We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday at Sterling Resorts Ooty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Holiday at Sterling Resorts Ooty”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed for two days at this property. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The property is located close to Ooty and away from the town so it gives you a lot of privacy. Neatly maintained it allows you to rest and have a peaceful stay. As cabs are provided by Sterling, travelling to town is convenient and takes only 10-15 mins.The food needs some improvement in terms of taste.
A pleasant experience overall.

Room Tip: Check the room before you accept one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalinirao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    468
    127
    46
    66
See reviews for
709
243
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed at Sterling fern hill resort in Ooty for a week and had a great time. The resort is very well maintained. We had a booking for Junior Suite but were upgraded to 1 BHK Duplex apt thanks to Ms Janice. Rooms were very neat and clean. Mr Bala and Mrs L Mary from house keeping had been very helpful and did their best to fulfill whatever we required.
Food is also of very good quality and our Special thanks to Chef Mr Arvindan and Mr Debashish for putting their best efforts and serving us Jain food. Though the service in the restaurant was a bit slow but that was ok as they had to specially manage for us to prepare Jain food separately.

All in all a great resort at very good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saggi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the sterling resorts, fern hill in April 2014. We stayed in a studio apartment.

1. Water issue: we faced a hot water problem. Apparently the geyser needs to be switched on for 45 mins to give one bucket hot water. Then it needs to rest for 30 minutes before it can give another bucket. We didn't quite get the math and three people getting ready became a bit of a challenge. However, the staff was very prompt and came soon as we called and even offered to get a bucket of hot water

2. Rooms: while the property is beautiful, the rooms definitely need a makeover. They seem extremely old. While they were clean, the old style flooring, the paint peeling off, old style bathrooms and dim lighting gave it a shabby look.

Service was prompt and good. Food was tasty although the buffet seems expensive for non members as there is an additional charge of rs 200 pp on the buffet making it a bit expensive.

Overall a nice property in need of urgent makeover!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank nivkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nice experience in Ooty as well as sterling fern-hill.. We stayed for 03 nights in sterling fern hill. We enjoyed a lot. We stayed in main block of rooms and must stay it's very spacious and all are newly constructed. There is also huge balcony in room and also the valley view.. Room amenities and toiletries are good. Hotel staff is very supportive and also like a food very much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were a group of Families here's what we have to say about the this ****hotel
1. Reception... there is no reception.
2. Abusive words were spoken to Guests.
3. Rooms Dirty with dust bed sheets soiled and dirty and Bathrooms were smelly and not clean.
4. No Professional Staffs.

Over all a Bad and nasty experience...

Room Tip: Do NOT choose any.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmm_ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This is one of the worst resort I have ever visited.I will share some instances
1. Housekeeping person denied to deliver extra glasses.
2. Room was dirty.
3. Arrogant staff.
4. 45 mins if you want any room service for food.
5. Food served was cold.
6. Menu is limited and that is also not available.

If you really don't want to spoil your holiday Avoid it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank abhishek5nov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed there for 2 days(3-5th april 2014). Amazing hotel,great hospitality, helpful staff. I had booked for standard room but when we reached standard room was not available so they gave us junior suite at no extra cost. View from the balcony was simply amazing. Buffet breakfast was very nice and had variety of stuff.Room and bathroom were spacious and clean. Room was provided with heater, microwave,refrigerator,sofa cum bed,dinning table. I would love to go there again and again just to stay in the hotel. Only negative point is that its out from the city and roads to hotel are not good, but once you get inside your room you forget about all other things.

Room Tip: ask for valley facing recently renovated room. we stayed in 1210 and it was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
3.0 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
993 reviews
1.7 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
971 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
498 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#13 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holi...
#4 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: 73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643 004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at one of the highest points in Ooty, this resort has an amazing view of the Nilgiris. Sterling Holidays Fern Hill is set in an alluring scenic location, surrounded on all sides by the ethereal beauty of the Nilgiri Hills. The resort’s sloping roofs and terracotta tiles are reminiscent of the quaint charm of a bygone era. With a heady mix of comfort and tranquility, spending time within the resort is as attractive an option as venturing into the idyllic mountainside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Fernhill Hotel Ootacamund
Sterling Resorts Ooty
Days Inn Fernhill
Days Inn Ootacamund
Sterling Resort Ooty
Ootacamund Days Inn
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing