We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Ooty
ahmedabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The staff of fernhill ooty is very helpful. I would specially like to mention the names of mr.bala fromhousekeeping department and mr. Manoharan in dining department for their ccooperation. Thank uvery much tomake the stay of my family memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bgjethani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    444
    124
    42
    61
See reviews for
672
238
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The location of the resort is immaculate and sets it apart. We stayed in a suite overlooking the surrounding plantations and enjoyed every minute of our time spent there. This certainly seems to be the best place to stay in Ooty, considering its location and the hospitality extended to guests. The resort manager Mr. Dilawar Singh was very supportive and ensured that our stay was memorable. Also the activities conducted by Mr. Parikshit were enjoyable and fun, especially the karaoke nights. The renovation being carried out by Sterling in its resorts is quite detailed and certainly needs a special applaud.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prince_ell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were offered a free upgrade to deluxe suite on our arrival. Things got better from there, as the view from our balcony was breathtaking.Really enjoyed the nature and its surroundings, and was a relaxing experience. Restaurant services can be an area of improvement, as a-la-carte was a little slow. Housekeeping staff were very good, special mention for Siva and Senthill.

Room Tip: Deluxe room on 2nd floor offer a panorama view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surajsaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed between Oct 14-18 in Fernhill Ooty. The location is good with beautiful views.

However you need to be cautious, as you can be forced to over pay. While checking out, we found we were overcharged for some activities, on a day when we were out of ooty. While amount itself s very small, instead finding real facts and being professional, there was a public enquiry at the reception.They were hell bent upon forcing their version upon us.

After leaving the resort, we realised they have not returned Rs 460, which was collected in addition to over charging. We called & informed the reception. They confirmed having collected this amount in excess and asked us inform the bank acct. We have provided this immediatly. But even after waiting 2 weeks and reminding them, they didnot refund the amount. Finally to ensure this does not happen again to other clients, I sent a mail to their feedback email id, asking them to forward my mail to their CEO.

Apparantly under pressure they refunded, however never received any response from CEO..

My experience should be a word of caution to other travellers to sterling resorts.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank harsweth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Ooty – Fern Hill. We are deeply concerned that we have given you cause to doubt our integrity. We have conducted an internal enquiry and taken steps to ensure that incidents such as this which lead to our integrity being questioned are not repeated. As per our enquiry, the extra amount was billed by mistake and we deeply apologise for such negligence.

We apologise for any inconvenience and would request that you treat this as an exception and not the norm with Sterling. We are looking into whether your mail was forwarded to our CEO . Please do give us some time on this. Once we trace the mail, you can be assured that you will hear from him.

At Sterling Holidays, we are committed to achieving high customer satisfaction levels and are deeply regretful for the inconvenience caused. Again, we request you to consider the issues you faced as an unfortunate exception.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better by holidaying with us again.


Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I had been to OOTY many many times but our last trip was just awesome and I would say most enjoyable trip. The credit goes only to this place sterling fernhill. A hot coffee in a open balcony viewing most beautiful nature & Delightful garden OMG!!! It was a refreshing experience..
The Mist covered the hotel ....... it was very lovely.
The staffs were all very friendly. Mr. Senthil is such a humble & nice person. Who took care our entire stay as wonderful and amazing.

On the whole it was memorable stay I had in this hotel. I suggest if you are planning for a relaxing trip you can very well trust this hotel and just go.....

Cheers,
Keerthi

Room Tip: Choose a balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chawalakeerthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed in this resort for 3 days and it was really a memorable stay. The facilities are excellent and entire staff is very enthusiastic to provide the service/assistance.The resort is perfect in all respect(Food, Stay, House keeping and other facilities).

Even the shoppy is a very good and we can get the things at very reasonable rates and of very good quality.( we shopped in OOty Market and at Kunoor also and here rates were at par to those at markets)
The resort has done all efforts to make our stay in Ooty a memorable stay.
EspecialIy I would like to mention and thank Mr. Vinod and Mr Bala from house Keeping for their excellent service and making our trip memorable.

I thank all the staff and wish them sucess in winning the hearts of their customers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s4patankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had booked stay at Fern Hill Ooty from November 09 to 11_2013. Breath taking views, Excellent Food, Excellent Stay, and above all, Excellent service from the entire staff of Fern Hill. I also want to take this opportunity to thank and give my excellent review for one of the staff member, Mr. Bala. When we had returned from our long day outing from sigh seeing, his welcoming attitude and his smiling personality was so rejuvenating that we had forgot all our tiredness. He also holds good artistic skill by making animal figures from the towels. He has made all possible approach to make sure that we are comfortable and that there is no problem faced as far as housekeeping is concern. This service is also hard to find in 5 to 7 star hotels sometimes....I am very glad that Mr. Bala was taking care of us and he also has made our stay at Fern Hill a memorable stay. Thank You Mr. Bala and Fern Hill Team !

Rupali Doshi
Mumbai

Room Tip: Prefer Higher Floor to enjoy the view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RupaliDoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty hotels
3.0 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.7 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
1.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
1.3 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
2.0 mi away
Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: 73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty 643 004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ooty
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at one of the highest points in Ooty, this resort has an amazing view of the Nilgiris. Sterling Holidays Fern Hill is set in an alluring scenic location, surrounded on all sides by the ethereal beauty of the Nilgiri Hills. The resort’s sloping roofs and terracotta tiles are reminiscent of the quaint charm of a bygone era. With a heady mix of comfort and tranquility, spending time within the resort is as attractive an option as venturing into the idyllic mountainside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Fernhill Hotel Ootacamund
Sterling Resorts Ooty
Days Inn Fernhill
Days Inn Ootacamund
Sterling Resort Ooty
Ootacamund Days Inn
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing