We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
9
6
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
6
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english bungalow care taker chirping property ooty
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2015

The cottage is in a quiet street near Finger Post and borders a wooded area. Decent rooms and a nice garden. The view of the woods is currently blocked by a massive badminton court made with plastic sheets hung on a metal/wood frame.
The service and food leave a lot to be desired. Even though the cottage can only accommodate 8 people (we were 7), there is no place to sit and eat our meals together. Just a tiny table where food is served in a buffet.
When we arrived, there were no towels, toilet paper, soap, etc. in the rooms. We were first told that most guests use their own soap & towels. Later we were told that the previous party left late so there was no time to put amenities back in the rooms.
The caretaker is also the cook and perhaps could use some help.
There was no filter coffee available at any time during our stay. The food in general was average and uninspiring but expensive for the quality.
Breakfast is complementary, but limited to 1 item and toast. Anything extra, like eggs, has to be paid for separately.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015

this place is awesome.
It is more like a colonial house, with a small garden, near to the town.
The housekeeper is very friendly and helping.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and well maintained.
It is a complete family vacation home, with a fireplace and 4 rooms. everything from bedsheets to bathroom to garden was just worth it.

We were 7 people and we rented the whole place, had (complimentary) breakfast. the housekeeper even prepared maggi for us at around 10 in the night. we enjoyed a good chat around the fireplace. Smoking is allowed inside the rooms.

It was a nice experience, we would love to visit again.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. If you are solo or a couple, rent the room that is outside the house. It is secluded from the other inside rooms. has all the similar facilities and has a bathtub. If you are a family or group of >=6 , rent the inside rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gaurav5430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

This property is a hidden jewel. It’s a perfect place for a family of 4. The rooms are spacious and the washrooms are fitted with modern accessories. The place is strategically situated, it’s a 10 minute drive to Ooty Town. The hosts are very pleasant and hospitable. The caretaker Prabhu is brilliant cook, breakfast was good and so was dinner. My family and I had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
6  Thank Mervyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

This is a colonial bungalow (british time construction) situated in a lush green area. It is not a modern hotel at all. But I still loved it because you get a bedroom and use dining hall, drawing room, etc like its your own personal bungalow. I personally am bored with hotels and the rich foods offered. Here the food is prepared on order. The guy goes and gets farm fresh veggies and meat and cooks as per order. Food is local style. Again there's a downside that you have to order early and can't change or increase the order when eating because they don't store any food here. I like the idea. I like to eat local cuisine and taste is not a huge problem with me so far as I'm trying something new. That said the taste was good. Chicken felt light and homemade. Great salad. Breakfast had dosa idli sambar omelette toast tea. All tasted great. But again if you're looking at super modern accommodation with room service that offers everything like commercial hotels then this is not it. This is like a sober home with 4 bedrooms, big hall with a screen. Bathrooms are clean and nice. I think if one was to plan a visit needing 3-4 rooms one could book the entire bungalow. That would be so good. Its super reasonable at Rs 2500 a room with breakfast and for 10k you get the whole bungalow that is built old British way. Something different. Oh and the owner is chilled out and stays next to bungalow. I am still here for another night and writing this review lying down on the Diwan (single bed) in the drawing room. Its pouring outside and quite chilly. Weather is unpredictable so carry a warm jacket. I plan to bring family next time and stay here again. Cheers!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank AshTrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I had stayed here for two days.. Very good and silent ambience.
Its located 2 km fro ooty town.
Apt for family. we were 10 adults and 3 children.
Cook is also very good. very nice food. rooms are spacious, neat.
A badminton court to play. Overall very nice.

Room Tip: Little difficult to find the location. arrange for transport before reach ooty to go to the cottage. Many auto or taxi drivers know about the cottage.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vipinpachat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews