle for the small fire in the fireplace (that too because we were lucky it wasn't occupied).

This place is not suitable for a gang of friends, and I am sure the owners would themselves not promote for the same.

However, a family stay is definitely recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty similar. There is one room with a fireplace. There is one room which is kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sutwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We had a wonderful time at this property and the food was truly delicious as we had all local food like Rasam, Sambar, Karakolambu etc. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quieter Ooty as it is away from the hustle and bustle if the city and is great for morning walks as the traffic is quite low. Truly a homely stay, I would say

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBKiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The plus point is that it is pet friendly.Our dog had lots of space to move around and play.Food was very average,and was ,at least once,catered from outside(bad and chilly hot) during our 2 day stay.The rooms are overpriced at Rs 2800/day,and we found other places where ambience was far better and food excellent-such as Tiffany's ! where prices are competitive.All said,we had an average experience for the money we paid.

Room Tip: try the food at Tiffany's-we found it good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bangalorekrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We really had the best stay in Ooty. The hospitality, food and every minute of our stay was taken care very nicely. Well located,,,, excellent food

Lovely place for kids to enjoy and parents to relax,,,,,

Room Tip: All the four rooms are very nice,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiny_ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.0 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,065 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anmol's Cottage
Anmol's Cottage
#84 of 169 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedgemore Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedgemore Wells

Address: Tamilagham Road | Finger Post, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: £26 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedgemore wells brings you an experience that is essentially 70s, in ambiance and set in a serene environment, away from clamoring crowds and noise here it is all about bird call and sounds sweeping winds, all this just 2 km from the town centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sedgemore Wells India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing